We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location”
Review of The Sumner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sumner Hotel
Ranked #147 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“fantastic location”
Reviewed 19 October 2008

September 4th
We spent 3 night at the Sumner and would book there again.
The staff were professional and helpful. Our room was large for European standards, big king size bed.
Everything was clean and well cared for.
The breakfasts were substantial, containing hot and cold items.
We could walk to Oxford street and explore alot of the city on foot from this location. Great little pub next door.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rootsandwings55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    434
    55
    23
    7
See reviews for
251
723
92
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2008

Contacted the Sumner after reading all the excellent Trip Advisor reviews. Right away I knew we had made the right choice because of the efficient, courteous and professional manner in which they corresponded with us.

We stayed 5 wonderful nights in a spacious and most comfortable king room. The driver and car we requested was right there to meet us after customs at Heathrow and take us to the hotel. The location was great...it took us about 3 minutes to walk to the Marble Arch Tube Station. (If you are going to ride the tube quite a bit as we did, I suggest purchasing Oyster Cards before you go. They reduce the fare for each ride per person from 4 pounds to 1 1/2 pounds. You can purchase them online from the Visit Britain website). There are several restaurants within two to six blocks of the hotel...I would recommend Prezzo and Seaport...they were both excellent...Prezzo very reasonably priced and Seaport a little expensive but well worth it. You are also only two blocks from beautiful Hyde Park, where you can walk forever.

We paid 145 pounds per night and besides the lovely room, that also included a very nice breakfast with both hot and cold items, Wi-Fi in the room, a computer with internet access in the lobby, room service at anytime for tea or coffee, and the assistance of one of the most helpful staffs we have encountered anywhere in the world for absolutely anything. You can pay twice that in London and get a tiny room with a cold breakfast in a not so good location and then have to pay extra for computer access.

The bathroom had a shower only, which we prefer, with fantastic water pressure, instant hot water, nice toiletries and soft, fluffy towels. The room had both heat and AC, both of which you could adjust to suit you. We had two floor to ceiling 12ft high windows, which you could open, but when closed you could not hear the street traffic.

I can't imagine a more pefect place to stay in London..we will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location, Staff, Comfort
  • Disliked — Didn't dislike anything
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GoGoPDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

Had a lovely 5 day stay starting with a car pick up at the Heathrow that the hotel arranged for us which was fantastic as London greeted with pouring rain ! Had a king room on the top floor which was a great size and 130 GB per night was a good price. Lovley furnitures, manchster and wall mounted flat screen. An extra bonus was the windows open so fresh air can come in ! The staff were helpful, the breakfast (included) was great (met some nice people) and having a free computer in the lounge was great for checking emails. Location was the best.

Great Middle Eastern supermarket down the road, restaurants near by, can walk to the tube and we even walked acorss Hyde park to Harrods !

(My tiny little concern was that the shower was claustrophobic as the door nearly goes to ceiling heigth and the steam engulfs you however open the door a little gulp air and off you go again ( a bath would have been nice but no room). The heating of the room was questionable (we expressed our concern and a staff member felt the cold air blowing out) as the reverse cycle only blows cool air not hot too and the wall heaters are controlled elsewhere.Lovely blankets were forthcoming but should not have been needed)

However these are meant to be minute comments and we loved the place and without a doubt we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolatefriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolland, CT USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

If you're looking for super value, incredible service and great accommodations in London, this is the place. My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Sumner and the staff was simply fabulous in helping out with our needs, from theater tickets to directions. The gentleman at the front desk who greeted us, Mark, made us feel very welcome. The room was super clean and comfortable. Also very close to an Underground station where you can go anywhere in London and beyond. Great breakfast every morning, except they close a bit early (no biggie). Even offered to have breakfast ready on the morning we left. Next time, we're in London, the Sumner will surely be our hotel destination. Our only complaint is that we could not find good nearby pubs after our late nights on the town but we never inquired with the Sumner staff.

  • Liked — The staff service
  • Disliked — Spotty wireless internet access
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RANOBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

We stayed here for four nights in a regular room and we would go back in a heartbeat! Comfortable room, nice breakfast, friendly staff and a great location - not to mention a reasonable rate for London. We will definetly recommend the Sumner to our friends and family.

Dova and Kacee Jones

  • Liked — Friendly and attentive help.
  • Disliked — Really no complaints
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dovalevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

I stayed here for 2 nights in a King room. Everything was great except for the lack of hot water one morning. Given the rave reviews on this site for the hotel, I believe this was an isolated incident, but it does make it difficult for me to want to stay there again, especially as it caused me a lot of inconvenience & the staff provided no apology. Yes, London hotel rooms are very expensive & this hotel is practically a bargain in that context, but for US$320/night I would at least expect hot water when I need it.

My room was on the 3rd floor, spacious, well lit with 2 windows overlooking the street, & quiet. The bed was incredibly comfortable, with very soft sheets. There were many cable channels available on the flat screen TV. The main downside was the bathroom - tiny, with a tiny stall shower. One morning, I found there was no hot water; 5 minutes after I called down to reception, I was told that one of the boilers had been turned off but had now been turned back on. I waited 20 minutes for the water to heat up & couldn't wait any longer, as at that point I was already 30 minutes late for my appointment. So I took a barely lukewarm shower. No apologies from reception.

The hotel's public areas are very nicely decorated, in a stylish, muted fashion, with a comfortable drawing room. The staff was nice if a bit stiff. The location is great if you need to be near Marble Arch or Oxford St; the street itself is nice & quiet. The room key also opens the front door, which is very convenient but also feels secure. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as an alternative to a big hotel. My only (significant) problem was with the hot water.

  • Liked — Location, comfortable beds, nice townhouse feel
  • Disliked — No hot water one morning & no apologies for the inconvenience
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IPGHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Finding a hotel that is reasonably priced in London is incredibly difficult. There seem to be either very expensive or inexpensive yet sketchy hotels. The Sumner is moderately priced by very expensive London standards and is nicely located near the Marble Arch tube station. The hotel is located on a quiet street full of hotels that don't look nearly as nice as The Sumner. The hotel itself is well-appointed with comfortable rooms, a friendly staff and complementary breakfast. The room was spotless, quite large, and relatively quiet. The pros of the hotel are: it feels like (and is) a higher end boutique hotel, great location, reasonable room rate, staff, clean and modern rooms. I would definitely stay at The Sumner on a return visit.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank histtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#51 of 1,067 in London
496 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#74 of 1,067 in London
1,559 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#253 of 1,067 in London
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#297 of 1,067 in London
664 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#59 of 1,067 in London
3,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Property: The Sumner Hotel
Address: 54 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in London
#94 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Business Hotel in London
#123 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sumner Hotel. The Sumner has the intimate charm of an elegant hotel. Located in the heart of London within strolling distance of Oxford Street shopping, the bright lights of West End, and the tranquility of Hyde Park. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London and features award winning management. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. About The Sumner: The Sumner is a townhouse hotel located in the heart of London, and features the same award winning management as its sister hotel, Five Sumner Place. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. Tradition is combined with modern comfort, and all rooms are designer decorated and luxuriously appointed. They all feature air conditioning, widescreen LCD, LED/3D TVs, free Broadband, as well as all traditional amenities. For those guests wishing to indulge in something extra special, we provide in addition to our standard rooms a number of larger Deluxe rooms that have been custom designed with Italian Ligne Rosset furniture. The hotels centrepiece is an intimate and elegant sitting room with an original fireplace and timber flooring, the perfect place to enjoy a drink before or after any excursion into the centre London, which literally lies on the hotels doorstep. Located less than five minutes walk from Marble Arch Tube station and Oxford Street, a five minute taxi ride from Paddington station from which the Heathrow Express service runs, and five minutes walk from the tranquility of Hyde Park the hotel is positioned so as to provide you with the choicest mix of excitement, convenience and comfort. The Sumner is at the centre of all that is great about London, and our knowledgeable staff will be able to advise you on all the best places to go and the best things to see. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London. Part of an 1830s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards, preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics and combining contemporary luxurious design with warm friendly and attentive service. Sumner Hotel Location: How to find us: By tube: The nearest London Underground station is Marble Arch. From the station turn right on Oxford Street and go first right into Great Cumberland Place. Then turn third left into Upper Berkeley Street and continue for approx 100 m - we are at number 54 on the left. By car: Marble Arch is conveniently situated close to the A5, A40(M), A41 and A4(M) and can easily be reached from the Heathrow, Stansted and Luton airports. The Sumner Hotel is 9.0 Miles away from the London City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing