We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid... but disappoints in the details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Ranked #173 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Solid... but disappoints in the details”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Overall, we were quite pleased with the Tower Bridge hotel during our trip to London. It provided us with a relatively comfortable and relaxing stay in an easily accessible, centralized, yet surprisingly quiet location. However, there were many little issues that slowly and steadily took away from our enjoyment. The beds were a little squeaky, the towels a little worn. Staff were generally polite, but it was a bit obligatory - you didn’t feel the sincerity and you didn’t get a sense that anyone was actually going out of their way to help you.

Our biggest issue was with the breakfast. In most hotels we stay in, the breakfast buffet has an assortment of standard items, but with different entree selections each morning so as to create some variety for guests staying more than one night (pancakes one day, sausages the next, etc). Alternatively, the selection is so extensive that you will always have variety. In the Tower Bridge, unfortunately, we had neither, such that by the end of our stay we were really quite bored with it.

To add to our issues, on our last night we had an early morning flight to catch and could not partake in the breakfast (which we had already paid for in our room rate). Upon asking, if in lieu of sitting down for a full breakfast we could grab a few pastries to-go, we were told it would require an additional 10£ charge. For customers who had paid for a multi-night stay, we thought this response was a little petty and distasteful, particularly given that we would be consuming considerably less food than we would otherwise.

All in all, this is still a solid clean hotel, very well located in a central yet very quiet and relaxing neighbourhood, but at the end of the day it is difficult for us to forget the many little disappointments that diminished our generally positive experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MDJL81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for your comments and taking the time to provide feedback. I am happy that you generally enjoyed your stay. We have taken into account your comments regarding breakfast. We do offer the Hilton Breakfast which is seen as an extensive offering with both hot and cold items, cereals, pastries, waffles, cold meats, cheeses, fresh fruit etc. I am thus sorry to hear that you did not find this extensive enough.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,266
    1,308
    254
    80
    55
See reviews for
655
1,699
250
863
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this marvelous hotel for a second time. Many of the staff were not only still there, they remembered me, a true testament to the quality of the staff at this hotel. The front desk, concierge and executive lounge staff are phenomenal. The food in the executive lounge is outstanding. We rarely ate anywhere else! The housekeeping staff also deserves a nod for their swift attention to detail and one of the cleanest hotels I've seen. The hotel is perfectly located between bus stops and less than 5 minutes from the Tube and train station. The Tower Bridge is also a 5 minute walk. I will always stay at this hotel when visiting London. Had the opportunity to meet the manager this trip and he is delightful. Sven runs a wonderful establishment. I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dana - it was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us again. I also appreciate the time taken to post comments about your trip/stay.

We do indeed pride ourselves on providing genuine personal service to each of our guests. Our kitchen team were happy to hear that you loved the food in the exec lounge. I will also pass on your comments to our dedicated housekeeping team for a job well done.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

We visited London for the first time and it was the first leg of our London/Iceland trip. More later on Iceland in a different review... We picked this hotel because we thought it was fairly close to public transportation; turns out it was only a few blocks away and very accessible! We were upgraded to an executive suite level room and really loved it. The room was very nice and everything in the room was clean. We were also given access to the executive lounge, which was wonderful. They had nice set ups for breakfast, afternoon snacks and tea as well as evening receptions. The hotel was convenient to the London Tower Bridge and the London Towers and from the nearby tube we can go to many attractions. Given the opportunity we will stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iamtraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
It is always great to hear from guests and I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.

I am glad you enjoyed the upgraded room and lounge access.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2013

by far the nicest hotel in Tower Bridge! fantastic staff great bar and excelent resteraunt i wont stay anywhere else on my year on year birthday weekend to london. Beds are fantastic just a 200 meter walk to tube

Helpful?
Thank mcdonell242
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your birthday weekend with us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I spent romantic weekend there with my partner. Staff were really nice, rooms clean and comfy. Restaurants perfect specialy Japaneese one. It was really nice and lovely. Location is perfect and I really enjoyed buffet for my breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TakeMyAdvice12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
I am glad we were able to add to your romantic break. My kitchen team were happy to hear that you loved the breakfast buffet so much.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Located close to London Bridge underground station and just across the bridge from the Tower of London, this Hilton provides both service and location. Stayed here for a weekend and had a great time. The weather actually cooperated too to make it extra enjoyable. The service at the front desk and executive lounge were first rate. They offer afternoon tea along with breakfast and our-devours in the evening. Overall first rate!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay so much, especially the executive lounge experience and the service offered by my team members.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Only stayed here for one night whilst on a night out in London. Got the hotel through a deals website so got a very good rate. Checkin was quick and very friendly by the lovely Carmen. We had a standard room which was a little on the small side, rather dark and bland but with a huge bed. Furniture showing slight signs of wear and tear but nothing serious. Shower was over bath type and had adequate water pressure, but could have been better. I stayed in another Hilton the weekend before and it's interesting that their same brand of toiletries were twice the size of the ones used at Tower Bridge. The room was very quiet overnight. Breakfast, again was okay , orange juice appeared to be watered down but the fruit smoothies were very nice. All in all the hotel was fine, the staff were friendly and efficient but I just didn't love the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that your check-in was quick and professional.

My maintenance team will look into the water pressure issue you raised and our French Polisher has since touched up the desk in the room.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southwark
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#339 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#54 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#99 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,610 reviews
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Tower Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Tower Bridge

Property: Hilton London Tower Bridge
Address: 5 More London - Tooley Street, London SE1 2BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in London
#88 Business Hotel in London
#93 Family Hotel in London
#130 Romantic Hotel in London
#136 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Tower Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of one of the capital's most renowned historical landmarks, Hilton London Tower Bridge is on the doorstep of the city's financial and shopping districts. We're located in a prime sightseeing location, near to many of London's top tourist attractions. This, combined with fantastic dining, stylish rooms and first-class business and leisure facilities, means we have everything you need for an unforgettable stay in London. A choice of elegant rooms and suites await your arrival at Hilton London Tower Bridge. Select a spacious Suite with a separate living room and upgraded amenities. Upgrade to an Executive room to benefit from free breakfast each morning, refreshments through the day, and spectacular London views from the terrace. We offer a fantastic sightseeing location, within walking distance of the Shard, Shakespeare's Globe, trendy Borough Market, Tate Modern, HMS Belfast and the Tower of London. London Bridge Station is a 3-minute walk away, giving easy access via the Northern and Jubilee Lines to London attractions including Buckingham Palace, Westminster, the West End, Canary Wharf and the O2. Sip cocktails with family and friends in the lively atmosphere of the stylish TwoRuba Bar. Book a table for afternoon tea or simply relax with a newspaper and a fresh coffee. Feeling peckish? Sample mouth-watering snacks from the lunch and dinner menus. Drawing inspiration from the Italian way of life, Jamie's Italian is all about relaxing, sharing great food and enjoying each other's company. With its laid-back atmosphere, Jamie's Italian is the perfect spot to unwind with family and friends, while tucking into fresh pasta, beautiful antipasti, and delicious desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton London Tower Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Tower Bridge Hotel London
Hilton London Hotel Bridge
London Hilton
Hilton Tower Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing