We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Ranked #177 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I came today with my husband to have afternoon tea at the hotel. My sister bought us the deal of the experience at The Shard and then the afternoon tea at the hotel.
We walked into the hotel, from the reception area we walked through a lobby to which people were eating. We then waited to be taken to our table. The lady checked us in to which our name was already ticked off. Our table was given to someone else. We then proceeded to another table. We sat down but all the tables around us were Not cleaned, cups, saucers, cutlery and excess food were all over tables. (Filthy)
The bread of the sandwiches were dry and not much at all.
As an afternoon tea it was very poor!
Would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sophiag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Following your recent stay here at The Hilton London Tower Bridge, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments.

We highly value both positive and negative comments of our returning guests. I it is with great concern that I read your comments regarding your Afternoon tea experience with us here at Hilton London Tower Bridge and firstly let me apologies that we did not fully meet your expectation. Please be assured I will pass you feedback to the Hotel Manager.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to The Hilton London Tower Bridge in the near future.

Sincerely,

Carla Bento
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,241
    1,298
    251
    80
    53
See reviews for
643
1,686
248
855
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Nice, clean and modern hotel. Rooms are of a good size (for London) and the sound insulation is very good. Beds are also comfortable so I slept well. The view was rubbish (a back street and an office block), but for one night who cares? The staff members on reception were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was uninviting, but there are plenty of eateries in the immediate vicinity, so it wasn't necessary to eat either dinner or an overpriced breakfast (£21.95!!!) in the hotel.
A speedy checkout was offered by just signing the bill that gets posted under your door and leaving it in the posting box, however I couldn't use this option because I need a receipt. Two copies under the door, one to sign and leave, the other to take away, would have been useful. I wonder if they've ever thought of that?

Room Tip: The upper floors (executive floors) probably have nicer views, but you will pay a lot extra for thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ovm36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RasaKarlsone, PA to General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel! Apologies for the slight delay in our response.

I was happy to read that you appreciated our service and rooms, and especially pointed out the sound insulation.

With regards to the express check-out option, the full VAT invoice can only be created upon check-out, which is why the express check-out offers only an information bill in case you would need to introduce some amendments before concluding the transaction. In addition, for your convenience the VAT invoice is sent out via post, if the address is indicated, and/or via email, if an email address is provided on the express check-out envelope. I hope this will give a bit more insight in the express check-out process.

Thank you once again for your comments! They are highly valued and truly useful to the readers.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Rasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Albert
Level Contributor
170 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here 4 nights during the first week of May. The hotel staff were welcoming and friendly. Our room was quite comfortable and clean, although the mattress was rather rumpled. Free Wi-Fi is available only in the lobby. You can get room Wi-Fi but it's quite expensive. The ice machine in the hall was inoperative.The buffet breakfast was excellent with all the typical choices you might expect. Try to get this as part of your room package as it can be expensive if purchased separately.The room fridge requires a L50 refundable deposit, charged immediately to your credit card, whether you use the contents or not. It's also remotely locked from the front desk, which was a pain. Incidentally, just two doors down from the hotel is Tesco's 'Supermarket'. You can purchase sandwiches, fruit, pastries, drinks and even hot food to go at cheap prices if you're in a hurry. Hilton London Tower Bridge does not offer hotel transfers to airports but they will arrange cabs for you on request ($100 to Gatwick / $65 to Heathrow). As an alternative you could take a train directly to Gatwick Airport from the London Bridge Station. It's just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. It costs only L10 if you don't mind dragging your luggage around a bit. Hilton Tower Bridge Hotel is in a really good location for transit using bus, train, tube or river bus (KPMG Thames Clippers). We found that purchasing an Oyster Card from the train station (good for all venues) was the best value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruisersRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton London Tower Bridge whilst staying in London and thank you for sharing all your valued comments via Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read you words: "Hilton Tower Bridge Hotel is in a really good location for transit using bus, train, tube or river bus (KPMG Thames Clippers)". We highly value both positive and negative comments of our returning guests. I was pleased to read that your stay was excellent, the room a delight and that we have made it right after check-in.

I am looking forward to welcome you again at Hilton London Tower Bridge and please do not hesitate to recommend us to your family and friends.

Kindest regards,

Carla Bento
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Myself and my husband stayed 2 nights for May bank holiday. We booked with lastminute.com who changed our hotel the day before we were to check in. I wanted this hotel due to area and they were changing us to the same hotel but canary wharf. I wasn't happy as they said it was because it was overbooked. I couldn't get through to last minute so called the hotel directly and spoke to someone called Anna, I think she was guest relations manager. I explained the situation and she said it was no problem they would accommodate us. We checked in and went to the room and was pleasantly surprised. It was a large room in a quiet location, perfect! We usually stay at the grange tower bridge which is a 5 star but this hotel is only a 4 star but I couldn't see any difference and enjoyed our stay. I would recommend this hotel they were very accommodating and obviously can't please everyone but pleased us. The staff were very friendly and had quite a relaxed approach which is nice. The area is lively with places to eat near by and london bridge tube 5 mins up the road. It tends to get quiet in the evening as a few of the shops, pret, Nero, m&s close early evening but there are still places to have a meal rather than snacks. We got a taxi from covent garden back to the hotel which cost £16.00 as there were tube problems. Great location, clean hotel and friendly staff. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Always email ahead any requests. They aren't always guaranteed but will try to accommodate if po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindyloo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna140579, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton London Tower Bridge whilst staying in London and I apologise with all confusion with regards to hotel accommodation that day. I was happy to assist you that day and I am glad that we could make it right for you.

I hope that you will choose our property again whilst staying in London and please do not hesitate to recommend us to your friends and family.

Kindest regards,

Anna Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Expected better really from the Hilton. The room was nice enough and clean but the staff at reception and in the restaurant were unwelcoming. Ok it's a city centre hotel and very busy but staff seemed overworked. Disappointed also with the breakfast. The food was dry and tasteless, like it had been sitting around for a long time. The wifi speed was slow and often dropped completely. It's not cheap to stay here but it is central London location. It could be nice but not for us on this occasion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RasaKarlsone, PA to General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Andy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay with us! And I apologise for the delay in our response.

I was sad to read that you were disappointed with the service provided and found the staff to be unwelcoming. I can assure you that this is not reflective of our usual standards, and we normally receive quite a few comments about the staff being very friendly and genuine. I am truly sorry if it seemed not to be the case on this occasion.

Please accept my apologies also for the Wifi speed, we are consistently working with the provider to find solutions to any speed or connectivity issues.

I hope that you will not judge us purely on this particular experience, and that we might have the chance to welcome you back in the future to restore your faith in us.

Kindest regards,

Rasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Visited here for two nights with my wife for her birthday. Hilton staff were exceptionally friendly without being patronising. The hotel took the fees for the room twice which caused my bank to have to block the card to stop both payments going.
However, saying that they upgraded us free to an executive room and added breakfast each day. I didn't ask for an upgrade so was pleasantly surprised.
The hotel is in very good order. Close to the tube at London bridge and is a stones throw from HMS Belfast. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay on the Thames. A very nice surrounding area. The room is amazingly quiet although and could not hear a thing from other rooms or outside and the quality is to a typical hilton high standard.
My only gripe about the room was the air con and light switches. This seemed to be that you had to turn off a 'master switch' in order to turn off a light behind the bed but that would mean the air con would also turn off and therefore the room gets hot. Other then that the bed was huge and very very comfortable.

Next time I visit London for any period of time I will definitely be looking to book this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jfarquhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna140579, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton London Tower Bridge whilst staying in London and thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with Trip Advisor readers.

Please do not hesitate to recommend us to your family and friends and I am looking forward to welcome you back at out hotel.

Kindest regards,

Anna Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed here for a weekend of sightseeing. Located 10 minutes walk from Tower Bridge and The Shard with great views of both. Near London Bridge and the station so good for getting about. Staff were lovely and helpful; we had a problem with our room key one night which was fixed straight away. Cocktails in the bar were lovely as was the complementary popcorn that came with them. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Loved the shower, so powerful. The only downside was there was no free wi-fi in the room but a public area. Wi-fi in the room would have been nice. Otherwise very nice and would recommend.

Room Tip: Any where in the middle away from the lifts as they are used quite a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton London Tower Bridge whilst staying in London and thank you for sharing all your valued comments via Trip Advisor.
I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed the views of the Shard and that our amazing Cocktails accompanied of the popcorn enhanced your stay. Do not hesitate to contact me personally when you make your next booking with us so I can enhance your stay even further.

I am looking forward to welcome you again at Hilton London Tower Bridge and please do not hesitate to recommend us to your family and friends.

Kindest regards,

Carla Bento
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southwark
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#342 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#55 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#104 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,579 reviews
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Tower Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Tower Bridge

Property: Hilton London Tower Bridge
Address: 5 More London - Tooley Street, London SE1 2BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Green Hotel in London
#88 Business Hotel in London
#93 Family Hotel in London
#130 Romantic Hotel in London
#137 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Tower Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of one of the capital's most renowned historical landmarks, Hilton London Tower Bridge is on the doorstep of the city's financial and shopping districts. We're located in a prime sightseeing location, near to many of London's top tourist attractions. This, combined with fantastic dining, stylish rooms and first-class business and leisure facilities, means we have everything you need for an unforgettable stay in London. A choice of elegant rooms and suites await your arrival at Hilton London Tower Bridge. Select a spacious Suite with a separate living room and upgraded amenities. Upgrade to an Executive room to benefit from free breakfast each morning, refreshments through the day, and spectacular London views from the terrace. We offer a fantastic sightseeing location, within walking distance of the Shard, Shakespeare's Globe, trendy Borough Market, Tate Modern, HMS Belfast and the Tower of London. London Bridge Station is a 3-minute walk away, giving easy access via the Northern and Jubilee Lines to London attractions including Buckingham Palace, Westminster, the West End, Canary Wharf and the O2. Sip cocktails with family and friends in the lively atmosphere of the stylish TwoRuba Bar. Book a table for afternoon tea or simply relax with a newspaper and a fresh coffee. Feeling peckish? Sample mouth-watering snacks from the lunch and dinner menus. Drawing inspiration from the Italian way of life, Jamie's Italian is all about relaxing, sharing great food and enjoying each other's company. With its laid-back atmosphere, Jamie's Italian is the perfect spot to unwind with family and friends, while tucking into fresh pasta, beautiful antipasti, and delicious desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton London Tower Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Tower Bridge Hotel London
Hilton London Hotel Bridge
London Hilton
Hilton Tower Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing