We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rockwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rockwell
Ranked #288 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I had no idea that this hotel existed until I was recommended it by a friend. It is a real hideaway in a good location in West London. It has surprisingly well decorated rooms, which have the feel of genuine quality. In addition, there is a good buffet breakfast and the service was quick and efficient.
I was surprised by the quality of The Rockwell as so many London hotels are a total rip off- a good choice for those in the know.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our house wine, which is sourced especially from Austria.
We do pride ourselves on offering a personal feel and service in the hotel, so we are disappointed that we did not get this across.

Regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    209
    73
    37
    17
See reviews for
66
209
115
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
178 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The staff are efficient, the rooms attractive, the garden a welcome touch in this part of London, but it has a slightly impersonal feel. I had a single room which was very well laid out, even though small, with a view over the patio at the back (and surrounding rooftops). The shower room was compact but the shower was hot and powerful, with good toiletries. There was no tea/coffee making facility nor iron/board. I didn't have breakfast, but did sit for some time in the bar in the evening. This is laid out for dining rather than having comfortable seating, so didn't feel particularly relaxing. The wines though were excellent and excellent value - my favourite Austrian white and red both being on the list, rare finds in the UK.

The hotel is a short walk from Earl's Court station (and from Gloucester Road), and there are a few restaurants nearby including several Lebanese or Thai, and a couple of pubs. A pizza place is nearby more or less opposite Earl's Court tube.

The reception area adds to the impersonality, being large, with a concierge lurking awkwardly, and I would have expected tea/coffee available here as there is none in the room, but there are just a couple of sofas for 'waiting'.

The hotel itself is nicely decorated and furnished, it just needs some more personal touches.

Room Tip: A room at the back overlooking the garden will give nice views and may be less noisy than a room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesly_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our house wine, which is sourced especially from Austria.
We do pride ourselves on offering a personal feel and service in the hotel, so we are disappointed that we did not get this across.

Regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G'boro NC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Convenient to Earl's Court underground and direct train to Heathrow, but few nice restaurants within short walking distance. The desk staff nice, but not knowledgable about the area, attractions, etc.. Hotel small, quiet and clean. Decent price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your review.
Regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I cannot fault this hotel. It seemed very reasonably priced for what was on offer. The Eastern European staff were very nice and helpful and were willing to help us with our demands. The room was on the top floor and had a great view although the shower was quite small.
The breakfast was a huge Enlgish breakfast and it had great coffee.
The only downside was that the air-conditioning was not working but as it was not too hot that was OK.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llcoolfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for you kind review.
Regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Last minute booking, everything in London was obscenely expensive. Quite a nice surprise, large room, great bathroom (for London), nice little patio in the back for drinks and dinner. One big no-no: while having dinner WiFi was fine. But my room was on the ground floor and WiFi coverage was impossible, even after (supposedly) rebooting the router -- only reason for not rating service better.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for your nice review. The wireless issues are now resolved. We also have a back-up option available.
Regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I Stayed at the Rockwell during our visit to London. On arrival they upgraded us to a double superior suite, the room was immaculate with our own outside terrace. I couldnt fault the place, there was a huge selection of continental breakfast and the staff were extremely friendly and polite. We look forward to staying here again next time were in London.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TownsT93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your glowing review. I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We used this hotel for one night due to its convenient location and reviews on Trip Advisor.
Reception staff were most helpful but their seemed to be a surplus of doormen who were very keen to help and receive tips.
Our room was a standard double at the rear. The room was small but well furnished,good pillows and quality bedding. The bathroom was clean and a triumph of design over usefulness. Fixed head which had only one direction,difficult to set controls-awful.At first glance toiletries from The White Company look ok -but read the label,full of parabens.
Breakfast from the cold selection was reasonable. However there seemed to be only one ,very polite but harassed girl serving. If you wanted a cooked breakfast it would have been a long wait. Also this hotel has the peculiar practice of making an extortionate charge is you want any other type of coffee apart from filter. The poor waitress was having to take orders,explain pricing and make capuccinos on a machine which took approximately 10 minutes per cup-maybe they should draft in the surplus doormen to help a breakfast time.

Room Tip: Avoid 201 if you want a decent shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janfrommanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We usually have one doorman on duty at any one time to help the guests.

The White Company is a well respected brand offering soaps, lotions and bed linen to customers and hotels across the country. Paraben's and are found in food products, moisturizers, shaving cream and antibiotics, they present no proven health risk.

Kind regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#267 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
South Kensington
NH London Kensington
NH London Kensington
#251 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#53 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#379 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rockwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockwell

Property: The Rockwell
Address: 181 Cromwell Road, London SW5 0SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#212 Luxury Hotel in London
#228 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rockwell 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rockwell is an independent hotel with an emphasis on understated contemporary style, impeccable levels of personal service and attention to detail. Each of the forty rooms has been crafted to create a relaxed atmosphere, whilst retaining an individual character which combines English tradition with contemporary styling. In addition to our well appointed bedrooms, we offer guests the use of generous spaces for eating, drinking and relaxing, including a large south facing landscaped garden. Whether you are visiting Kensington for business or pleasure, many of London's best attractions are on our doorstep including Earls Court, Harrods, the Royal Albert Hall, the Natural History Museum, the Science Museum as well as the shopping areas of Knightsbridge and Chelsea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Rockwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing