We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 55

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel 55
Ranked #417 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here for the first time recently and had a lovely room with a view of the garden at the back of the hotel. The hotel has a small car park and we managed to find a space but as the tube station is just round the corner we didn't need to use the car after that. The hotel has a bar lounge and a Japanese restaurant. We had a lovely meal there ,which was the first time we had eaten Japanese food ,but the staff were very helpful when choosing what to eat. The restaurant was full and the food was amazing. The hotel staff were also excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a very busy road so choose a garden view room at the rear of the hotel if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryH938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    138
    39
    14
    6
See reviews for
53
173
30
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vail
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I just got back from a whirlwind trip through Europe. After doing some research, we decided to stay here during one of our stops in London. I am so glad we did, as this was one of our lodging highlights of the entire trip. Hotel 55 is super easy to get to from the airport. We just used the tube, and walked around the corner to the hotel. The staff was exceptionally welcoming. We arrived earlier than we thought and asked if we could simply store our bags at the hotel while we headed back out and waited for the correct check-in time. The front desk/concierge staff checked the booking and allowed us to checkin immediately. He had staff take our bags up for us and insisted that we take a rest in the lounge while he went behind the bar and pulled some great espresso shots for us. He was truly welcoming and was a great addition to the stay.

The room was small by American standards, but quite nice. Hotel55 had the best shower that we encountered in all of Europe. Tons of hot water and tons of water pressure. The wifi was easy to use, the in room coffee/tea was a nice touch, and the TV was a nice way to relax at the end of the day. Across the street was a nice little convenience store where we could stock up on snacks.

On our way back through London we stayed at a generic hotel nearer to downtown. We nearly canceled on it after checkin in order to try and get back to Hotel55. Next trip to London, I know where I am staying.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I chose Hotel55 after reading about it online and going thru various reviews. I stayed there between 6th November till 12th November for 6 nights. I must say it is most value for money hotel. The hotel staff is extremely courteous and helpful. I would like to explicitly mention Christian and Tiberius for their courteous and helpful behavior. I am from India and stayed in Cozy Room. There are pros and cons which one may like to consider before deciding to stay:
PRO: 1. Very good Value for money in this range as it includes good continental breakfast as well as unlimited internet access.
2. Just one to one and half minute walk from tube station (Zone-3)
3. An Indian restaurant for dinner just one minute walk.
4. Extremely good staff
5. Good Toilets and excellent toiletries.
Con: Cozy room is too small and good only for one person (they should replace the double bed with a single bed and utilize extra space released for a small table/ chair.

Room Tip: If one is alone and on a business trip requiring interrnet, then chose cozy room. This one has lowes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prakriti66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Travelling with another family member, we booked two single rooms for three nights. We'll be honest - the good reviews paired with the fair prices (65 GBP per room per night) seemed attractive.

The hotel is located outside of central London, but is a matter of minutes from the nearest tube stop - 20-30 mins to central London. Unfortunately, the station was closed for 2 of our 3 days (Sat & Sun) due to work on the line, so we had to walk to the next station (20 mins) every time we wanted to travel to London. No big deal.

The rooms are small, but perfectly fine for one. Two would be a squeeze. Good bathroom, large shower. 5/10 for cleanliness - not dirty, but far from spotless (staines, hairs on bed etc.).

The huge drawback with the hotel is the LACK OF SOUND INSULATION. It was like being back in student halls - every door could be heard, conversations from neighbouring rooms too. I was woken 2 of 3 nights due to noise from inside the hotel, which is what brings the rating right down. Quality of sleep should be priority number one for a hotel, and it was awful here. If you're a heavy sleeper, you might be ok, but beware. Hey - you might even get lucky and not have too many other guests visiting at the same time...but for us, this was a huge let-down.

Good service on reception, tea and coffee in rooms.

Room Tip: Try ringing the hotel directly - ask them what rate they can offer compared to other websites. But b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjhall86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice and both time were amazing! When we stayed on 12.12.12 that was the day my fiance proposed to me and hotel 55 workers did all they could to keep us happy, let us keep the car parked in there car park because there was no one else due to book in and we over laid and they was fine and was not funny at all with us about it. The rooms are good sizes and very comfy beds in both rooma we stayed in cant complain about anything. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rebeccabluedavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Previously not knowing about this hotel I stayed somewhere else. The room was great. I even found plenty of magazines in the drawer to kill my time with. The garden, well looked after, is an oasis of green. Excellent staff. Definitely coming back. I felt compelled to write a review having felt like at home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We're from the North of England, and this little hotel ticks SOOO many boxes.
Like it's 10 minutes from Brent Cross, so dead easy to get to.
Like it's a 2 minute walk from North Ealing tube station, so it's on a direct line to Leicester Square, Covent Garden and the centre of town.
Like parking at the station is £4 per day through the week, £2 on a Saturday and £1.50 on a Sunday. That's all day, not per hour!!
Like the hotel is very chic and, while the rooms aren't what you'd call huge, they're very clean and stylish, and the service is very good.
We just love this place, and we'll keep coming back.

Room Tip: Get a garden room for definite, and get a larger one, perhaps on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheilaDanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Hotel Xanadu
#448 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Kingsland Hotel
#622 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fox & Goose Hotel
#190 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#225 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 55

Property: Hotel 55
Address: 55 Hanger Lane, London W5 3HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#247 Family Hotel in London
#320 Business Hotel in London
#337 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 55 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 55 is a 29 room boutique hotel just a 2-minute walk from North Ealing Tube Station. Stylish accommodation with free internet is 25 minutes from central London by underground. Each air-conditioned room at Hotel 55 features a king-sized bed, flat-screen TV with freeview and a Nespresso Coffee Machine. They also include L'Occitane toiletries and minibars. Momo Japanese Restaurant is located within the hotel and serves authentic Japanese cuisine. Continental breakfast is served daily and it only costs £8.50 Per person. Our guests can also enjoy a drink in the elegant 24 hour lounge bar. Wembley Stadium and Kew gardens are both within a 3-mile radius of Hotel 55. The M4 is a 10-minute drive and there is limited parking available, on a first come first served basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel 55 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
55 Hotel London
Best Western London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing