We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of Cowbell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH London Kensington
Ranked #262 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Qualifier...I spend no less than 120 nights a year away from home....clearly enough experience to make a valid review.......NH kensington is a solid choice......I have stayed with them at least 20x's....and always have a pleasant experience.....beautiful, quiet garden in rear of building...super attentive staff....(especially the bar staff!...Claudia/Carolina/Marek/Ansul......good people!!!!!)

I recommend a room with a full shower (not the standard European half shower bath....) and order the 24hr room service when you are jet lagged.....

Excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyrodfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

404 - 410 of 1,650 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Everyone is extremely helpful and willing to do anything to make the stay the best possible.
Claudia and Carolina are very personable and make the stay pleasure able. I would recommend this hotel to all whom are planning a trip to London.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subsonic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husband and I traveled for the first time to Europe and our first stop was in London and we stayed at the NH Kensington for 5 nights. This was maybe a 3 star hotel but definitely not 4 stars. Yes the room was clean and spacious for London which was nice. It was also close to the Earls Court tube station but having said that it is not right next door for those of you who have never been to London. The wifi was pretty pathetic as well. It was free yes but slow and you have to keep calling to the desk or going downstairs to get a new code every 100mb. If it's free then just make it free and not so complicated for your guests. Also we got this hotel because it had air conditioning and it was warm outside during our trip. Little did we know that every time we wanted the air adjusted we had to call the front desk and it kept resetting everyday. What a pain! Couldn't wait to leave there and we will never stay in an NH hotel again and I suggest anyone who reads this review saves themselves some frustration and just picks another hotel because I am sure there is a better one in London.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here twice. Nice area, nice garden out the back that you can sit in, which is rare for London, and nice rooms and toiletries. The rooms were clean too. It is, however, very expensive for drinks and for breakfast so save your money and go elsewhere for both. The reception is also staffed entirely by Spanish people, which is understandable but also quite hard at times when trying to communicate something simple. I do think that the hotel is very expensive, though. London is dear in general, I know that, but I do think it is dear. In saying that though, I'd stay again if money was no object.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enchantedprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip to London, and immediately found the room larger than what you're used to in 4-star London hotels! In fact, the location was great, not only regarding public transport (on bus 74 line and very close to Earl's Court tube station) but also because it stands on a very quiet area of the Borough of Kensington & Chelsea.
Unfortunately I don't have much to add to sleep quality as I had to work much more than sleep. However, as a quiet and comfortable hotel, on the down side it could do better in terms of sound-proof walls (and doors) as there were frequent slams of doors in neighboring rooms.
Breakfast was aligned with the expectations for this hotel range and wi-fi worked OK, though with constant need to ask for new codes at the reception desk, since each log has download limits. Anyway, staff was always kind and ready to assist.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuiAna_ptbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I very much enjoyed my stay at the NH Kensington for two nights except for the wi-fi (more later). The location was excellent, with a short walk to the Earl's Court tube station and only a few blocks to the famous Kensington Gardens. There were many interesting restaurants and other useful stores on the way to the tube.

The twin room was small but very comfortable with an good sized closet, which included 10 hangers, lots of shelving, a safe (unfortunately on the bottom so opening and closing required sitting on the floow) and a mini-bar. The hair dryer was stored in the closet which was fine as the closet doors were mirrored, making it easy to dry your hair without using the bathroom - useful when traveling with a friend.

The breakfast was a typical English breakfast with a variety of fruit juice, breads, cereal, fruit, additions to yogurt etc. There were also the standard scrambled eggs, make-your-own waffles, sausage, bacon (as usual, undercooked to my American taste) and beans. Each day, there was one made to order dish - one day, pancakes and the next, omelets.

The beds were comfortable and the room quiet. There was no electrical outlet near the bed - only at the desk. The only real negative was a limited and unreliable wi-fi. You were limited to 100 mg download, which is very easy to exceed looking at a couple attachments and Facebook. In addition, you needed a new logon, easy to get from the front desk, every 24 hrs. Most annoying was the slow and erratic nature of the wi-fi. It dropped out or slowed way down constantly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Very conveniently located in Cromwell Road, close to Earl's Court (District, Central & Piccadilly lines) and in front of Bus 74. Not a new hotel but well mainatined. Good breakfast, smiling and kind service. I am not giving 5 stars for the WiFi, whihc is free but needs a new passwor every 24 hours (you have to ask a credential for each device at the reception, every day of your stay).
Being a family for 5 (3 kids) we were given two communicating rooms at level -1, but i would not say that the rooms were dark because of this. The third bed we had asked for was missing when we arrived, but it was in place in minutes. The -1 level rooms are extremely quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GIOPIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan B, General Manager at NH London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

We are pleased to note you and your family had a comfortable stay and you enjoyed our service, the location and our breakfast buffet. The rooms on our Garden Level do provide a light and quiet stay. We set high standards for ourselves and your valuable feedback will help us in our efforts to provide the service you want. At the moment we are looking into possibilities to improve our internet facilities.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Chetan Bhanot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,076 in London
3,880 reviews
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#174 of 1,076 in London
3,489 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Melia White House
Melia White House
#296 of 1,076 in London
7,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Notting Hill
La Suite West - Hyde Park
La Suite West - Hyde Park
#450 of 1,076 in London
764 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH London Kensington

Address: Cromwell Road 202-220, London SW5 0SW, England (Formerly NH Kensington)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in London
#186 Business Hotel in London
#194 Luxury Hotel in London
#232 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £85 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH London Kensington is the beginning to a wonderful London getaway. Centrally located in London's Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, the hotel is surrounded by historic buildings, famous cultural institutions, and world-renowned destinations for shopping and nightlife. The perfect connecting to public transportation (5min walk to Earls Court Tube/ Bus Line 74 in front of the hotel) makes NH London Kensington the top spot for a weekend break, shopping trip or a great base to discover all beautiful sights of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, NHHotels, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Kensington Hotel London
Nh Kensington London
Nh Hotel London
Nh Hotels London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing