We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy hotel, stuffy room, manager thats just after the £££”
Review of The Sumner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sumner Hotel
Ranked #147 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Filthy hotel, stuffy room, manager thats just after the £££”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

When we arrived in our room there were thick clumps of black hair all over the bedroom carpet. We spoke to the manager, Rohit who suggested that he would clean the room. I suggested that we moved rooms as the room felt like it could do with a proper clean. We were moved to Room 103 on the front of the hotel. Unfortunately this room also turned out to be less than the 4 star experience we were expecting.

Upon looking at the bed in more detail there were lots of small black hairs present both on top and in the bed, the bed linen and runner were both badly stained.

The bedroom carpet was filthy and there were lots of areas where the carpet requires re-stretching.

The windows are extremely dirty and don’t look like they have been cleaned for some time.

There is no WiFi allocated for room 103. I tried to log on to the ‘Lounge’ WiFi and my phone said it was going to take 6 hours to download a 103mb file!

I turned on the sink tap and the water hits the sink and cascades out all over the bathroom floor.

Nazel matter all over the walls (ewwwww)

The towels need replacing as they feel like cardboard.

There is paint coming off all over the toilet seat, which desperately needs replacing.

The Queen size bed is made up of two hard single mattresses which leaves a hard ridge running down the centre of the bed.

When we got back in from dinner the room was very stuffy so before we went to bed we turned the air conditioning on to try and cool the room down and get some fresh air in (as the windows do not open). We had a wrestles nights sleep waking up all the time as the room was roasting. When I discussed this with the manager I was informed that they don’t turn the air conditioning on in winter!

When I booked the hotel the website clearly states that you pay for the hotel when you check out. I hoped to discuss the above issues with the manager however when I came down in the morning I was informed that the payment for the room was taken at 00:02 in the morning and that he was now unwilling to discuss the above points as he had already received payment for the room.

Very disappointed as we had such high hopes when booking with the hotel.

In addition to the above the hotel emailed me after the stay to ask me to write a review on Trip Advisor. In the email they advised me that “Your feedback may make you eligible to receive the best rates for your next visit at The Sumner Hotel.” Therefore clearly incentivising guests to provide good reviews – not sure if this needs investigating further?

We paid £185 for one night’s stay.

Room Tip: Dont go in room 103, or any of the rooms on the front of the hotel as there are cars tareing down it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SimonHollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear about your unbelievable experience during your few hours stay with us as we couldn’t meet your high expectations. But unfortunately, all your complaints were invalid after reviewing & comparing your comments with other guests comments. Please kindly check our genuine good reviews which has been posted by other guests.
I am really shocked with your long & detailed feedback as I am not at all agreed with your single complaint which you have raised during Check-in, Check-out & on trip advisor as well. I am very much confident about The Sumner's cleaning, new modern decoration, comfortable beds, our services include Wi-Fii and other facilities & services.
You have booked a Standard room with us which was too small for you & just because you didn’t like the room & the size, you started with the huge list of invalid complaints, as a goodwill gesture I have upgraded you to an Executive room on the same price & still you were complaining about everything & expecting from me to leave without paying anything.
I am really sorry about your unbelievable experience here with us but unfortunately we still had to charge you
for your stay.
Thank you for staying with us anyway.
Many Thanks,

Kind Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    434
    55
    23
    7
See reviews for
251
723
92
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This is the best hotel in London. I have stayed in many hotels in London over the years, but this is absolutely the best. Polite and serviceminded staff. The rooms are excellent and the breakfast is wonderful. Thank you The Sumner Hotel !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bente T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Bente,
Thank you for your feedback as - "AMAZING"
So great to know that we are best hotel in London . I'll share your comment with my staff to make them feel proud for their best efforts & service. They'll be glad to know that your stay was amazing here. Hope to see you soon again.
Many Thanks,

Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were in London for three days Christmas shopping and Christmas treats. And it turned out that this lovely boutique hotel was one of the treats!

We were looked after like royalty. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were friendly and very attentive. We could order tea at anytime of the day/ night. They helped with bus directions. Looked after our luggage after we booked out. Were very careful with my glassware that I had bought!

The hotel was welcoming, comfortable and warm. Room was spacious and beautifully decorated, as was the rest of the hotel to a very high standard.

Breakfast was excellent, everything from full English to cheese and fruit. If you wanted it it was there for you. And if it wasn't you could ask.

Although our room was at the front of the hotel it was quiet at night. We slept well.

The hotel is five minutes from Oxford Street/Marble Arch.

This is the best hotel we have stayed in in London.

We are planning our next stay, already!

Room Tip: We had a luxury twin room and it was luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Katina Beale,

Thank you very much for your kind reviews.
We are so delighted to read thru your feedback in detailed on the trip advisor.
We hope you have both reached home safely with all your glassware shopping without any damage. It was a great pleasure to have you both here at The Sumner. We always feel so proud to see our customers when they get so much satisfied with our service.
We would love to welcome you again soon

Many Thanks,

Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Excellent small hotel, perfect location just minutes from Oxford St., the tube and numerous good restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff..loved the complimentary tea and coffee served on a tray in the sitting room when we returned in the evening. Room spotless and importantly very peaceful...great nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Margaret,

Thank you for your kind words as “Excellent small hotel”
I hope you had a great & memorable time here with us.
I am really glad & pleased that you liked & appreciate our service & facilities.
We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Was delighted with this find! The Sumner is perfectly located just off Marble Arch making it easy to get around but manages to be calm and quiet.
The rooms were clean and spacious by London sizes, there is free WiFi and breakfast was delicious. No tea facilities in the room, instead you can call for this when you would like it and it will be bought to your room- a plus in my eyes as it is normally me who draws the straw for making it.
Staff were helpful and pleasant, providing maps and directions whenever needed...
Couldn't fault this at all and would definitely reccommend it for a short break in London. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Kate,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a praising review. I'll pass your comments to our members of staff, they all will be very pleased on your kind feedback.
We always strive to make our guests to feel at home, welcoming them with a genuine smile and being helpful whenever we can. Here we love to share local information or provide directions to all our guest thoroughly to make them feel comfortable & to save their time as well.
We hope to see you back at The Sumner Hotel soon.


Many Thanks,
Kind Regards

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Sumner Hotel is perfectly located in the Marble Arch district - walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and subways. The rooms are fairly spacious for a London hotel. Our queen-sized bed was very comfortable. The room was always spotless. Free WiFi was a wonderful asset. Breakfasts were served in a bright, cheerful room and were more than adequate. The only drawback we found was that there was no safe in the room which meant going to the front desk each time we needed something. We later found out that the other categories of rooms(up from basic) do have safes in the room. The best part of the Sumner was its staff. No matter which shift was on, they bent over backwards to be helpful and were always pleasant. Being served coffee or teain the lounge was a real treat.When we were leaving very early for an outing, they prepared breakfast for us even though it was earlier than the normal breakfast time. They even offered to make us breakfast at 3:00 am before our morning flight! My husband had fallen outside somewhere and tore the muscles in his leg. The fellow on shift at the Sumner kept urging us to go to the hospital to look after it. He even researched the hospitals in the area and sent us to the hospital where Kate delivered Prince George. We would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and would definitely stay there again, but in an upgraded room.

Room Tip: Take the upgraded room rather than the basic one if you want to have a safe in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind reviews.
I hope your husband had recieved a proper treatment for his leg injury during your stay.

Your feedback demonstrates that our team is a great asset to the hotel and embracing a proactive attitude, results in never-ending improvements in the way how we run the place, the standards we provide and the overall quality of accommodation and services we offer.
I'll make sure to share your reviews with all my staff, they will be pleased to read thru your feedback.
Thank you once again for your visit at The Sumner & I hope that your huband will get well soon. Please convey our best wishes & kind regards to him.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The sumner hotel is beautiful and homely feel. The manager and the staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and spacious . Delicious and healthy hot breakfast which fills you up for the entire day. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes from Oxford street and marble arch very convenient and reasonable rates for its location. Our stay was lovely as the hotel was so peaceful and relaxing . Free wi- fi connection . Complimentary tea or coffee with cookies n chocolate were offered at any time. It was a lovely stay and we will definitely come again next year in january

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Linda,
Thank you for your kind feedback.
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed our Delicious and healthy hot breakfast. We always strive to make our guests to feel at home.
We always make sure that we try to maintain the high standards at all the time & make our all customers happy & satisfied.
It was a great pleasure to have you all here at The Sumner. We'll look forward to welcome you again...
Many Thanks,

Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#51 of 1,067 in London
496 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#74 of 1,067 in London
1,559 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#253 of 1,067 in London
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#297 of 1,067 in London
666 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#59 of 1,067 in London
3,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Property: The Sumner Hotel
Address: 54 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in London
#94 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Business Hotel in London
#123 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sumner Hotel. The Sumner has the intimate charm of an elegant hotel. Located in the heart of London within strolling distance of Oxford Street shopping, the bright lights of West End, and the tranquility of Hyde Park. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London and features award winning management. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. About The Sumner: The Sumner is a townhouse hotel located in the heart of London, and features the same award winning management as its sister hotel, Five Sumner Place. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. Tradition is combined with modern comfort, and all rooms are designer decorated and luxuriously appointed. They all feature air conditioning, widescreen LCD, LED/3D TVs, free Broadband, as well as all traditional amenities. For those guests wishing to indulge in something extra special, we provide in addition to our standard rooms a number of larger Deluxe rooms that have been custom designed with Italian Ligne Rosset furniture. The hotels centrepiece is an intimate and elegant sitting room with an original fireplace and timber flooring, the perfect place to enjoy a drink before or after any excursion into the centre London, which literally lies on the hotels doorstep. Located less than five minutes walk from Marble Arch Tube station and Oxford Street, a five minute taxi ride from Paddington station from which the Heathrow Express service runs, and five minutes walk from the tranquility of Hyde Park the hotel is positioned so as to provide you with the choicest mix of excitement, convenience and comfort. The Sumner is at the centre of all that is great about London, and our knowledgeable staff will be able to advise you on all the best places to go and the best things to see. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London. Part of an 1830s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards, preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics and combining contemporary luxurious design with warm friendly and attentive service. Sumner Hotel Location: How to find us: By tube: The nearest London Underground station is Marble Arch. From the station turn right on Oxford Street and go first right into Great Cumberland Place. Then turn third left into Upper Berkeley Street and continue for approx 100 m - we are at number 54 on the left. By car: Marble Arch is conveniently situated close to the A5, A40(M), A41 and A4(M) and can easily be reached from the Heathrow, Stansted and Luton airports. The Sumner Hotel is 9.0 Miles away from the London City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing