We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great music at affordable price!”
Review of The Vortex

The Vortex
Ranked #175 of 348 Concerts & Shows in London
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great music at affordable price!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I visited the Vortex 6 weeks ago and I truly loved it. Ian Shawn (the vocalist and pianist who performed that night) was sooo entertaining .... jazz has never been so fun! The Vortex offers a wide selection of concerts every single night of the week at very competitive prices ... the place itself is cosy and intimate and also the public is quite vary (East London hipsters of course but people of any kind or age as well). Concerts are held upstairs and if you want to have dinner, I know there's a restaurant downstairs that I haven't tried though. As I already mentioned in another review, there is a fantastic restaurant called Café Route (just behind Dalston Junction) only 5 minutes from The Vortex. Definitely worth trying both :-) !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JuliaPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Cozy and amazing amazing music at this jazz club!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Tonight I had my first Vortex moment, and when I am next in London I shall return. The club is cozy, great acoustics, a warm welcome, and no need to dress up fancy. From the line up and this evening's experience (Ms. Adjoa's 'chocolate voice, with honey and double cream' as the presenter described her and her 4 piece band, and the opening act Niran Obasa on piano, the music is amazing! Tonight's performance was part of the London African Music Festival. Check it out the next time you are in town!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CariocaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
289 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Henry Lowther, Jason Yarde shine with Louis Moholo - and Francine Luce's vocals engaging”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

A jam-packed night out at the absurdly-cramped tiny Vortex club, with a great band - I loved all the earlier Chris McGregor Brotherhood of Breath work and Louis Moholo continues in a similar vein.
The brass section, especially the hugely talented Henry Lowther on trumpet and Jason Yarde on saxes / clarinet, shone tonight. The powerful vocals of Francine Luce added real depth to the overall sound, and of course the rhythm section of Louis Moholo and bassist John Edwards, with Alex Hawkins on piano, drove the band forward at a rippling pace.
A very buzzy night out, a good time being had by all. Helped out by a lovely bottle of Pinot Noire at £19, this was just a perfect jazz evening.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GaryWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great fun”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

great fun small place to see a band...as it happens we saw the fabulous Singing Adams here which was a memorable night as made lots of new friends and got to meet the band and the beer was good and the vibe was ace..what can I say.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Si W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Jazz cafe”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Very comfortable atmosphere and no need to dress up! The staff were very helpful and the banned that played were very good. Wouldn't say excellent as all their songs only had one or two words and were easy to remember.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Voyager886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vortex also viewed

London, England
 

Been to The Vortex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing