We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”
Review of The Sumner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sumner Hotel
Ranked #162 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Was delighted with this find! The Sumner is perfectly located just off Marble Arch making it easy to get around but manages to be calm and quiet.
The rooms were clean and spacious by London sizes, there is free WiFi and breakfast was delicious. No tea facilities in the room, instead you can call for this when you would like it and it will be bought to your room- a plus in my eyes as it is normally me who draws the straw for making it.
Staff were helpful and pleasant, providing maps and directions whenever needed...
Couldn't fault this at all and would definitely reccommend it for a short break in London. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Kate,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a praising review. I'll pass your comments to our members of staff, they all will be very pleased on your kind feedback.
We always strive to make our guests to feel at home, welcoming them with a genuine smile and being helpful whenever we can. Here we love to share local information or provide directions to all our guest thoroughly to make them feel comfortable & to save their time as well.
We hope to see you back at The Sumner Hotel soon.


Many Thanks,
Kind Regards

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    438
    56
    23
    7
See reviews for
253
731
92
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Sumner Hotel is perfectly located in the Marble Arch district - walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and subways. The rooms are fairly spacious for a London hotel. Our queen-sized bed was very comfortable. The room was always spotless. Free WiFi was a wonderful asset. Breakfasts were served in a bright, cheerful room and were more than adequate. The only drawback we found was that there was no safe in the room which meant going to the front desk each time we needed something. We later found out that the other categories of rooms(up from basic) do have safes in the room. The best part of the Sumner was its staff. No matter which shift was on, they bent over backwards to be helpful and were always pleasant. Being served coffee or teain the lounge was a real treat.When we were leaving very early for an outing, they prepared breakfast for us even though it was earlier than the normal breakfast time. They even offered to make us breakfast at 3:00 am before our morning flight! My husband had fallen outside somewhere and tore the muscles in his leg. The fellow on shift at the Sumner kept urging us to go to the hospital to look after it. He even researched the hospitals in the area and sent us to the hospital where Kate delivered Prince George. We would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and would definitely stay there again, but in an upgraded room.

Room Tip: Take the upgraded room rather than the basic one if you want to have a safe in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind reviews.
I hope your husband had recieved a proper treatment for his leg injury during your stay.

Your feedback demonstrates that our team is a great asset to the hotel and embracing a proactive attitude, results in never-ending improvements in the way how we run the place, the standards we provide and the overall quality of accommodation and services we offer.
I'll make sure to share your reviews with all my staff, they will be pleased to read thru your feedback.
Thank you once again for your visit at The Sumner & I hope that your huband will get well soon. Please convey our best wishes & kind regards to him.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The sumner hotel is beautiful and homely feel. The manager and the staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and spacious . Delicious and healthy hot breakfast which fills you up for the entire day. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes from Oxford street and marble arch very convenient and reasonable rates for its location. Our stay was lovely as the hotel was so peaceful and relaxing . Free wi- fi connection . Complimentary tea or coffee with cookies n chocolate were offered at any time. It was a lovely stay and we will definitely come again next year in january

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Linda,
Thank you for your kind feedback.
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed our Delicious and healthy hot breakfast. We always strive to make our guests to feel at home.
We always make sure that we try to maintain the high standards at all the time & make our all customers happy & satisfied.
It was a great pleasure to have you all here at The Sumner. We'll look forward to welcome you again...
Many Thanks,

Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel had pretty good reviews and it is very well located just a few hundred yards from Marble Arch. It is a converted house so corridors narrow and different levels. My room was fine, quite big by London standards, very large comfortable bed and clean. There are limited facilities, a lounge where you can get coffee and a breakfast room. Service was good and the breakfast fresh and well prepared in a very lively room, a dramatic change from the rest of the hotel and a bit of a shock first thing in the morning. Not cheap but as said the location was excellent for Oxford street and the dinner I was going to. I've tried a few hotels in London, would I go to this one again, maybe

Room Tip: It is a quite road, if you want a view ask for a room at the front at least you have the streed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Alfred,
Thank you very much for your review.
We are so pleased to know that you had a great time with us.
We have a reputation established over many years for first class service and for going the extra mile, offering a little extra to our most welcome guests.
Your tips are much appreciated by all interested in booking a room at The Sumner, thank you for sharing your suggestions and recommendations to help others.
We always strive to make our guests to feel at home, welcoming them with a genuine smile and being helpful whenever we can.
We hope to see you back at The Sumner Hotel soon.
Many Thanks,
Kind Regards

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I have stayed at the Sumner three times over the last 4 years and always found it reasonably comfortable and very convenient for shopping and taking in all of London's attractions. The rooms are somewhat basic but reasonably comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast room is bare but breakfast is ample, both buffet and a cooked option are offered. The hotel is a little pricey for what is offered, but London is an expensive city and one pays for convenience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Frances,

Thank you very much for your kind reviews.
Your feedback demonstrates that our team is a great asset to the hotel and embracing a proactive attitude, results in never-ending improvements in the way how we run the place, the standards we provide and the overall quality of accommodation and services we offer. We always strive to make our guests to feel at home, welcoming them with a genuine smile and being helpful whenever we can.
Please let me know about your next plan to visit London, I would try my best to offer you the best discounted rates as you are one of our precious returning guest. Hope to see you soon.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards
ROHIT GOGIA
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The bed I slept in was old and very uncomfortable. The staff were friendly, the breakfast OK. As I was getting ready to leave, I caught my trousers on a sharp, dangerous, protruding door catch, causing a huge tear. They belong to an Armani suit that I had purchased a few weeks earlier. I reported the incident to the Manager who came to my room and inspected the door catch. He acknowledged it was dangerous and said he would have an engineer fix it. He told me that I would be fully compensated. I explained that the cost of the suit was £725. He asked to see the label on the inside of my trousers which I had to undo to show him. I said I didn’t want to pay my bill until the matter was resolved. He asked me to trust him, I would be fully compensated but it would be helpful if I would settle the bill for administration purposes. I foolishly paid the bill, stressing to him that I was doing so in good faith. Despite many calls and emails over a period of three weeks, no response. I resorted to going back to the hotel on my next visit to London. The Manager told me he’d resolve the matter with Head office within 24 hours. He emailed to say that the Hotel accepts no responsibility and offered me 30% off my next stay. What a joke. I asked him for the phone number of his ‘Head Office’. He told me that they do not have a telephone and only deal by email. I asked him for the email address and he told me he was not allowed to give it out. Do not stay here under any circumstances.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Bob,

At The Sumner Hotel, we strive to ensure that all our guests have a pleasant stay, with our staff always on hand to cater to individual requirements.

We are sorry to hear about your experience, all our rooms are maintained to ensure utmost comfort and as demonstrated by the majority of positive reviews that we provide a high quality of service, breakfast & facilities & as well as excellent value.
You stayed in our one of the best Queen standard room where we never had any issues. We are one of the best boutique hotel in central London & we never had such incidents in the past.

Having reviewed the matter of concern and a gesture of our goodwill in consideration of the tear in your trousers and courtesy sake, I have offered you a discount at the time of check-out which you have refused to accept.
You had a really high expectation to wave off the whole charges (£195) for your entire one night stay and unfortunately at that time we could not meet your high expectation.
However I can give you an assurance that if you wish to visit us again in future, I would do my best to make your stay more enjoyable & memorable.

Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My husband & I recently stayed at the Sumner hotel for 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Our stay was wonderful. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room on the first floor was spacious and comfortable. The traffic noise from the road below could be heard but didn't bother us at all. The hotel is situated perfectly for walking to Oxford Street and beyond. The breakfast room is small but certainly adequate and the staff at breakfast friendly and attentive. Tea was brought to our room whenever we requested it, which was greatly welcomed after our day exploring London in the cold. We would definitely stay at this charming hotel again and our looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Jane,

Thank you for your kind words as “Perfect location for exploring London”. I hope you both had a great & memorable time here with us for 2x nights on your wedding anniversary. We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#25 of 1,069 in London
517 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#185 of 1,069 in London
208 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#78 of 1,069 in London
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#301 of 1,069 in London
676 reviews
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#220 of 1,069 in London
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Property: The Sumner Hotel
Address: 54 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in London
#94 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Business Hotel in London
#130 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sumner Hotel. The Sumner has the intimate charm of an elegant hotel. Located in the heart of London within strolling distance of Oxford Street shopping, the bright lights of West End, and the tranquility of Hyde Park. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London and features award winning management. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. About The Sumner: The Sumner is a townhouse hotel located in the heart of London, and features the same award winning management as its sister hotel, Five Sumner Place. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. Tradition is combined with modern comfort, and all rooms are designer decorated and luxuriously appointed. They all feature air conditioning, widescreen LCD, LED/3D TVs, free Broadband, as well as all traditional amenities. For those guests wishing to indulge in something extra special, we provide in addition to our standard rooms a number of larger Deluxe rooms that have been custom designed with Italian Ligne Rosset furniture. The hotels centrepiece is an intimate and elegant sitting room with an original fireplace and timber flooring, the perfect place to enjoy a drink before or after any excursion into the centre London, which literally lies on the hotels doorstep. Located less than five minutes walk from Marble Arch Tube station and Oxford Street, a five minute taxi ride from Paddington station from which the Heathrow Express service runs, and five minutes walk from the tranquility of Hyde Park the hotel is positioned so as to provide you with the choicest mix of excitement, convenience and comfort. The Sumner is at the centre of all that is great about London, and our knowledgeable staff will be able to advise you on all the best places to go and the best things to see. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London. Part of an 1830s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards, preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics and combining contemporary luxurious design with warm friendly and attentive service. Sumner Hotel Location: How to find us: By tube: The nearest London Underground station is Marble Arch. From the station turn right on Oxford Street and go first right into Great Cumberland Place. Then turn third left into Upper Berkeley Street and continue for approx 100 m - we are at number 54 on the left. By car: Marble Arch is conveniently situated close to the A5, A40(M), A41 and A4(M) and can easily be reached from the Heathrow, Stansted and Luton airports. The Sumner Hotel is 9.0 Miles away from the London City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing