We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sumner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sumner Hotel
Ranked #150 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We found The Sumner on Trip Advisor and, after reading the reviews had high hopes. We were not disappointed. Each member of staff was warm, friendly and efficient and we instantly felt at home.

Our room (and the entire hotel) was spotless and very well appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was nice and quiet. The breakfast in the morning had everything you could possibly want and was excellent. They also provided a useful list of nearby places to eat.

We couldn't fault the place at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulus_Maximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review as "Excellent Experience” on tripadvisor.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to make our guests to feel at home.
It was a great pleasure to have you all here at The Sumner. We'll look forward to welcome you again...
Many Thanks,

Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    431
    54
    23
    7
See reviews for
252
719
92
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed for 4 nights -4 guys in 2 rooms for a fun soccer trip in London just this week (mid march), we picked it based on trip advisor's rating as we always do and it was a great choice. This is a boutique hotel in perfect location in London (right near the Hyde Park and Oxford). The service was excellent – chauffer service was right on time, the staff was friendly and welcoming and they helped us with all our questions and requests. We think price is reasonable for London (which is quite expensive) and breakfast was generous. Rooms were clean, and in general the hotel’s atmosphere was wonderful. I'm not sure when will we be back but we sure hope to stay here again and we will recommend it to all our friends

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ofiraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very very much for your awesome review. We are so very glad that you liked our services. The hotel is indeed very well located near Hyde Park and Oxford Street. We have tried to keep our prices as low as possible in comparison to other hotels in London and yet we try to provide our guests the best services in town. We would be glad to welcome you at the hotel again.

Best regards,
Rachit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Sumner met our needs and hopes for our four-day visit to London very nicely. My son and I found the hotel welcoming, attractive, clean and comfortable. Good mattresses, good shower, outstanding breakfast downstairs each morning, and a location convenient to a tube station--the hotel served as a fantastic home base for exploring London. Also, the staff proved most helpful in pointing us to area restaurants and more than once provided good directions and tips for travel in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very nice review. We are happy that our services at the hotel met your expectations completely. Maintaining the cleanliness has always been our first priority, while we always replace the mattresses before their age as we want our guests to get a very comfortable sleep. Thank you for recommending our hotel.

Best Regards,
Rachit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary in London, during part of which we stayed at the Sumner. Despite being offered an upgrade at no further cost, we decided stay in the room originally booked, as it was a Saturday and we treasure a good night's sleep. Our room was very nicely decorated and comfortable if a little bijou but we could have accepted the upgrade which was offered. Breakfast was also very good. With all that, the rates being charged were exceptionally reasonable for a capital city. There is pre-bookable NCP car parking about 100 yards away and it just a short pleasant walk to Marble Arch. We will return to and would recommend the Sumner.

Room Tip: Take any upgrade offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all a very very happy wedding anniversary. We are very happy to know that your stay at the Sumner Hotel was indeed very comfortable. The rates that we charge at the Hotel are never too high and we always try to provide our guests world class services. The car parking that you have mentioned about is very safe and you never would have to worry about your vehicle once parked. Thank you for recommending our hotel. We look forward to welcome you at the Hotel once again.

Thanks,

Best Regards,
Rachit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights for our honeymoon. Room 101 was lovely, fabulous shower room. A great selection for the included breakfast, nicely presented in the pleasant breakfast room. It was great to have a tray of tea brought to our room when we returned from a long day sightseeing.
The staff were lovely and friendly and the hotel had a very nice atmosphere. You might miss this hotel as you walk down the street but that would be a mistake it is fabulous!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We love it when our guests love the service at the hotel. It really feels awesome to hear that we are doing a good job. We are happy that you also enjoyed the breakfast. Thank you very much for your review.

Regards,
Rachit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

The Sumner is a beautifully presented small hotel just a few minutes walk from Oxford Street and Hyde Park.

We stayed for 9 nights and found consistently excellent service: very professional and very friendly.

We would certainly stay there again.

Kevin C.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street experience some traffic noise - but Upper Berkeley Street is not a major tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Kevin

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Sumner Hotel. We would love to see you again at the hotel soon.

Regards,
Rachit Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

When we arrived for our one night stay at The Sumner we were greeted by a very friendly lady who gave us all the information for our stay. We had booked a standard queen/twin room which when we entered was not huge, but the perfect size for what was needed. It had a great bathroom with a lovely powerful shower. The beds were very comfortable and warm, and as the room was situated at the back of the hotel it was very quiet. You could open the window and not be disturbed. We went out for the evening and returned around 10pm. We were greeted by another very friendly member of staff who provided us with a beautifully presented complimentary cup of tea in the lounge, where free snacks are also available. The next morning we had breakfast in the very cooly decorated basement breakfast room where a hot breakfast was available, alongside fresh fruit, breads, teas, coffee and juices. All in all, I can't fault the hotel whatsoever. A really great choice for a trip to london as within a minutes walk from the hotel you can be at marble arch, park lane or strolling down Oxford street. Great central location in a lovely hotel for a great price. I would definitely recommend and stay again :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dommoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for the lovely review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel . Also i would love to give the staff a thumbs up for making it comfortable stay for you. The hotel is also centrally located and our guests love it more than anything. Also we try to serve our guests the best quality breakfast and drinks. We would definitely like to welcome you again at the hotel.

Regards
Rachit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#65 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#69 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#334 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
The Darlington Hyde Park
#196 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Property: The Sumner Hotel
Address: 54 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in London
#94 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Business Hotel in London
#120 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sumner Hotel. The Sumner has the intimate charm of an elegant hotel. Located in the heart of London within strolling distance of Oxford Street shopping, the bright lights of West End, and the tranquility of Hyde Park. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London and features award winning management. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. About The Sumner: The Sumner is a townhouse hotel located in the heart of London, and features the same award winning management as its sister hotel, Five Sumner Place. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. Tradition is combined with modern comfort, and all rooms are designer decorated and luxuriously appointed. They all feature air conditioning, widescreen LCD, LED/3D TVs, free Broadband, as well as all traditional amenities. For those guests wishing to indulge in something extra special, we provide in addition to our standard rooms a number of larger Deluxe rooms that have been custom designed with Italian Ligne Rosset furniture. The hotels centrepiece is an intimate and elegant sitting room with an original fireplace and timber flooring, the perfect place to enjoy a drink before or after any excursion into the centre London, which literally lies on the hotels doorstep. Located less than five minutes walk from Marble Arch Tube station and Oxford Street, a five minute taxi ride from Paddington station from which the Heathrow Express service runs, and five minutes walk from the tranquility of Hyde Park the hotel is positioned so as to provide you with the choicest mix of excitement, convenience and comfort. The Sumner is at the centre of all that is great about London, and our knowledgeable staff will be able to advise you on all the best places to go and the best things to see. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London. Part of an 1830s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards, preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics and combining contemporary luxurious design with warm friendly and attentive service. Sumner Hotel Location: How to find us: By tube: The nearest London Underground station is Marble Arch. From the station turn right on Oxford Street and go first right into Great Cumberland Place. Then turn third left into Upper Berkeley Street and continue for approx 100 m - we are at number 54 on the left. By car: Marble Arch is conveniently situated close to the A5, A40(M), A41 and A4(M) and can easily be reached from the Heathrow, Stansted and Luton airports. The Sumner Hotel is 9.0 Miles away from the London City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing