We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven in London”
Review of The Rockwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rockwell
Ranked #334 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit to
The Rockwell. I have stayed in all sorts of hotels in London and this is the only one I really want to return to. It is a welcome nest in the big city and a lovely , comfortable place to return to after a busy tiring day. A lot of thought has gone into the design and services offered. The little things count. The bedrooms are impeccable with good storage, toiletries, robes and minibar among other nice touches and the foyer lounge is welcoming with a small library, newspapers and magazines and tempting squishy couches to relax in. I sadly did not have time for breakfast this trip but remember it being very good from a previous visit. It is only a few minutes from Earls Court underground and very accessible. Particularly welcoming and homely for a solo traveller.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel is nice and clean, in a very convenient location in Kensington but the single room I was paying almost 100£ per day (room 206) was extremely small. I couldn't even open my luggage properly: the bathroom was larger then the room itself. The staff was friendly and competent but there was no way of changing the incredibly soft mattress for a harder one. Not a nightmare but not a pleasant stay, even more so considering its price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Four nights. Tiny tiny single 303. Noisy due to constant traffic. No heat regulation of the water in the shower. Getting into the shower is a squeeze. Nice area, next to V&A and Natural History Museum. Asked for a room at the back very early in the morning day one. They verified, but then forgot and gave it to somebody else. Do not opt for the single rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sindetass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have stayed in many hotels in London over the years and it has often been hit and miss. The Rockwell is certainly a hit. Contemporary, fresh, elegant, quiet, professional staff and good value for money. I will definitely consider this hotel when visiting London next time and so should you!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schubi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I've stayed at the Rockwell Hotel at least 4 maybe 5 times now. The hotel is modern contemporary in design with a lovely clean, fresh, bright and light feel about it. Reception staff offer a very warm and friendly welcome and couldn't be more helpful. They are highly discreet and professional.

Rooms and clean and well stocked with toiletries and a robe (I've stayed in the singles and doubles). The only thing I miss is a bath, but the showers are powerful.

This is a great hotel for a business trip. I've stayed in many others in the area from apartments to hotels and so far this one comes out tops for me. I like the fact you can get good room service almost 24/7. There is a 10.30pm until 6.30am menu offering basic soup and sandwiches - this has been a godsend to me on several business trips when I've returned late and been hungry. The reception area is also a very comfortable place to sit and wait or work if you need to.

Compared to many other hotels in the area, the room rates are exceptional and trust me, offer much better value for money. (I actually had to relocate from some nearby apartments during my latest April 2014 trip, and chose to go to The Rockwell - best decision I made).

Wifi is strong and reliable.

Don't be put off by the fact this is on a busy main road. The rooms are very peaceful indeed. It really is a great little hotel for business travellers - though I think it remains a bit of a hidden gem for many.

I will be returning to this hotel many times in the future. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The single rooms are a little on the small side. As a business traveller, I prefer to go for one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnabelBeeforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Have stayed at the Rockwell for years. The service is exceptional. Employees are friendly, helpful, and welcoming. The rooms are well done: clean, well appointed, and nice amenities. The price paid is a bargain for the service and quality. Nice atmosphere, central location off the Piccadilly Line. I couldnt ask for a better hotel to stay in when visiting London.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank ThomasCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

To me the Rockwell Hotel is my home when I travel on business to London.
For about 7 years now I stay at the Rockwell and this is one of the best hotels.
The staff is exceptional and is attentive to my very need as a business traveler.
Great location 5 minute walk to the Tube and close to great shopping area.
I highly recommend this charming Boutique Hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isabelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
NH London Kensington
NH London Kensington
#265 of 1,077 in London
1,621 reviews
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#300 of 1,077 in London
716 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#66 of 1,077 in London
3,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#45 of 1,077 in London
274 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#364 of 1,077 in London
541 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rockwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockwell

Address: 181 Cromwell Road, London SW5 0SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#228 Business Hotel in London
#235 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £91 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rockwell 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rockwell is an independent hotel with an emphasis on understated contemporary style, impeccable levels of personal service and attention to detail. Each of the forty rooms has been crafted to create a relaxed atmosphere, whilst retaining an individual character which combines English tradition with contemporary styling. In addition to our well appointed bedrooms, we offer guests the use of generous spaces for eating, drinking and relaxing, including a large south facing landscaped garden. Whether you are visiting Kensington for business or pleasure, many of London's best attractions are on our doorstep including Earls Court, Harrods, the Royal Albert Hall, the Natural History Museum, the Science Museum as well as the shopping areas of Knightsbridge and Chelsea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Fastbooking, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rockwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing