We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible, terrible, terrible.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Pacific Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pacific Hotel
Ranked #964 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible, terrible, terrible.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We booked a double room, when arrive the twins room was given. Not as shown by the photo advertised on the internet. The room is totally opposite as advertised. Ask for the room exhange, the reception told me all room were full. The twins room was small and hot. The total layout is so cramp. Feel so humid and hardly breathe in the room. The bed is so soft and you know its been used for many many years. They so called had refurbished the hotel RECENTLY. What i can see is a totally lie story. All furnitures are so old. The toilet hardly fit a big guy, too tight. The toilet was flooded after shower. Shower water was weak. There was no lift in the hotel, my room is located on the top floor (fourth). I am not sure how can they get three star rating for the hotel. Please stop lying to people, take out the three star. wireless is so weak at the room. Highly not recommended, very disappointing, very bad experience.

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yap Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    19
    52
    47
    58
See reviews for
65
39
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

If you need inexpensive 1 night accommodation near Paddington to park yourself and your luggage before heading somewhere else, then this will do. It is not where one stays when on vacation in London or when visiting Liz and Phil. The plusses are: near Paddington, St. Mary's Hospital, Hyde Park and lots of decent small restaurants/pubs. Safe, multi-cultural area. Room was basic. Wi-fi worked ok and was free. TV had lots of channels. The included cooked breakfast of eggs, ham, beans and toast with juice & coffee was a bonus, you can do a lot worse. On the minus side the bathroom fan was very noisy, the shower curtain rod has a 90 degree angle at forehead height as you exit and the soap was open and used by someone I don't know - glad I had my own. No matter what the claimed star rating of this hotel is, it merits 2.5 at most, and I would rate it as an average 2.5 star hotel. Having said that, given the price and location and I got exactly what I anticipated. When I expect more, I'll go somewhere else and pay a higher price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stoped at this hotel as a last resort after getting stuck on in London, Seemed ok i suppose but not really somewhere you would choose as such, Staff polite and room aged but clean.
if its somewhere to lay your head then its ok, If your taking the Mrs then have a re think! Kinda funny place but close to things ..Eg Station, shops bars etc but if your booking ahead then keep your options open as they seemed to be lots of hotels in the area.. Just full when i needed one! :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heath k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We knew this was a cheap hotel, so we didn't expect much - a bed, a warm room and free wi-fi as advertised is all we needed.
When we found out there's no wi-fi in the room as promised, the guy at the reception told us there have been some problems that day with the wi-fi. and we should talk to the manager during breakfast. The receptionist during breakfast during the morning said the manager will be in the afternoon. Later I learned that this WAS the manager! that was the first lie of many to come:
The guy at the reception said there is has never been w-fi reception in the room (lie no. 2), they never advertised for that and they can't control what expedia advertise (lie no.3). besides that, he said, they're cheap, so I can't expect much.
he moved us to another room that had "just been checked out of" - lie no.4: the door lock was broken, the bed was made - obviously no one stayed in the room that night.
Lastly - the rooms are frozen - turns out the rooms are only heated between 7PM and the morning. When I asked I'm in the room now, it's 5:40 and I'm freezing, the guy said "give me 20 minutes and I'll think of something" - yeah, right. and it goes on and on.
Buttom line : The rooms are cold, the internet, the wi-fi sucks, and the staff are a bunch of liars. Stay away.

Room Tip: try aiming for the gropund floor for getting some wi-fi from the reception, and don't get rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Person S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

South Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

There are many good places around Paddington but this is not one of them. Firstly, internet - when you say you have internet in the room on website. Yeah right! When i arrived i said i needed good internet and was told that often it doesn't work in some rooms. How right they were, internet did not work well if even, kept losing signal. Asked to change room but was told to sit in reception. Ridiculous as i needed to work online in private not in public open reception with no desk. Receptionist shrugged mumbling something about it was a new provider or wireless box new or something.

Generally service was not great, first night in room only had hand towel. This i discovered as i stepped out of shower and realised the tiny hand towel barely dried off by butt. Second night it was opposite; shower towel i had but no hand towel. Shower (well bath) was old with no non-slip matt. Window in bathroom didn't seem to close properly and draft came in, but as in toilet i could close door but still.

And yes i politely said something to staff but 3 attractive girls were in reception and the guy behind the counter was distracted so i kind of guessed i would not get any results. I was right.

So in summary staff not helpful & not interested, rooms not great, housekeeping lacking & internet provided by Fred Flintstone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afootandahalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Five minutes walk from Paddington Station and Hyde Park. Room with one double and two single beds, tiny bathroom with even no space to turn around, unfirm wardrobe, windows not tight, noise of buses and taxi all night long. "Full english breakfast" consistent of two fried eggs, one tablespoonful of baked beans, one slice of ham, toast, butter, marmelade, coffee or tea, orange juice, cornflakes on enquiry, no variation over five days, but friendly breakfast service.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
#731 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#619 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#606 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queensway Hotel
Queensway Hotel
#844 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gresham Hotel
The Gresham Hotel
#851 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#779 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Hotel

Property: Pacific Hotel
Address: 108 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #964 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing