We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An alternative to the chain hotels ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 55

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 55
Ranked #420 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“An alternative to the chain hotels ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a regular stop for me now when working in London. Cheaper than Premier Inn and FAR nicer than grim and plasticky Travelodge. Really comfortable rooms, stylish and modern in a retro boutique style. Amazing cooked-to-order breakfast. You really can't go wrong with H55. The staff are really helpful and nothing is too much bother for them

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rob1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    140
    40
    14
    6
See reviews for
55
173
30
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I've stayed here I just don't know how many times... I've stayed in other London hotels, but I'll always end up back here at some point.
The rooms are great, It's on Hanger Lane with great transport links and the Tube just around the corner.

It has only one physical downside and that is the size of the car park - VERY small... oh, and I wish the breakfast was a more laid back affair.

I always book via laterooms.com and the price is ALWAYS great!

Room Tip: Just get there early to get a parking space!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonWilshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We used this hotel as we were going to watch a game in Wembley, it is less than 5 minutes from the tube and bus stops both of which have frequent transport. The bed was comfy, the room was clean, what more do you want!

Room Tip: Garden view room - err not quite as all we could see was the roof but still..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelleydav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We visited this hotel for a second time (first visit 2008) as a one night stay - going to Wembley for NFL game only 10-15 minutes by taxi). We decided to use it again as our impressions back in 08 were very positive - and it certainly lived up to our memories. We arrived early and after a 15 minute wait they managed to get a room ready for us - garden facing which is nice. There is a 4-car parking area in front (free) and we managed to get in - pay and display is available 200 yards round the back at West Ealing station. Our room was very small (as we expected from a previous visit) but well equipped and clean, with A/C and digital TV. Bed and pillows were VERY comfortable, extra coffee and sugar for the room were available, iron and board, hair-dryer, kettle all provided and worked (looked quite new).
The staff were fantastic - nothing too much trouble for them. When we came back from the game at about 10 pm they even put the garden patio lights on for us and came and wiped the table down - a lovely touch. Pictures of garden area at night are attached - it's well maintained with a patio seating area (access via dining room/bar) and at the back is the "cabin" apartment suite. It's a lovely tranquil area worth a relaxing drink or two!
The ONLY drawback (and what prevented a 5-star rating) was the breakfast! We booked through LateRooms on a bed only deal but my good lady wife decided that we should take breakfast in the hotel - £7.50 for a continental. Not sure what continent it was from but white and brown sliced bread for toasting, cereals, yoghurt and small croissants are not what we expected. There were no sliced meats or cheeses, crusty rolls, salady-tomato-y things at all, and whilst what was there was ok - it certainly was not VFM! Cooked breakfast is available at about £12 but as we were the only ones eating brekky we didn't get chance to see that. If we stay again (which we probably will) we will take breakfast out - we are sure it was more "substantial" 5 years ago.
The restaurant on-site is Japanese but was closed on the night we stayed - however there is a nice Italian round the back near the car park.
Come on 55 - let's just have a bit more selection for breakfast and you'll get 5 out of 5 every time.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room - nice sunny outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PabloMorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland, uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our family of 2 adults & 2 teens stayed here for 3 nights & would definitely recommend it. We stayed in the 'cabin' at the end of the garden which was a decent size (even for the 4 of us), clean, private & well fitted out with kitchen & shower room. The staff were all lovely & very helpful. The location is super, just 2 minutes walk away from a tube station. Very good value hotel which I would happily recommend

Room Tip: I didn't see the rooms inside the hotel but we were very happy with the 'cabin' at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed in hotel 55 on the weekend.. we stayed there as we were going to a concert at Wembley stadium and it was easier than travelling back to brighton! The hotel cost £100 a night. when we arrived (it was easy to get too with bus stops right outside, and was about 25 mins bus ride to wembley) initial impressions were the hotel looked trendy, veryclean and tidy and smart. the man on reception was helpful and polite. the whole hotel has nice decor and very clean. It was very quiet with no one on the bar but im sure someone wouold have served if we had gone up.
The room however clean was very small. to the point you couldnt open the wardrobe door fully without it hitting the bed. you had to walk around the bed to get anywhere and it was very cramped with little storage space. the kettle and fridge are inside the wardrobe . it was basically like a bedsit size!
ok for a few nights but would be unbareable to stay for a holiday.

The bathroom was a reasonable size with large shower and they provide small bottle of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. "mini bar " is free.. which consists of (disapointingly) a can of coke, diet coke and 1 budweiser,

lovely garden and seating area, and generally a lovely hotel.

would i stay again? yes if it was cheaper. and if i was going to wembley. no because it is not really near any night life or restaurants and the room was just SO small its only £100 because its in london. excellant service and clenliness however.. we asked for more teabags and milk and the man was happy to help and helped us with direcetions and bus timetables.

Room Tip: unsure if there are rooms a larger size but we booked a double room and was tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brans123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

What a great hotel to stay if you want to visit London!!
My sister and brother-in-law came to spend a few days, with my partner and I, from Spain. We decided to spent a couple of days in London and the fact of booking a couple of hotel rooms was very hard for me due to previous bad experiencies in London Hotels.
But we all agreed that Hotel 55 ticked all the boxes and every box!!!
Cleanliness is my priority and this hotel is spot on, honestly. From bedroom, bathroom, public areas and breakfast service...We were really impressed.
The location of the hotel is great. Just 20 mins. to the centre by tube. One piece of advise, please get an Oyster Card because you can save some money in travelling.
And finally, I would like to make a special mention: Tiberius at reception desk, he is a great person, extremly helpful, polite, kind and he can speak perfect Spanish!!! (which was very helpful for my sister). Thanks Tiberius for your attention to detail, you make our stay very comfortable.

Room Tip: Room with garden view are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa_Buendia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Fox & Goose Hotel
#205 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Hotel Xanadu
#473 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#231 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
London Guest House
#507 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 55

Property: Hotel 55
Address: 55 Hanger Lane, London W5 3HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#247 Family Hotel in London
#320 Business Hotel in London
#337 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 55 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 55 is a 29 room boutique hotel just a 2-minute walk from North Ealing Tube Station. Stylish accommodation with free internet is 25 minutes from central London by underground. Each air-conditioned room at Hotel 55 features a king-sized bed, flat-screen TV with freeview and a Nespresso Coffee Machine. They also include L'Occitane toiletries and minibars. Momo Japanese Restaurant is located within the hotel and serves authentic Japanese cuisine. Continental breakfast is served daily and it only costs £8.50 Per person. Our guests can also enjoy a drink in the elegant 24 hour lounge bar. Wembley Stadium and Kew gardens are both within a 3-mile radius of Hotel 55. The M4 is a 10-minute drive and there is limited parking available, on a first come first served basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 55 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
55 Hotel London
Best Western London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing