We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely stay”
Review of The Rockwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rockwell
Ranked #334 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My partner and I stayed here for two nights, and I can honestly say it was one of the nicest rooms, with the comfiest of beds..the staff were all very professional , but also friendly and helpful. At the last minute we had to use a wheelchair for my partner, but even at very short notice, the staff made us very welcome and accomadated us perfectly. Can't recommend highly enough

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor, G2, was perfect for wheelchair users
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grayheather63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
There are newer reviews for The Rockwell
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

excellent hotel i stayed for 2 nights with my girlfriend i was surprised for the coworking and a friendly warm smile that the hotel staff welcomed us,apparently we needed some information and the girl from the restaurant it knows everything exactly and precisely i would recommend for every friend and i barely wait to visit london again and the rockwell hotel..

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenson113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Rockwell is a treat from the minute you see the front door. The general ambience is friendly and cosy but the hotel is at the same time light and airy. All areas were very clean and tidy. Breakfast was served in the small dining room and offered an excellent choice. The English breakfast defeated us!!! Our room was a little small but was more than for our 2night stay.
The walk from Earls Court tube station to the hotel took less than 5 mins along a very pleasant,safe road. The 74 bus to Baker St and the museums stops a few yards from the hotel.
The staff were very friendly making us feel we had come home each time we returned. They could not have been more helpful

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBailey1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Booked thru i-escape, my favorite hotel site and was really looking forward to stay at this hotel.
A free upgrade on space availability was offered, however when we checked-in no upgrade was mentioned. When i asked if there was no availability for a deluxe room we were told that there was just one left facing the road and that the room we were given would be more quiet. I decided to take the deluxe room anyway and probably made the wrong decision. The room was split-level with a tiny bathroom, tiny sitting room, really steep stairs leading up to a claustrophobic bedroom. The room was not nearly as stylish and quirky as the others i saw on pictures on tripadvisor . All this said, the service, the location and the food in the restaurant was good and the price for an overnight stay certainly very good value.

Room Tip: don't choose a split level room
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thulassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The hotel decor is nice overall, but not in the room we were allocated. We stayed on the top floor, end of the corridor. The room is ultra small, with the tiniest bathroom and shower.
It's about 5-10 mins walk away from tube station but it wasn't in a great location.
Room was cozy but I believe other rooms in the hotel will be better than the one we got.
We stayed here for our anniversary, we were disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yanice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Fantastic, stylish boutique hotel with great attention to detail and friendly welcoming staff. We stayed there as a special business treat (my wife and business partner thought we were staying at a local Travel Lodge) we have a small business and were exhibiting at the near by Earls Court. We were on our feet all day at the exhibition and The Rockwell was the perfect retreat, we had a 3 night stay in one of their lovely garden rooms, which included dinner, bed and breakfast. Wonderful 3 course evening meals and a good choice of breakfasts. The garden rooms are medium size, but tick all of the ‘luxury boxes’, thanks to luxurious beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, warm duvets which resulted in the 3 of the best nights sleeps we have ever had! There is also an on-suite and doors that open out into your own private space. We will be back. Thank you Rockwell.

Room Tip: Garden room are nice and quiet
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed at The Rockwell in late November/early December on business. I chose the hotel because I tend to like smaller "boutique" hotels rather than large conglomerates. In the past few years I have stayed at multiple hotels in London but never the same one twice because none of them warranted this based on cost, cleanliness, staff friendliness etc. The Rockwell changed all this - I will be back!

The hotel is located near Earl's Court which is on the fringe of zones 1/2 for the tube. This is nice because you will save a bit travelling into the city. It is easy to get to from Heathrow - I took the tube then a 5 minute walk from the Earl's Court station. There are lots of pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance.

My room at The Rockwell was clean and well organized. It was not a huge room but I certainly didn't feel cramped. All the fixtures in the bathroom and the room itself seemed to be very new and were top end. I asked for a room at the back of the hotel which was easy to get to from the elevator or stairs and as very quiet. Internet was perfect.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. As an example when I booked online I could only get one of the two nights I needed. I emailed the hotel and got a quick response confirming my second night at the same rate. During my stay the front desk staff always gave me a friendly greeting.

I had read some reviews that indicated breakfast/dinner service was poor. The dining room is small with limited seating. The first morning I had breakfast it was packed and yes I had to wait a few minutes longer with my morning coffee and newspaper. This could happen anywhere - it certainly wasn't a deal breaker for me. The second morning was very fast. I did not have dinner at the hotel - too many other great places nearby.

Would I go back - ABSOLUTELY. The cost was 50% lower than I have ever paid in London and the overall quality was much higher. This has to be one of the best value hotels in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you want a quiet room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank To_Far_From_Paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
NH London Kensington
NH London Kensington
#254 of 1,072 in London
1,582 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#365 of 1,072 in London
528 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#49 of 1,072 in London
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,072 in London
3,770 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#330 of 1,072 in London
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rockwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockwell

Address: 181 Cromwell Road, London SW5 0SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#228 Business Hotel in London
#237 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £92 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rockwell 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rockwell is an independent hotel with an emphasis on understated contemporary style, impeccable levels of personal service and attention to detail. Each of the forty rooms has been crafted to create a relaxed atmosphere, whilst retaining an individual character which combines English tradition with contemporary styling. In addition to our well appointed bedrooms, we offer guests the use of generous spaces for eating, drinking and relaxing, including a large south facing landscaped garden. Whether you are visiting Kensington for business or pleasure, many of London's best attractions are on our doorstep including Earls Court, Harrods, the Royal Albert Hall, the Natural History Museum, the Science Museum as well as the shopping areas of Knightsbridge and Chelsea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rockwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing