We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine hotel, very close to Earl's Court”
Review of The Rockwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rockwell
Ranked #273 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fine hotel, very close to Earl's Court”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

It's bizarre that London, one of the world's great cities, has so many awful, overpriced hotels. I visit London regularly, and have grown sick of staying in dingy, tiny rooms that cost more per night than two or three nights in a good hotel outside the capital.
Thankfully, the Rockwell bucks this trend of expensive mediocrity.
It ain't cheap, but by comparison with other London hotels, it's very good value. It's also clean, modern, decorated and furnished to a high standard, and has excellent, attentive staff.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra S, Guest Relations Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for this lovely review of The Rockwell.

I am so glad to read that we are becoming your London hotel choice. Whilst I can understand not being the cheapest hotel in town, providing an experience that our guests consider as good value for money is important to us, so thank you for recognising this.

It is wonderful to share with our staff all your kind words and we really appreciate them.

I sincerely hope to have the oportunity to personally welcome you next time you stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Alexandra Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    223
    74
    38
    18
See reviews for
71
222
120
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arrived after tiring 30 hours travel from Australia, and was given a most welcome pot of camomile tea as I checked in. Great location as you cut through Kenway Lane to Earls Court Station, 5 mins walk away. Plenty of small restaurants, pubs and an internet cafe (50p for 1/2 hour) within the area. I had a room facing the street and despite being on busy Cromwell Rd, could not hear traffic noise. Room was spacious, and although the shower was small, bathroom provided a wide variety of toiletries and much-needed knick-knacks for guests. The Rockwell has a handy breakfast/dinner room, a small courtyard area at the back, and a relaxing lobby/sitting/reading room with a variety of books and games if you need a rest day. Try the Rockwell Salad...tasty and filling. Staff were friendly, professional and promptly attentive to guests needs. Was able to leave medication in fridge, and luggage there whilst on a tour during my stay....much appreciated. Thanks to staff Alexandra, Roxanne, Antonia, Andrash, Mark and Peter for a memorable stay. Highly recommend this boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be good for quiet, peaceful sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjd254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra S, Guest Relations Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful review.

So good to hear that after such a long flight and stressful day, like the one you have told us about, finally The Rockwell hit the spot nad made you feel just like 'home'.
It is always great to hear that you found our rooms to be well proportioned and you enjoyed all the small details, like toiletries and snacks from the minibar.

A special and heartful 'Thank you' comes from myself, Roxanne and all our staff. It is wonderful to know that we managed to make your stay even more enjoyable.

Hope to have the pleasure to personally welcome you back at The Rockwell very soon.

Kind Regards,
Alexandra Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at the Rockwell on business and I will certainly visit again. The hotel has a very welcoming feel to it thanks to the cosy modern decor and the very friendly and approachable staff. I stayed in room 202 at the back of the hotel which was quiet, well appointed and spotlessly clean. The wifi worked well and is of course free of charge. The room service dinner menu is very good for a small hotel, just don't expect huge portions. Should you prefer to eat out however, Earls Court is a very short walk away with its wide choice of restaurants and cafes. For anyone visiting West London and looking for something a little more individual than the usual hotel chains, you can't go far wrong here.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter as they are away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyl811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I booked this hotel based largely on its proximity to Earl's Court tube station (less than five mins walk) and was not disappointed. We were in London to go to wimbledon and found it a very easy journey from this hotel. Earls Court is also on the Picadilly line so it is very convenient for the centre of the city. We were in room 405 which was a reasonable size with clean, modern furniture and fittings. No bath, only a shower, but that was no problem. White Company toiletries and a bottle of water in the room were nice touches. We had breakfast in the hotel on one morning and found it to be reasonable value at £12.50 for a large cooked breakfast, although like other reviewers, we found a number of cafes in the immediate vicinity which were cheaper and offered good alternatives. It is a five to ten minute walk to Kensington High Street which also offers a number of eating options. Hotel also had a small communal sitting area, well stocked with books and newspapers and terrace/garden area to the rear. We were able to leave our luggage safely when we checked out, and found staff to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minigirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Staff were very friendly and efficient, lovely room and great location. Nice restaurants nearby. Although I was a lone female, I did not feel worried about going out by myself. Would highly recommend this.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I mean there is nothing wrong with The Rockwell but there is absolutely nothing special about the hotel either. GBP 245 a night I guess you would expect a room where the furniture was not stained? The room was actually pretty good size but bathroom was tiny ( tiny tiny shower ). Am not crazy about the location, Cromwell Road is a very very busy road with lots of traffic 24 hours a day but I guess you are around 5-10 min taxi from all the good spots in the area. Service was very friendly and no complaints there. Would I stay there again? Not really, a lot of other and better options..

Room Tip: Room 205 had stained furniture and tiny tiny shower so if thats your thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNdinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra S, Guest Relations Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for this review for The Rockwell.

I was really sorry to read of your disappointment following your stay with us and am especially sorry not to have known of the elements of disappointment during your time with us.
Through talking to and listening to our guests, we do try and ensure that our bedroom facilities match expectations, but I am sorry that this was not the case for you.

I was really pleased to read your praise of our staff here and enjoyed knowing that you were well looked after over during your stay.

Once again, my sincere apologies for your disappointment and hope that your next visit to London finds a more satisfying experience.

Best Regards,
Alexandra Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our reservation/s were complex as one of us was in London for surgery for part of the time. The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful, co-ordinating our reservations to enable me to check into the room my daughter was checking out of, so she could stay in her single room all day and leave her luggage there into the evening when I arrived. They also helped smooth our transition (check out/check in times, moving luggage in our absence) from single to double for the remainder of our stay and helped us with all our baggage on our departure. The hotel was spotlessly clean, rooms beautifully but simply decorated (single room was small but had everything required and normal-sized bathroom; the double was spacious and bright with a lovely view over the rooftops of London). Restaurant staff were friendly and helpful and there was a wide range of options on the breakfast menu. Location is perfect - 5 minute walk up Marloes Road to Kensington High Street/tube (all the higher end high street stores and a large TK Maxx with 'gold label'), or down the road to Earl's Court Road/tube, with its excellent range of places to eat or shop for everyday essentials. This was our third stay at the Rockwell and we will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CultureVultureLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra S, Guest Relations Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

It is wonderful to know that you found the bedrooms to be well-designed and that you enjoyed the atmosphere and service in our restaurant.
Time passed in the hospital is never easy so we all did our best to make things easier for you and your daughter and we hope that we managed to make you feel a little bit like 'at home'.

To read that we are your favourite hotel in London so far is such a joy and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Rockwell soon enough and for a holiday this time.

Warm Regards,
Alexandra Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#298 of 1,067 in London
511 reviews
South Kensington
NH London Kensington
NH London Kensington
#247 of 1,067 in London
1,534 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#410 of 1,067 in London
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#44 of 1,067 in London
200 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rockwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockwell

Property: The Rockwell
Address: 181 Cromwell Road, London SW5 0SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#202 Luxury Hotel in London
#228 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rockwell 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rockwell is an independent hotel with an emphasis on understated contemporary style, impeccable levels of personal service and attention to detail. Each of the forty rooms has been crafted to create a relaxed atmosphere, whilst retaining an individual character which combines English tradition with contemporary styling. In addition to our well appointed bedrooms, we offer guests the use of generous spaces for eating, drinking and relaxing, including a large south facing landscaped garden. Whether you are visiting Kensington for business or pleasure, many of London's best attractions are on our doorstep including Earls Court, Harrods, the Royal Albert Hall, the Natural History Museum, the Science Museum as well as the shopping areas of Knightsbridge and Chelsea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Rockwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing