We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH London Kensington
Ranked #247 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Great Location”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Very friendly staff in a great location in Kensington. Rooms are spacious and clean and the hotel has limited but free wifi. Many bars and restaurants in the area and walking distance to two tube stations, one of which has a direct train to Heathrow.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street on the 1st and top floors have two levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MarvaCallender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan B, General Manager at NH London Kensington, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the fact that you are taking the time to review our hotel.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our helpful staff, the location and our rooms. It is good to hear you had a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back at NH Kensington.

Best regards,

Chetan Bhanot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    663
    181
    45
    35
See reviews for
361
611
61
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I have stayed here both on business and for pleasure on several occasions over the past 5 years.

The title to this review says it all.

Tina Bauer and her front of desk team couldn't be more helpful.

I certainly recommend the NH Ken to you!

Richard G

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan B, General Manager at NH London Kensington, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your friendly feedback.

We are happy to hear you choose NH Kensington for your visits to London and we really appreciate your loyalty. We will make sure that Tina and her team are informed about your compliments. Thank you for recommending us to other travelers.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Chetan Bhanot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barking, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had a great stay. The room was very nice and clean. Staff are very friendly. Breakfast was fine but there are lot of places to have breakfast near the hotel. High street Kensington is just 5 minutes walk, and we discovered Holland park which is very nice. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask the room on the 6th floor. The rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan B, General Manager at NH London Kensington, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

We are pleased to note our staff was able to make your stay pleasant. We really appreciate the fact that you are recommending us to others. Hopefully you can enjoy Holland Park again during your next visit.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Chetan Bhanot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Loved the hotel. Great location. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel. Underground is 4 minutes from the hotel. Nice rooms and great service. The bar is nice and the garden is great. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan B, General Manager at NH London Kensington, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending our hotel on tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us because of our bar and location. We have indeed a central location with good links between central London and Heathrow Airport.

We look forward to welcome you back at NH Kensington.

Best regards,

Chetan Bhanot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

​Background is that this was a reservation made on May 2nd, 2013 to stay at your NH Kensington (London, UK) from Dec 7th to the 9th.

This is a tragic story of inadequate and cruel treatment of a customer which should never happen. This starts with a prepaid, non-cancellable superior room paid for in good faith on May 2nd of 2013 by a returning global NH customer who liked your hotels in other countries. The description of the prepaid room was the following:

===== Start =====
Ideal for the discriminating business traveler, our 30 square-meter Superior Room provides a spacious and stylish respite from a busy day. Soundproof windows keep you blissfully unaware of the bustling city below while you enjoy a restorative sleep on a 32 centimeter-thick mattress.

Revive each morning with a cup of freshly brewed coffee or tea, then step into a luxurious bathroom complete with a power shower and bathtub to fully awaken your senses. A work desk and both wireless and LAN internet access allow you to stay connected and productive, while cozy furnishings, a minibar and a flat-screen TV encourage you to relax and leave it all behind. Countless details have been provided to ensure a pleasant stay-from an iron with ironing board to an in-room safe.

Electricity/Voltage
120V, Voltage 220V.
Internet Access/Telecommunications:
Free Wi-Fi, Wireless internet connection in public areas, Data port, Internet access, Telephone, Wireless internet connection.
Miscellaneous
Connecting rooms, Wake-up calls.
Bathroom Services
Vanity mirror.
Room
Choice of pillows, Air conditioning, Coffee/tea maker, Desk, Fire alarm, Hairdryer, Iron, Minibar, Queen bed, Sitting area, Sofa bed.
===== End =====

Upon arriving, we were forced upon with a much smaller standard room, which was poor considering it was prepaid and arranged 6+ months ago. What I don't understand is that all hotels I have experienced in the past may have had room allocation issues, but they never offer a room worse than what was reserved and paid in advance. Normally, hotels always bump customers to a better room as it is the fault of the hotel for not being able to accommodate and should never penalize the customer. Your NH Kensington basically said "this is the only option you get!" and with little choice we went into the room to find it had no heating . We were quite appalled at the fact of getting a worse room that was PREPAID FOR, but one without heating in the month of December is inexcusable. Your hotel reception said there were no other room options and offered more blankets, it was starting to feel very cruel like we were camping at your hotel. I further argued with the reception person and they eventually scrapped us some disable-friendly room that actually was so awkward it left us feeling disabled with the lower set sink, etc. So, we had to move (evacuate) from the unheated room to a disable room past midnight. You can imagine how overjoyed we weren't and I was amazed how your staff acted like they were doing us fair and just service.

The offered consolation for the broken reservation promise was a reimbursement of 25 GBP per day, which isn't much considering this was our single vacation for the year and arrangements were made so far in advance. If we had been informed by your hotel of its incompetence of not being able to accommodate us, we could have looked at other options at other hotels. Basically your NH Kensington decided to mislead its customer (fraud a better word) and forced them into an inferior option with very little recourse.

Another strange thing is as I was being told all sorts of excuses all with a positive bias towards how the hotel had no other rooms, just past midnight a person walked in and was given a SUPERIOR room right in front of my face. In confronted your reception person again, they said it was a previously reserved room, but how does that differ from my situation as I had arrived many hours earlier? I don't like to bring up the possibility, but I am guessing it is some sort of discrimination by your staff assuming I would be the easier person to screw over.

One last thing, when I was checking out, the reception person initially claimed that there was no 25 GBP per day reimbursement noted to be returned on my room details. I had been quite calm, but was pushed into aggression again at your hotel's attempt to do us wrong again even to the end. I basically forced your staff to keep at least this promise in cash on the spot as I could see I can't trust them at a long distance once I left the country. This whole unique experience has been one for the record books in how to screw a customer.

To summarize, we prepaid 6+ months for a specific room with specific attributes and was given a room of smaller size, smaller bed, no bathtub, quite noisy and absolutely no view. Also, initially a room with no heat in December and ended in a shabby disabled friendly (normal person unfriendly) room and was almost screwed out of differential compensation at the end.

So there it is, I post this review in the hopes that there is someone in the NH World who give a damn and can correct such unfair, unjust, and fraudulent treatment of its customers. I've wasted more time reliving this unpleasant experience and time to describe this in the hope that whom ever are the culprits will get punished and this never happens to another customer.

Room Tip: Pray you get the room you request and not one they force upon you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan B, General Manager at NH London Kensington, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for you review.

We try our best to meet the expectations of our guests. We are sorry to hear this was not the case during your stay. We would like to ask you to send your contact details to duty.nhkensington@nh-hotels.com so we could contact you to find out what we can do to solve this matter.

We look forward to hear from you.

Best regards,

Chetan Bhanot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beeville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have done quite a lot of traveling outside the US, but had never been to London. We were extremely pleased with the service, helpfulness, and friendly employees. They helped us find all of the places we wanted to go to & the l\things we were trying to see. They gave us direction on how to get where we were going. They also suggested getting on the Big Bus to do some sightseeing, which was wonderful. I would highly recommend this hotel. We plan on going back some day so we can stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SALLY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan B, General Manager at NH London Kensington, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review regarding your stay in NH Kensington.

I am very pleased to read our staff was helpful and friendly and they were able to make your visit to London wonderful. I will make sure that our team is aware of your positive feedback and I appreciate you recommending us to other travellers.

We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Chetan Bhanot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The NH is a nice clean hotel with a great location. It is easy to get all around downtown London and a nice walking distance from Harrods. However, if you want fast internet service it is better to pay the 9.90 GBP, as the free internet is slow, and you use up the bytes fast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan B, General Manager at NH London Kensington, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am pleased to note our location and the cleaning met your expectations and we were able to make your stay comfortable. We appreciate your feedback regarding the internet, as it helps us to improve our product and services.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Chetan Bhanot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,658 reviews
South Kensington
The Rockwell
The Rockwell
#273 of 1,067 in London
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH London Kensington

Property: NH London Kensington
Address: Cromwell Road 202-220, London SW5 0SW, England (Formerly NH Kensington)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in London
#183 Luxury Hotel in London
#187 Business Hotel in London
#231 Family Hotel in London
#233 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH London Kensington is the beginning to a wonderful London getaway. Centrally located in London's Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, the hotel is surrounded by historic buildings, famous cultural institutions, and world-renowned destinations for shopping and nightlife. The perfect connecting to public transportation (5min walk to Earls Court Tube/ Bus Line 74 in front of the hotel) makes NH London Kensington the top spot for a weekend break, shopping trip or a great base to discover all beautiful sights of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Kensington Hotel London
Nh Kensington London
Nh Hotel London
Nh Hotels London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing