We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Hostel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage
Ranked #24 of 847 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Hostel Experience”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

First time to Europe along with staying in a hostel. Definitely not a hotel, but for the money you can't beat it if your on a budget, very friendly staff, clean rooms, and bathrooms. Would definitely recommend to anyone who would 2nd guess staying at a hostel.

Room Tip: try to get room number 002 it is right next to the lobby, so you can get internet access from this r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qbpANDmrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, Marketing Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear QbpANDmrk

Thank you so much for this positive review. It means a lot to get this type of feedback from guests who have never stayed in a hostel before.

We are implementing a number of exciting upgrades to our hostel in the next few weeks, so please come back soon and let us know you make of it.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    543
    183
    67
    31
See reviews for
81
160
528
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in March when visiting for my Games Maker training for the olympics. Check-in isn't until 2pm and I arrived about 2 hours prior. It was luckily a lovely day so this wasn't a problem as they have no problem storing your belongings for a while and Hampstead Heath is about a 20 minute walk away.
The rooms are quite small but the beds all have curtains for privacy. The toilets and showering facilities are shared by all guests but are surprisingly very clean. I stayed on the basement floor where the hostels bar and restaurant are situated. If you like an early night or a long lie then it may be a bit noisy here but this caused me no issues.
The only major downside I found was that there was only one power socket by my bed and the bedside lamp was plugged in. More sockets please!

Room Tip: Basement floor can be quite noisy in the evenings and mornings, ask for a room on a different level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, Marketing Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Kirsty

Many thanks for this positive feedback. We are glad to learn that you liked the service and the accommodation at Palmers Lodge.

We are looking into the possibility adding more sockets to the beds, but this can be a tricky issue as we have to adhere to health & safety restrictions when it comes to power supply. However, we will be introducing phone chargers machines to free up socket space in the next few weeks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The hostel is a 5 minute walk from Swiss Cottage tube station on the Jubilee line which makes it very practical. The building itself is nice and you can meet lots of travellers there. Rooms are a bit tight and the fact that you're sleeping with many people in the same room implies you will hear snoring and possibly couples making out or doing it together (So, get ear plugs). Worst thing for me was waking up with 4 insect bites on my hand that were very itchy. I suspect the place has bed bugs so beware you've been warned.
Breakfast is quite good in the morning and the price is verrry cheap.

So, if you're on a low budget and don't mind all that go for it, otherwise pay a bit more and buy your peace of mind and a good night sleep.

Room Tip: Try and book the room with the least amount of people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Issa606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11309995, Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Hi Issa606

We are very sorry to hear about this. We perform daily and weekly checks by cleaners and the management team, additionally a pest control company comes and treats rooms every month as a precautionary measure.

Kindly contact with our manager at Palmers Lodge manager@palmerslodge.co.uk as soon as possible so we can find out which room you stayed in and we will arrange a refund for you.

Again, apologies for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed here for one night, the hostel was well located with all the ammentities needed.

Only downside was some room mates who decided to start having sex at 11pm making it really awkward for me! The beds have curtains round them so tey prob didnt know i was in the room but still an awful thing to suffer. Very very disturbed by that and for that reason I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SALOPIAN81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11309995, Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Hi Salopian81

It's great to hear that you found our location and our facilities up to standard. We are sorry to learn that you had a bad experience because of your room mates. Next time, please just contact our front desk staff and they will sort it out.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I've stayed in Palmers Lodge with my uncle for 6 days during our vacations, and it was really nice! The location was really good, quite close to Abbey Road, with access to subway nearby, however a bit far from most of London tourist attractions. We had a very good time in this hostel! A lot of bathrooms, cleaned many times per day, a veeeery decent breakfast, very comfortable rooms, with old but stylish furniture. The "underground" pub was a plus, nice to have good english beer before going to sleep! :) The only negative point, in my oppinion, was bad quality wi-fi internet access. It was free, but the signal was weak and failing all the time, so I had difficult times when in contact with my family. Overall, it was a very good experience! The classical architecture of the hostel is wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titus W, Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thanks for your fantastic review! With regards to the internet we have been having problems keeping the speed up as we give it away for free and struggle to stop people downloading but we're upgrading the hardware this month! Please come back some time soon.

Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My sister chose this place and it was fairly priced with nice staff, basic breakfast from 7:30-10am, females and males have their own showers and toilets. It's outside of inner London, which wasn't bad because all you have to do is take a 10-minute walk to the Swiss Cottage tube station where it will take you strait to the hustle and bustle of London town. The staff was really helpful for anything you needed or advice on places to see and things to do in the City. Overall, good experience and would stay here again, especially with the "cabin-themed" 3-bedded high bunks that have their own curtains for privacy! :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titus W, Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thanks for your lovely review, we also have female only rooms. If you come back you should try our unique double bed dormitories!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed here in November and came back again with another friend a couple of weeks ago. Still stand by what I said, I like this place. For 20 pounds a night in London, that's pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abroadinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titus W, Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#39 of 847 in London
2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#44 of 847 in London
556 reviews
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#20 of 847 in London
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage

Property: Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage
Address: 40 College Crescent | Swiss Cottage, London NW3 5LB, England (Formerly Swiss Cottage)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 847 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the multiple award winning boutique backpackers Palmers Lodge, where you can experience Victorian elegance in the former home of Samuel Palmer, of the Huntley and Palmer's biscuit empire. Built in 1881, this substantial house has been restored to its original glory in order to offer our guests not just budget accommodation but also a unique experience during their stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmers Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing