We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warning - double check ahead for unadvertised closures”

Lee Valley VeloPark
Ranked #24 of 208 Outdoor Activities in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Lee Valley VeloPark on Queen Elizabeth Park. Choose from four different cycling disciplines - track cycling, racing the road circuit, tackling mountain bike trails or riding the berms on the re-modelled Olympic BMX track. Taster sessions in all four of our disciplines led by qualified coaches are also available. Everyone is invited to experience this world class, inspirational venue.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Tried to use the mountain bike trails today only to be told that they are closed with no predicted date of when they will be open. This despite having been told yesterday by another member of staff at the velopark that they would be open and I could just show up at the appropriate day and time, even to the point of his lending me a pen so that I could write the opening days and times on the leaflet that he gave me. I had also tried to call before coming to check further details on bike rental, only to be left on hold for so long on an expensive 0845 number that I gave up and found the information I wanted on the website. Perhaps had they answered their phones they could have told me about the track closure. And perhaps the website could have mentioned it as well. The title to this post would have said check ahead, only I did and was given the wrong information. So I suggest double checking... All in all a pretty poor service.

Thank Delenn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 209 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

After the Olympics I thought it would be a challenge to make this become anything, how wrong I was. This area is spectacular with so much to do. The velodrome is open and ready for action and you can do taster sessions to practice on the circuit. There is track and BMX circuits around and there are café's and adventure parks. Whilst I was there we saw a scavenger hunt for older people with wood carvings and such going on for them. The area is still under development so do expect to see some cranes and workmen around but otherwise its inspiring to see and still has the buzzy Olympic vibe about it.

1  Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Went to see the Revolution series at the newly re-opened re-named Olympic Velodrome.
What a fantastic venue. You still get the Olympic buzz as you walk to the site through the recently opened park.
First time we have attended an indoor cycling event and we weren't disappointed. Laura Trott Ed Clancy and Jason Kenny all raced.
Brilliant seats and great value. Good value catering.
My cyclist friends were amazed to find out you can actually ride the circuit for just £30 and one has already booked for June
Not sure if the BMX track next door is open yet, but that can be booked too.
Great little adventure playground for the kids and picture opps abound with the olympic rings next door
The aqua centre is amazing and now open to the public.
The stadium is not accessible as it is being converted to hold West Ham
Thoroughly recommend a vis t to an event or just stroll around the site for free. Once it is all open again a bike ride around would be favourite for the locals.
Hit Westfield afterwards for something to eat at one of the vast number of restaurants.
A brilliant day out.

Thank superhoops2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley VeloPark, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thanks for your review. We're pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere at the Revolution Series. The BMX track will be open from 31 March along with our new one mile road circuit and track cycling; taster sessions are available to book on our website now. Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park has taken on a massive transformation since the London 2012 Games and we can't wait for it all to open in April. We hope your friend enjoys their taster session when they come to visit us in June and we hope you might take on your own cycling experience at Lee Valley VeloPark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I attended the first post-2012 Track cycling event to be held at the velodrome. The building on the outside is a good-looker, with an elegantly designed form and layout. For example, the southern external concrete walkway above the cycle repair shop is detached from the main building and so I could appreciate distinct components of the building arrangement. The glazed perimeter to the concourse also attractively adds clarity to the building form especially with the material change from glass to the timber cladding that rises up to the roof edge. Externally, it seems to be just as attractive and successful as the Olympic velodrome which I once visited in Athens, Greece. As a blind person, I’d say that access to, around, and into the Lee Valley building is better than at the Manchester velodrome which I’ve visited several times. That said, once inside the Lee Valley velodrome, movement around the concourse is more fluid than at Manchester, with public spaces repeatedly opening out on each side of the concourse and therefore making it more hazardous for a solo blind person to navigate the encircling concourse when the place is occupied with people. On the plus side, the overall interior space feels well proportioned to me. Not cramped or overcrowded, nor too large and expansive, and the two-tier spectator seating arrangement gives the place a more exciting theatrical appeal for spectating. The two highest rows of seating, numbers 23 and 24, will leave you struggling to see, let alone watch, the four giant tv screens due to the comparatively low ceiling height where the roof sags in the central portion of the building. Regarding venue personnel, the stewards were helpful, courteous and efficient both inside and outside of the building. I look forward to attending future track cycling events at Lee Valley velodrome.

1  Thank rwbcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley VeloPark, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit. We're pleased to hear that you found access to Lee Valley VeloPark easy. It's really interesting and helpful to hear about your views on the interior space within the velodrome and we'll certainly be taking your points into consideration. We'll also pass on your kind comments to the staff and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016
Google Translation

Thank A et K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Lee Valley VeloPark, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lee Valley VeloPark also viewed

 

Been to Lee Valley VeloPark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing