We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sumner Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,439)
Filter reviews
1,439 results
Traveller rating
900
445
62
24
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
900
445
62
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarble archoxford streethyde parksmall hotelboutique hotelbreakfast roomquiet streetsitting roombeansinternet accessby london standardsdeluxe roomlounge areathe ground floorcentral locationexcellent locationnice room
Filter
Updating list...
413 - 418 of 1,439 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013


Recently stayed at the Sumner for the first time whilst attending a meeting in the Marble Arch area. The hotel is situated in a great location for both business and pleasure with some great attractions within walking distance. Having visited London on numerous occasions it's always a gamble to what quality and standard of hotel you end up in and with the Sumner I was certainly not disappointed with what I got. The hotel staff were very welcoming from the moment I arrived and nothing was ever a real problem. The rooms are simple, modern and more importantly clean. The lounge area is certainly a must for a chill out and a fresh coffee. Directly next door to the hotel is a place called the Portman that is also very pleasant with good selection of ale and food, we'll worth a try..

Breakfast at the Sumner is perfect, buffet style with fresh toast, coffee made on request with a small selection of hot and cold buffet style being available.

A couple minutes walk up the street and you are on Oxford street with all that it has to offer..

Overall the Sumner is certainly worth a visit if you are looking for a small contemporary style hotel with service that couldn't be faulted. Will certainly be booking into the Sumner the next time I'm in the area.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Chris-Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Chris-Lesley,

Thanks for such a lovely comment - “Great Location - Great Hotel” on trip advisor. I & my staff were so pleased to read thru your detailed feedback. We’ll make sure next time you visit us, we do something better to make your stay more enjoyable & memorable.
It was our pleasure to have you here. We always make sure to provide the best service to all our customers
We always love to hear your feedback from you on trip advisor.
Warm Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is a lovely hotel. Warm and welcoming. Very gracious staff. Comfortable rooms. The breakfast is good and included in the price. Perfect location close to shopping, great restaurants, parks, yet quiet. Very safe area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukateso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor - “Charming boutique hotel”.So pleased to know that you loved your Stay at The Sumner and the amenities around this area. It was our pleasure to have you here at The Sumner. Hope to see you again soon.
We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Many Thanks,

Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Nice hotel, in a good place. Near hyde park, subway, a supermarket and a exchange money. The stuff are great. The breakfast was wonderfull. There are two pubs nearby that are very good, more traditional than the others made for tourists.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EduardoTanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Eduardo,
Thanks you for the lovely comment as GREAT HOTEL. It was so good to hear that you enjoyed the stay here and we provided you the best service & facilities during your visit. We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
It was our pleasure to have you here at The Sumner.
We hope to welcome you sometime soon. Your feedback are always noted & appreciated.
Warm Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were very pleased with the Sumner after having come from a hotel in Kent that was a bit of a disappointment. The Sumner was so clean! Our room fronted on the main street, which got quite noisy at night, but the windows were fitted with an extra set of interior windows that kept the noise out. Management has thought of everything to make your stay pleasant. We had a great stay at the Sumner and would come again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acura3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Well... we are very glad to hear that you were not diappointed here at The Sumner. We will definately would do everything to make your stay pleasant & enjoyable.
It was a great pleasure to have you here at The Sumner. We always try to provide you the best service & maintain our high standards.
We'll look forward to welcome you again...
Many Thanks,

Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I've been staying here every couple of months for 5 years now and it just gets better....home from home. Lovely people, great breakfast and very relaxed. Make sure you also try the Windsor Castle Pub and the Thai upstairs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pdandlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks you for coming back to us at The Sumner once again. We always feel glad to see our customers when they come back to us... We always make sure that each time you visit us, we do something better to make your stay more enjoyable & memorable.
Well let’s hope to welcome you sometime soon again. We always love to hear your feedback from you on trip advisor.
Warm Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews