We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New favourite hotel”
Review of The Sumner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sumner Hotel
Ranked #149 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New favourite hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The hotel is in a great location, close to Oxford Street and Marble Arch tube station. Its clean and simply decorated, nice room and super comfy bed. Very quiet too. The lobby/living room is certainly an oasis in the very hectic, crowded city. The staff was lovely and helpful, quite gracious and professional even before I arrived, as they corresponded with me promptly and effectively. They certainly didn't disappoint in any of their assistance. You also get good wireless access. Breakfast was delightful, differing slightly every morning, and served with a smile. 
Minor thing was the temperature; too hot!! Which was easily altered by changing the airco and opening a window. This is the only negative point about the hotel. 
I wholeheartedly recommend The Sumner and I will be soon coming back.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horizon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    433
    55
    23
    7
See reviews for
252
720
92
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed in Sumner once and liked it very much. You fell like in a luxury hotel but it's very small and private. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful and very english with all these beans and toasts and eggs. The room was very spacious. As it was our honeymoon we found a bottle of vine in our room one night, and it pleased us a lot.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esch/Alzette
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

On my third stay in The Sumner me and my wife have once more had 3 relaxing and peaceful nights.The rooms in the Sumner are of reasonable size, have high ceilings and are well equipped ( there is even 1 european standard power outlet !).The wifi is really fast and there is a good choice of food for breakfast.The staff (especially at reception) are very helpful and friendly.There is no doubt we will return on our next stay in London.I recommend booking a room at the rear for the quietness and make sure you have a nice drink (and great food) at The Portman just at the corner.

Room Tip: I recommend booking a room at the rear for the guaranteed quietness even in the morning.If you get u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This was our third visit ot the hotel. We stayed for a week and were fortunate: the fickle London weather favoured us and we did not experience a single day of rain. Our repeat visit to the hotel speaks for itself. We again liked accommodation, service and amenities. A detail we haven't mentioned before: the proximity to Hyde Park. There is nothing we like better than a walk through the Park on a sunny Spring morning, prefereably on a Sunday.
We also recommend the restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the Hotel, most within walking distance. Some are located in Upper Berkeley street itself, others in Baker Street and nearby.
A suggestion: improvemnt to the soundproofing system of the rooms.

Room Tip: Ground floor top of the range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShlomoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed 4 nights.This was our third stay at The Sumner. Clean rooms and a very pleasant staff. Good location for getting about in London.

Room Tip: If you think street noises will bother you, ask for a room at the rear. Although, it is not a very b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed four days in May and we were very positively surprised. The people at the reception were very friendly, especially Ricardo (who took directly our ludgage to the room so we could go quickly to have dinner !). Very nice and clean room and excellent breakast. The hotel is small and that makes it more special. Very well located in a nice area: 15 minutes to Paddington train station ! (where you can take the express train to Heathrow) and 2 minutes walk to Marble Arch, full of busses and underground line. You cal also walk to the shopping area directly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juanluisFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langquaid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We had a room in the basement of the hotel, which were equipped with small windows only. No really daylight, hard to belief that this hotel is a four star. The room was across the breakfast room, noise started at 6.30 am. Room was clean, staff was friendly. The location is good, close to Oxford Street and Hyde park.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#65 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#75 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#315 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
The Darlington Hyde Park
#200 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Property: The Sumner Hotel
Address: 54 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in London
#94 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Business Hotel in London
#122 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sumner Hotel. The Sumner has the intimate charm of an elegant hotel. Located in the heart of London within strolling distance of Oxford Street shopping, the bright lights of West End, and the tranquility of Hyde Park. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London and features award winning management. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. About The Sumner: The Sumner is a townhouse hotel located in the heart of London, and features the same award winning management as its sister hotel, Five Sumner Place. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. Tradition is combined with modern comfort, and all rooms are designer decorated and luxuriously appointed. They all feature air conditioning, widescreen LCD, LED/3D TVs, free Broadband, as well as all traditional amenities. For those guests wishing to indulge in something extra special, we provide in addition to our standard rooms a number of larger Deluxe rooms that have been custom designed with Italian Ligne Rosset furniture. The hotels centrepiece is an intimate and elegant sitting room with an original fireplace and timber flooring, the perfect place to enjoy a drink before or after any excursion into the centre London, which literally lies on the hotels doorstep. Located less than five minutes walk from Marble Arch Tube station and Oxford Street, a five minute taxi ride from Paddington station from which the Heathrow Express service runs, and five minutes walk from the tranquility of Hyde Park the hotel is positioned so as to provide you with the choicest mix of excitement, convenience and comfort. The Sumner is at the centre of all that is great about London, and our knowledgeable staff will be able to advise you on all the best places to go and the best things to see. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London. Part of an 1830s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards, preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics and combining contemporary luxurious design with warm friendly and attentive service. Sumner Hotel Location: How to find us: By tube: The nearest London Underground station is Marble Arch. From the station turn right on Oxford Street and go first right into Great Cumberland Place. Then turn third left into Upper Berkeley Street and continue for approx 100 m - we are at number 54 on the left. By car: Marble Arch is conveniently situated close to the A5, A40(M), A41 and A4(M) and can easily be reached from the Heathrow, Stansted and Luton airports. The Sumner Hotel is 9.0 Miles away from the London City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing