We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful choice”
Review of The Sumner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sumner Hotel
Ranked #160 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2008

The Sumner was a perfect choice for comfort, location and service and the price with the the Rick Steves discount was excellent. We had a standard room which was in the back which was very quiet and of a good size. The many buses that serve the area are terrific for a first time visitor and good for sightseeing as well as getting where you want to go.The tube is good if you are in a hurry if the lines are working properly. We found good restaurants nearby - Prezzo and the Spaghetti House. The prepared food at Marks and Spencers is as good as all our London friends been telling us. The Sumner staff were always pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was more than ample. Having tea served in our room or the lounge at any time of day or night really was wonderful especially after a long day of touring.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,053 - 1,059 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2008

What a magnificent little jewel. We loved the Sumner and the service was outstanding. We could absolutely not ask for more! This hotel is warm, charming and beautiful. Our room was very spacious and well equipped, the attention to detail was evident throughout the hotel. We felt so at home we did not want to leave. It is spotless, and the breakfast was lovely with many choices. The location was superb and very handy to many conveniences. You will not find anything like it for the very affordable price charged. We cannot say enough about this hotel and will certainly stay there the next time we are in London. We have already recommended it to many friends in Canada. Mark was awesome and Peter was wonderful, they were so kind and helpful it made our stay enjoyable. It has internet available for use 24hours. The bathroom was also very comfortable and spacious. Many thanks to the owners for caring so much, it shows! Sincerely, David and Marcella Abugov, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pozzuolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

Spent one night at the Sumner in London on our way back home from Europe trip. The room, a deluxe, was delightful - surprisingly large and airy for a London hotel. It is very well fitted out with a wonderful comfortable bed and the bathroom was well accomodated too.

Breakfast was included in the rate, which also was surprisingly reasonable by London standards, and the breakfast fare was very good.

Also enjoyed the comfortable and large guest lounge and really appreciated having a dedicated guest computer with free internet access.

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SpikeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

My husband and I recently stayed for 3 nights at the Sumner Hotel. The hotel is very modern and clean and our bedroom was like a haven after a busy day siteseeing in London. We felt very safe staying there. The buffet breakfast was good value. The staff were very helpful - they even arranged theatre tickets for us. Nothing was too much trouble. The position of the hotel is great, close to the busy shopping precinct of Oxford Street and close to the peace and fresh air of Hyde Park. Plenty of restaurants, cafes & pubs nearby. Also the Odeon picture theatre just around the corner in case you want to sit down for a couple of hours rest and catch the latest movies. Of course the Marble Arch tube station is very handy. I would definitely recommend the Sumner Hotel to anyone who wants to stay in a small, quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GoldCoastHetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

This hotel was one of the best I've stayed in on my last several trips to Europe. The location is great, a sort of quiet area but close to everything plus the Marble Arch underground is only a few blocks away. The staff were extremely curteous and the room was fairly big as far as European standards go. It was very clean, had free internet service in the lobby level, and the hot breakfast which was included I thought was superb. The beds were fairly comfortable as well which is a rarity in most hotels I've stayed. For the price this hotel was a great deal and I for sure would come back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

September 4th
We spent 3 night at the Sumner and would book there again.
The staff were professional and helpful. Our room was large for European standards, big king size bed.
Everything was clean and well cared for.
The breakfasts were substantial, containing hot and cold items.
We could walk to Oxford street and explore alot of the city on foot from this location. Great little pub next door.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rootsandwings55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

Contacted the Sumner after reading all the excellent Trip Advisor reviews. Right away I knew we had made the right choice because of the efficient, courteous and professional manner in which they corresponded with us.

We stayed 5 wonderful nights in a spacious and most comfortable king room. The driver and car we requested was right there to meet us after customs at Heathrow and take us to the hotel. The location was great...it took us about 3 minutes to walk to the Marble Arch Tube Station. (If you are going to ride the tube quite a bit as we did, I suggest purchasing Oyster Cards before you go. They reduce the fare for each ride per person from 4 pounds to 1 1/2 pounds. You can purchase them online from the Visit Britain website). There are several restaurants within two to six blocks of the hotel...I would recommend Prezzo and Seaport...they were both excellent...Prezzo very reasonably priced and Seaport a little expensive but well worth it. You are also only two blocks from beautiful Hyde Park, where you can walk forever.

We paid 145 pounds per night and besides the lovely room, that also included a very nice breakfast with both hot and cold items, Wi-Fi in the room, a computer with internet access in the lobby, room service at anytime for tea or coffee, and the assistance of one of the most helpful staffs we have encountered anywhere in the world for absolutely anything. You can pay twice that in London and get a tiny room with a cold breakfast in a not so good location and then have to pay extra for computer access.

The bathroom had a shower only, which we prefer, with fantastic water pressure, instant hot water, nice toiletries and soft, fluffy towels. The room had both heat and AC, both of which you could adjust to suit you. We had two floor to ceiling 12ft high windows, which you could open, but when closed you could not hear the street traffic.

I can't imagine a more pefect place to stay in London..we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GoGoPDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#184 of 1,076 in London
231 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#34 of 1,076 in London
536 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#303 of 1,076 in London
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#430 of 1,076 in London
682 reviews
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#171 of 1,076 in London
2,001 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#87 of 1,076 in London
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Address: 54 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in London
#94 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Business Hotel in London
#129 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £150 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sumner Hotel. The Sumner has the intimate charm of an elegant hotel. Located in the heart of London within strolling distance of Oxford Street shopping, the bright lights of West End, and the tranquility of Hyde Park. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London and features award winning management. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. About The Sumner: The Sumner is a townhouse hotel located in the heart of London, and features the same award winning management as its sister hotel, Five Sumner Place. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. Tradition is combined with modern comfort, and all rooms are designer decorated and luxuriously appointed. They all feature air conditioning, widescreen LCD, LED/3D TVs, free Broadband, as well as all traditional amenities. For those guests wishing to indulge in something extra special, we provide in addition to our standard rooms a number of larger Deluxe rooms that have been custom designed with Italian Ligne Rosset furniture. The hotels centrepiece is an intimate and elegant sitting room with an original fireplace and timber flooring, the perfect place to enjoy a drink before or after any excursion into the centre London, which literally lies on the hotels doorstep. Located less than five minutes walk from Marble Arch Tube station and Oxford Street, a five minute taxi ride from Paddington station from which the Heathrow Express service runs, and five minutes walk from the tranquility of Hyde Park the hotel is positioned so as to provide you with the choicest mix of excitement, convenience and comfort. The Sumner is at the centre of all that is great about London, and our knowledgeable staff will be able to advise you on all the best places to go and the best things to see. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London. Part of an 1830s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards, preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics and combining contemporary luxurious design with warm friendly and attentive service. Sumner Hotel Location: How to find us: By tube: The nearest London Underground station is Marble Arch. From the station turn right on Oxford Street and go first right into Great Cumberland Place. Then turn third left into Upper Berkeley Street and continue for approx 100 m - we are at number 54 on the left. By car: Marble Arch is conveniently situated close to the A5, A40(M), A41 and A4(M) and can easily be reached from the Heathrow, Stansted and Luton airports. The Sumner Hotel is 9.0 Miles away from the London City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing