We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of The Rockwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Rockwell
Ranked #272 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here on business. I know he area quite well if you come out of the hotel and turn left in a few minutes you come to Earls Court Road (Plenty of pubs and restaurants) If you turn right in a few minutes you come to Gloucester Road (Plenty of pubs and restaurants) so you're spoiled for choice.
The hotel itself has had a makeover and is clean and very "fresh" - in fact they were painting the outside only yesterday. I had a single room, nicely appointed, but small (This is London, most rooms are small)
I would stay here again. The only slight downside was no tea or coffee in the room, but I wouldn't let it stop me staying here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billysouthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    223
    74
    38
    18
See reviews for
71
222
120
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, Vermont
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at the Rockwell for 4 nights in a large room on the 4th floor facing the street. My first discovery was that the one window opened only about 3 inches stopped by devices installed to prevent added movement. As one who likes fresh air this was a problem. Appeals to the staff did no good. Bathroom was clean and worked for me, but my wife found the strangely fixed fixed high shower head a big inconvenience. It was strange and inconvenient. The bathroom is small and takes some management such as removing the robes on the door in order to have a place to hang a second towel. The first night I found the Cromwell road traffic disturbing, but not the following nights. Staff was helpful and location was convenient to the tube, Victoria and Albert Museum, Museum of Natural History, Royal Albert Hall and Hyde Park. Staff gave us some good local advice, lent us a plug converter that did not work , a large umbrella and printed our airline boarding pass for us ~ all done with a good spirit. If you plan to visit other places expect to spend some time in the tube or taxi. If you like spotting interesting sports cars Cromwell Road during commuter hours is an interesting show. Coffee and tea are surprisingly missing in the lobby and room for a hotel this expensive. We did not eat in the hotel. If you like the location this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Front room face a busy street, rooms on higher floors are likely quieter than lower ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. Friendly staff. Close to Earl's Court Station. 5-10 mins walk depending on which route you take. There were restaurants and coffee shops around. Smaller bathroom but functional. Decent size bedroom and bed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnykcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Disagree with previous comments regards noise, stayed on 4th floor overlooking Cromwell Road and enjoyed a peaceful night's sleep, though I agree it would have been nice to wake up to some tea in the room! Front of House staff were not the smiliest, with the exception of one young chap, but other than that it's difficult to find fault with The Rockwell.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromFarnham40s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Tiniest room I've ever seen. Toilet was dirty. No tea or coffee making facilities in the box of a room. Receptionist was rude when I made an enquiry. The room was so noisy it was impossible to sleep. Very poor all round I'm afraid.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Rockwell for two nights during an exhibition at Olympia. The hotel is about 20 minutes gentle walking from the venue. Our room was on the Lower Ground floor and was quite spacious with a small private garden area. Our only complaint was that the bathroom door rubbed on the floor when closing. The staff were all excellent and polite. We ate dinner one night and the food was well cooked, presented and served. It was also reasonable value. Overall a great place to stay and we would happily return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeltonJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit to
The Rockwell. I have stayed in all sorts of hotels in London and this is the only one I really want to return to. It is a welcome nest in the big city and a lovely , comfortable place to return to after a busy tiring day. A lot of thought has gone into the design and services offered. The little things count. The bedrooms are impeccable with good storage, toiletries, robes and minibar among other nice touches and the foyer lounge is welcoming with a small library, newspapers and magazines and tempting squishy couches to relax in. I sadly did not have time for breakfast this trip but remember it being very good from a previous visit. It is only a few minutes from Earls Court underground and very accessible. Particularly welcoming and homely for a solo traveller.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#295 of 1,067 in London
511 reviews
South Kensington
NH London Kensington
NH London Kensington
#247 of 1,067 in London
1,534 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#395 of 1,067 in London
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#44 of 1,067 in London
200 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rockwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockwell

Property: The Rockwell
Address: 181 Cromwell Road, London SW5 0SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#202 Luxury Hotel in London
#228 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rockwell 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rockwell is an independent hotel with an emphasis on understated contemporary style, impeccable levels of personal service and attention to detail. Each of the forty rooms has been crafted to create a relaxed atmosphere, whilst retaining an individual character which combines English tradition with contemporary styling. In addition to our well appointed bedrooms, we offer guests the use of generous spaces for eating, drinking and relaxing, including a large south facing landscaped garden. Whether you are visiting Kensington for business or pleasure, many of London's best attractions are on our doorstep including Earls Court, Harrods, the Royal Albert Hall, the Natural History Museum, the Science Museum as well as the shopping areas of Knightsbridge and Chelsea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Rockwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing