We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel but VERY small rooms”
Review of Hotel 55

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 55
Ranked #443 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed in hotel 55 on the weekend.. we stayed there as we were going to a concert at Wembley stadium and it was easier than travelling back to brighton! The hotel cost £100 a night. when we arrived (it was easy to get too with bus stops right outside, and was about 25 mins bus ride to wembley) initial impressions were the hotel looked trendy, veryclean and tidy and smart. the man on reception was helpful and polite. the whole hotel has nice decor and very clean. It was very quiet with no one on the bar but im sure someone wouold have served if we had gone up.
The room however clean was very small. to the point you couldnt open the wardrobe door fully without it hitting the bed. you had to walk around the bed to get anywhere and it was very cramped with little storage space. the kettle and fridge are inside the wardrobe . it was basically like a bedsit size!
ok for a few nights but would be unbareable to stay for a holiday.

The bathroom was a reasonable size with large shower and they provide small bottle of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. "mini bar " is free.. which consists of (disapointingly) a can of coke, diet coke and 1 budweiser,

lovely garden and seating area, and generally a lovely hotel.

would i stay again? yes if it was cheaper. and if i was going to wembley. no because it is not really near any night life or restaurants and the room was just SO small its only £100 because its in london. excellant service and clenliness however.. we asked for more teabags and milk and the man was happy to help and helped us with direcetions and bus timetables.

Room Tip: unsure if there are rooms a larger size but we booked a double room and was tiny.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 55
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

What a great hotel to stay if you want to visit London!!
My sister and brother-in-law came to spend a few days, with my partner and I, from Spain. We decided to spent a couple of days in London and the fact of booking a couple of hotel rooms was very hard for me due to previous bad experiencies in London Hotels.
But we all agreed that Hotel 55 ticked all the boxes and every box!!!
Cleanliness is my priority and this hotel is spot on, honestly. From bedroom, bathroom, public areas and breakfast service...We were really impressed.
The location of the hotel is great. Just 20 mins. to the centre by tube. One piece of advise, please get an Oyster Card because you can save some money in travelling.
And finally, I would like to make a special mention: Tiberius at reception desk, he is a great person, extremly helpful, polite, kind and he can speak perfect Spanish!!! (which was very helpful for my sister). Thanks Tiberius for your attention to detail, you make our stay very comfortable.

Room Tip: Room with garden view are nicer.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa_Buendia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel recently when visiting London and I can honestly say it was a very enjoyable stay.

We booked originally because we were looking for somewhere that wasn't going to break the bank (finding a cheap hotel in London in the middle of summer is not as easy as it may sound).

The hotel is quite a way out of the main tourist area of London itself but is literally a 2 minute walk from North Ealing tube station which makes everything accessible.

We booked a double room with a garden view which was very nice. The room is decorated to a high standard and has a modern feel. I was impressed by the complimentary bottles of water in the room and also the note in the guest compendium to say that if you want any more then all you have to do is just ask.

The room had everything in it that we needed and also had a Nespresso machine (something I had never used but am subsequently going to go and buy).

The only one downside for the entire stay (this is a minor one) is that the reception area is quite dark and could possibly use some brighter lighting.

The breakfast was continental but there was the offer of a cooked breakfast should you wish to have one.

Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwest1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Staff are very accommodating, we travelled down from scotland through the night to miss the traffic and we arrived at 8:30am, we were able to get into a room by 9:30am as soon as it was cleaned after previous guest even though check in should have been 2pm! Beds are super comfy and love the fluffy pillows and extra cushions! (I always feel hotels don't give you enough or horrible flat pillows!) shower is powerful and toiletries are supplied :)
We had a meal in the Japanese Momo restaurant which was lovely! We had a lovely stay here and would defo come back if we were visiting London again! Xx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkjen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fine for a night or two and if you want to be near Ealing Broadway. North Ealing tube station is very close so convenient for going places.

The area is not the nicest but if you walk down to the Ealing Broadway area - there are nice restaurants and shops.

Beware the parking is very limited on site (room for 4 cars in total) so get there early!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEMtheDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed there with my son in the apartment in the back of the main hotel. It was perfect for us and very nice especially the garden view. Close to North Ealing metro station and there are shops not too far away. The best part was when we were leaving I asked if I could use the computer to look up train tickets. They said yes and then a man in the bar started helping me with tips for traveling around Europe and even got on his own laptop to look up fares for trains and hotels at the same time I was looking n their computer. He turned out later to be the hotel's owner! He was super nice! He gave us some good advice that a local would know and even said that if I ran into trouble to call the hotel. Not only was the room great, but they could not have been nicer! I will go back !

Room Tip: If you have a family, rent the apartment in back. It has a full kitchen and saves a lot if you walk...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

i didnt know what to expect from this hotel but from the moment i arrived i have felt welcomed and looked after.
Tiberius on reception goes above and beond he is such a nice person, he remembers what you drink, what car you have in case it needs to be moved,your name very good member of staff.

the room was very comfortable i was in the back room over looking the garden, it was quiet, had a t.v, wifi, fridge and a very powerful shower and was really clean.

beautiful garden very peaceful and relaxing, really clean lovely hotel

The japenese food in the hotel was second to none !

I would highly recommend this hotel and when i return to london will be booking again.
Thank you from rick

Room Tip: back room over looking the beautiful garden
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hays1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hotel Xanadu
#322 of 1,072 in London
376 reviews
The Fox & Goose Hotel
#195 of 1,072 in London
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Park Plaza London Park Royal
#124 of 1,072 in London
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 55

Address: 55 Hanger Lane, London W5 3HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#247 Family Hotel in London
#320 Business Hotel in London
#337 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £73 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 55 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 55 is a 29 room boutique hotel just a 2-minute walk from North Ealing Tube Station. Stylish accommodation with free internet is 25 minutes from central London by underground. Each air-conditioned room at Hotel 55 features a king-sized bed, flat-screen TV with freeview and a Nespresso Coffee Machine. They also include L'Occitane toiletries and minibars. Momo Japanese Restaurant is located within the hotel and serves authentic Japanese cuisine. Continental breakfast is served daily and it only costs £8.50 Per person. Our guests can also enjoy a drink in the elegant 24 hour lounge bar. Wembley Stadium and Kew gardens are both within a 3-mile radius of Hotel 55. The M4 is a 10-minute drive and there is limited parking available, on a first come first served basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel 55 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
55 Hotel London
Best Western London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing