We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, almost ruined by unfriendly check in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Ranked #171 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vallensbaek Strand, Denmark
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great hotel, almost ruined by unfriendly check in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the hotel for an extended weekend. The offering was great. Price combined with proximity to centre of London equals great offering.

Our friend at the check in was hesitating to hand out the keys to second room we had book. We were requested to call an show two types of id. Bad experience when the first receptionist told us just come back and pick up the key.

Everything else in the hotel works as expected. The treat with this hotel is the long walk along Thames which was much more pleasant than expected.

We wanted to get a drink at night at their city terrace but turned around a the waiter looked like she was asking us to turn around. There was not drink card on the table and the terrace was of course empty. What a shame as the view. Is spectacular.

When returning to London I will definitely see if a room I available at this hotel as is suits for every occasion.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karsten P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasa K, PA to General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Karsten,

Thank you for your detailed comments and for pointing out all aspects of your experience with us. We appreciate all feedback from our valued guests.

Firstly, I would like to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced upon check-in. Just to explain, if the check-in is done before 3pm, and the second room is not yet ready, one would be requested to provide identification upon handing out the key once the room is ready. This is a security measure in place for the guests' safety and security. I am truly sorry if the process was not smooth and clear.

I am very happy to read that you have appreciated the lovely walk opportunities along the Thames, as the hotel is indeed in a very good location for sightseeing.

With regards to the City Terrace, I truly regret that you felt you were being turned away, but I'm afraid it is not a separate bar outlet, but rather a part of the Executive Lounge offering with opening times from 7am to 11pm daily. If I could just advise for your next stay, if you would choose to visit us again, you are more than welcome to order a drink through Ruba Bar on the ground floor, and our bar team would be happy to deliver it to the City Terrace for you.

And finally, it is a joy to read that you find our hotel to be good for any occasion. We will be more than happy to welcome you again, and please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can help you with anything for your future stays.

Regards,

Rasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,243
    1,300
    252
    80
    53
See reviews for
644
1,687
248
857
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Was expecting more to be honest for the centre of London. May have caught them on an off day as service was poor and was given the wrong room so had to mess around for a while for them to sort it out. Otherwise everything else was ok. Food was I have to say very good so this made up for the poor start. We would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasa K, PA to General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Jayne M,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about your experience with us. I can assure you that both positive and negative feedback is highly appreciated, as it shows us where we need to improve.

Please let me apologise for the incovenience you experienced with the room assignment, this is certainly not reflective of our usual standards. At the same time, I am very glad to read that the gastronomic experience at our hotel has somewhat been able to make up for the mix up on arrival.

I am happy to know that you would like to return to us, thereofre, I truly hope we will have the chance to welcome you back and renew your trust in us.

Regards,

Rasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Hill, va
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is a great location for some major attractions, Tower of London, Tower Bridge, The River Boats and downtown. The hotel is modern, very safe and the rooms have at least one 110 outlet, limited your need for a convertor. The breakfast is very good, with all the British and American options. Consigner made a solid dinner suggestion within walking distance. Only real complaint was having to pay for internet. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: They are very strict about check in time, so you have to stay busy until 3pm before you can get room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasa K, PA to General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for posting your comments regarding our hotel; they are greatly valued!
I am glad you enjoyed most aspects of the hotel, and that the location and suggestions given by our concierge have proven to be beneficial. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused by the wifi being chargeable in the room. However, we do provide complimentary internet in the lobby area, as well as, several workstations in the Bar area and Executive Lounge.

It is wonderful to hear that you would like to return and recommend us to others. We look forward do welcoming you for your next stay in London.

Regards,

Rasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

The front desk personnel warmly greeted us after our arrival early in the morning having just flown in from the states. We were directed to the Executive lounge while our room was being prepared and were pleasantly surprised by the amazing choices for breakfast. The helpful staff brought us our room key as we were finishing our meal. They clearly knew we were tired and having a place the recover from the day's travel was appreciated.

During our three night stay, each executive lounge experience was supported by the dedicated hosts who looked after our every need.

Convenient to everything London via the nearby Tube and rail station and in a newly renovated part of London we will return again and again as our travel plans allow

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tguelich .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasa K, PA to General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your time you have taken to post your feedback! It is greatly appreciated!

It is wonderful to know that the Executive Lounge and its team has managed to provide you with the so needed comfort and energy refill after such a long trip, before your room was ready. We fully understand how tiring the long journeys are, and we are glad if we can ease the experience for our guests in any way.

I am thrilled to know that you would like to return to us again, and will be looking forward to welcoming you again!

Regards,

Rasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was my first visit to London and I was dazzled! I bravely traveled to the Hilton from the airport at Heathrow via the Tube. Both the underground and the train stations are very close to the Hilton making traveling the city quite easy. I purchased an Oyster card for traveling the Tube. There is a delightful restaurant (The Lauder) in the hotel. I only had one dinner at The Lauder and it was marvelous, as was the staff. I did enjoy breakfast at The Lauder each morning and savored every bite. There is a Marks and Spencers Simply Food directly across the courtyard from The Hilton and worth a visit if only to see the gastronomical delights offered! The Hilton is a few steps from the river Thames and magnificent views of the London Tower Bridge and waterfront. A perfect spot for photos. The Shard is just across from the Hilton. The front desk staff was charming and always made me feel most welcome. I read many reviews and remarks on the Hilton referring to "brilliant views" and "rooms with a view", sadly my view was rather dismal which encouraged me to spend more time out and about. Had I not been so travel-weary at check-in, I would have asked to be moved to another room. The bed was comfy and clean and the bathtub was wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JinnieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasa K, PA to General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear JinnieK,

It was a delight to read your review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!
Indeed, I praise your courage for taking the tube all the way from Heathrow with the luggage, but, as you mentioned, it is an easier travel than one might think, considering how close it is to the Hotel.

I am so glad that you enjoyed both the meal and breakfast at our restaurant. And I will make sure to pass your feedback to the Chef and the whole team.

Hopefully, the river Thames has managed to provide you with some wonderful photos to visualise your memories in London and with us!

I do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you here once again! If you do choose to visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact us so that we can make sure that your room would have a lovely view for the next time.

Regards,

Rasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Modern hotel with all amenities right across the river from the Tower of London. Easy access to rail, tube, and river transit. Helpful and cheerful staff. If you upgrade to executive you get free breakfast, internet, and access to the lounge for teatime, evening drinks and veranda. Well worth it, especially if you are travelling with your spouse/partner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasa K, PA to General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear David P,

Thank you for your feedback! It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay and appreciate most of the aspects of the hotel. I am happy to know that you have had the chance to experience what our Executive Lounge offers and that it has proven to be an asset to your business visit.
We would be happy to welcome you back again in the near future, be it for business or for leisure purposes.

Regards,

Rasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Nothing could have bettered our one night stay at Hilton Tower bridge (except several more nights.) We arrived to meet Carla who with flashing fingers on the keyboard had rearranged rooms so that my husband and I and our two adult daughters were not only in rooms close to each other but that were also ready to check into even though it was before midday. She then proceeded to upgrade us all as it was my husband's 70th birthday. When we returned from celebratory lunch we were into birthday boy's present opening with champagne in our room. When I asked the barman if it would be possible to take three champagne flutes to our room he replied that anything was possible. How charming is that? Breakfast was delicious and all the staff without exception were charming, helpful and smiley.....but it was Carla that won my heart.

Room Tip: very quiet on eighth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeleneKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasa K, PA to General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear HeleneKent,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It is such a great pleasure to read that we have managed to make the special birthday stay even more special! I truly hope you and your family have enjoyed this important day to the fullest, and that it will be a memory worth keeping!

I have passed on your comments to Carla, and I can assure you she is over the moon that her efforts have made you feel so welcome and comfortable! It is a truly heart warming feeling to read of your experience.
We really hope to welcome you and your family back in the near future!

Regards,

Rasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southwark
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#339 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#55 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#105 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Tower Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Tower Bridge

Property: Hilton London Tower Bridge
Address: 5 More London - Tooley Street, London SE1 2BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Green Hotel in London
#88 Business Hotel in London
#93 Family Hotel in London
#130 Romantic Hotel in London
#133 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Tower Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of one of the capital's most renowned historical landmarks, Hilton London Tower Bridge is on the doorstep of the city's financial and shopping districts. We're located in a prime sightseeing location, near to many of London's top tourist attractions. This, combined with fantastic dining, stylish rooms and first-class business and leisure facilities, means we have everything you need for an unforgettable stay in London. A choice of elegant rooms and suites await your arrival at Hilton London Tower Bridge. Select a spacious Suite with a separate living room and upgraded amenities. Upgrade to an Executive room to benefit from free breakfast each morning, refreshments through the day, and spectacular London views from the terrace. We offer a fantastic sightseeing location, within walking distance of the Shard, Shakespeare's Globe, trendy Borough Market, Tate Modern, HMS Belfast and the Tower of London. London Bridge Station is a 3-minute walk away, giving easy access via the Northern and Jubilee Lines to London attractions including Buckingham Palace, Westminster, the West End, Canary Wharf and the O2. Sip cocktails with family and friends in the lively atmosphere of the stylish TwoRuba Bar. Book a table for afternoon tea or simply relax with a newspaper and a fresh coffee. Feeling peckish? Sample mouth-watering snacks from the lunch and dinner menus. Drawing inspiration from the Italian way of life, Jamie's Italian is all about relaxing, sharing great food and enjoying each other's company. With its laid-back atmosphere, Jamie's Italian is the perfect spot to unwind with family and friends, while tucking into fresh pasta, beautiful antipasti, and delicious desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton London Tower Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Tower Bridge Hotel London
Hilton London Hotel Bridge
London Hilton
Hilton Tower Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing