We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best nights sleep ever...”
Review of The Rockwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rockwell
Ranked #290 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best nights sleep ever...”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Fantastic, stylish boutique hotel with great attention to detail and friendly welcoming staff. We stayed there as a special business treat (my wife and business partner thought we were staying at a local Travel Lodge) we have a small business and were exhibiting at the near by Earls Court. We were on our feet all day at the exhibition and The Rockwell was the perfect retreat, we had a 3 night stay in one of their lovely garden rooms, which included dinner, bed and breakfast. Wonderful 3 course evening meals and a good choice of breakfasts. The garden rooms are medium size, but tick all of the ‘luxury boxes’, thanks to luxurious beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, warm duvets which resulted in the 3 of the best nights sleeps we have ever had! There is also an on-suite and doors that open out into your own private space. We will be back. Thank you Rockwell.

Room Tip: Garden room are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    220
    73
    38
    18
See reviews for
71
218
120
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed at The Rockwell in late November/early December on business. I chose the hotel because I tend to like smaller "boutique" hotels rather than large conglomerates. In the past few years I have stayed at multiple hotels in London but never the same one twice because none of them warranted this based on cost, cleanliness, staff friendliness etc. The Rockwell changed all this - I will be back!

The hotel is located near Earl's Court which is on the fringe of zones 1/2 for the tube. This is nice because you will save a bit travelling into the city. It is easy to get to from Heathrow - I took the tube then a 5 minute walk from the Earl's Court station. There are lots of pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance.

My room at The Rockwell was clean and well organized. It was not a huge room but I certainly didn't feel cramped. All the fixtures in the bathroom and the room itself seemed to be very new and were top end. I asked for a room at the back of the hotel which was easy to get to from the elevator or stairs and as very quiet. Internet was perfect.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. As an example when I booked online I could only get one of the two nights I needed. I emailed the hotel and got a quick response confirming my second night at the same rate. During my stay the front desk staff always gave me a friendly greeting.

I had read some reviews that indicated breakfast/dinner service was poor. The dining room is small with limited seating. The first morning I had breakfast it was packed and yes I had to wait a few minutes longer with my morning coffee and newspaper. This could happen anywhere - it certainly wasn't a deal breaker for me. The second morning was very fast. I did not have dinner at the hotel - too many other great places nearby.

Would I go back - ABSOLUTELY. The cost was 50% lower than I have ever paid in London and the overall quality was much higher. This has to be one of the best value hotels in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank To_Far_From_Paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My parents were visiting London for Christmas and stayed at the London Marriott Kensington just down the road from The Rockwell. Owing to the price of their hotel I opted for the cheaper option and decided to stay here. Regretfully I feel I made a mistake.

My parents and I decided to have dinner at The Rockwell on my first night. We were the ONLY THREE PEOPLE in the dining room and ordered a fillet steak and two chicken supreme meals and a bottle of white wine.

Half an hour later there was no sign of our food. This was still despite the fact we were the only three in the dining room. Half an hour later - still no food. My dad had decided at this point that within 5 minutes had the meals not have arrived at our table that we would pay for our wine and leave. The meals did indeed arrive 5 minutes later. That was a 1 hour and 5 minutes waiting time. Again I will repeat we were the ONLY THREE eating in the dining room.

The waitress lacked any type of personality. She did not apologise for the lengthy waiting time. She also stood and stared at my parents the entire time they were eating and made them feel uncomfortable. My dad had the fillet steak. It was the tiniest piece of steak I have seen in my life. It arrived with burnt chips. All this for a whoppping £22!!! We did not leave a tip. It wasn't deserved. Just appalling.

My room was OK. The shower was very good.

But all in all the service in this hotel is very poor. On the morning of my departure (I did not have breakfast - maybe had I ordered it the night before it would have arrived by 9am that morning - sorry about my sarcasm but I feel it's deserved).

When my parents next visit I shall be staying with them in the London Marriott Kensington. For a few more pounds I feel it's worth it.

Room Tip: Don't eat in the dining room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank djfunnyboi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, merseyside
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I booked two nights at this hotel because of its location. The location is excellent, close to major attractions, and major shopping places. The rooms are generally good, and reasonably clean. Reception staff are not professional, and extremely unhelpful. Breakfast is dreadful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nouta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

choosing a hotel on the web is always going to be a gamble but this time I made a great choice. Yes the single rooms are small but well-designed to provide all you need for a place to sleep and do some work. The rooms were clean, the service was friendly and helpful, the buffet breakfast was excellent with a wide choice.

Plenty of interesting artwork on the walls and good modern design throughout.

The location is good with Earls Court underground a few minutes walk away and buses to many destinations passing in close proximity.

I am happy to recommend this hotel unreservedly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HARRY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My tall husband, (6'6")", myself and our 3 year old son are visiting family in England over the holidays and wanted to spend one night in London in a boutique hotel. The Rockwell was recommended, and we were excited about a room with a "king" size bed available! However, when I emailed via the booking site to make sure our toddler can share the bed, Farhan said we could not book that room. Only a twin with a pull out sofa - for $150 more. When I specified my husband's height and the king bed would be best for us and offered to pay extra for our toddler, the reply (this time from Alexandra Stephan) was firm "You may stay in the room with the king size bed, but only two adults (another words "leave your kid at home.") The policy says "kids under 3 stay for free if sharing a bed." but evidently only for certain rooms. Reading the reviews online, I see many share the poor customer service experience. Sadly we had to cancel due to customer service and are staying in a large, kid friendly hotel nearby.

Room Tip: make sure you verify what room kids are allowed before showing up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GetMeOutOfThisFog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

From the outset, this looked like a small, pleasant hotel. I was in London for an evening function so just a one night stay and most of it away from the hotel. Essentially a place to sleep and not much more. It's about a 5 minute walk from Earls Court underground station with plenty of small shops, restaurants and a couple of pubs in the area. It's on a very busy road and I thought it could be noisy inside the hotel. It wasn't and I don't think I heard any traffic noise at all inside my room.

The staff are pleasant and helpful with all the information you would need provided on check in. The reception area is small but well appointed and everything was clean and tidy. There is a small lift available but I climbed the stairs to the top (4th) floor and wished I had taken the lift by the time I got to my room.

I had a small single room which was sufficient although if I was staying longer than just one night, I would go for a double room. The room was comfortable, it had a free room safe large enough for a laptop computer, a TV, minibar, hairdryer and all the normal things you expect in a city hotel. The bed was a large single and comfortable, the bathroom was bright and airy despite having the only external light from a skylight. There was enough wardrobe space, unusually this was in the bathroom but didn't matter much to me on this particular occasion. I stayed in late November found that the room temperature was a little on the warm side but this may have been because I was on the top floor.

A nice stay, albeit a very brief one.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank York-O-Polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We are very pleased that you liked our hotel. The single rooms are designed for one or two night stays such as yours. They are small but well appointed and their size is reflected in the low price.
Regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#269 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#45 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
South Kensington
NH London Kensington
NH London Kensington
#251 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,619 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#433 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rockwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockwell

Property: The Rockwell
Address: 181 Cromwell Road, London SW5 0SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#213 Luxury Hotel in London
#228 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rockwell 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rockwell is an independent hotel with an emphasis on understated contemporary style, impeccable levels of personal service and attention to detail. Each of the forty rooms has been crafted to create a relaxed atmosphere, whilst retaining an individual character which combines English tradition with contemporary styling. In addition to our well appointed bedrooms, we offer guests the use of generous spaces for eating, drinking and relaxing, including a large south facing landscaped garden. Whether you are visiting Kensington for business or pleasure, many of London's best attractions are on our doorstep including Earls Court, Harrods, the Royal Albert Hall, the Natural History Museum, the Science Museum as well as the shopping areas of Knightsbridge and Chelsea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, Fastbooking, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Rockwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing