We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely London stay”
Review of The Sumner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sumner Hotel
Ranked #229 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Large clean and quiet room at the back of the hotel, only baths in the lower ground floors but the standard in the queen room was good. Staff were friendly and attentive and lovely touch that on arrival we were offered tea or coffee to be brought to the room. The only slight disappointment was no cooked breakfast but what was there was a great selection, fresh and plentiful. All in all a convenient location and to be recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank fificw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words as “A lovely London stay”. Glad to hear that you had a Lovely stay stay with us.
We truly appreciate your feedback which helps us to improve our facilities & services even more.
I am really sorry to hear that you didn't get a chance to have a cooked breakfast during your visit. Everyday we generally serve hot full English breakfast with a huge, different variety of breads, fresh fruits etc. We do normally start from 7:30 am - 10:00am.
Please do let me know about your next visit. I'll make to provide you a special service with all your expectations which has been missed at this time.
I'll forward to welcome you on your next stay in London.
Many Thanks,

Rohit Gogia,
The Sumner Hotel
London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

As luxury travel advisor, I am often asked to find unique properties in great locations that offer terrific service and privacy. The Sumner does not have the standard amenities, such as a pool and hot tub, restaurant, spa and etc. but what it does have is a gorgeous old building (formerly belonging to an embassy) turned hotel left with the original character but updated to allow for guests comfort. Each room is arranged slightly different and on different floors, in different buildings. There are lifts, however, still stairs to climb after arriving on your floor. This is not the hotel for you if you are in a wheelchair, however, it is the property for you if you want unique, first class service, in an excellent location in London. The staff is superb and extremely accommodating. We had four rooms for two nights June 9-11 and absolutely enjoyed every moment of our stay. Breakfast was fresh and cooked to order for us and tea and coffee was always available to us in the lounge. There is a magnificent pub and excellent restaurant next door and a small grocery across the street. Hyde Park is two blocks away and Regents Park is within walking distance. On our trip to Great Britain, we stayed in only five-star properties, castles and manors, except for the Sumner and my client commented that he thought The Sumner was his favorite. When you stay at the Sumner you feel as though you are in your own private home in London! I cannot thank the Manager and staff enough for their kind attention.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs- there is a ground floor room. There is street noise- but that is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Kathy,

Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor.
I am so pleased & touched by heart to read thru your detailed feedback. Really felt great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to take advantage of our most convenient of locations minutes from the tube station and Oxford Street with all of its shops and restaurants and of course of our great & huge selection of breakfast which gives everyone their own choice to start a good & healthy day.

We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner. We believe that only Exceptional service can make a big difference to maintain a good relationship with all the guest.
Our facilities and comfortable rooms are indeed some of the many advantages of staying at our hotel. We truly appreciate your positive feedback and we are grateful for your recommendations.
It was a great pleasure to have you here at The Sumner. We'll look forward to welcome you again..
Many Thanks once again for a lovely detailed feedback.

Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I found this hotel on Trip Advisor and are glad we did! The Sumner is located in a quiet residential area about a five minute walk from the Marble Arch tube stop. Our room was clean, the daily breakfast was satisfying and convenient, and the staff members were very accommodating. I highly recommend a stay at the Sumner!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senorita48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your comments posted on Trip Advisor.
I am truly delighted to hear that the Hotel's central location perfectly suited your requirements.

We have a reputation established over many years for "first class service in first class way" and for going the extra mile, offering a little extra to our most welcome & retuning guests.

I certainly hope that it will not be long until your next visit to The Sumner Hotel.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here in January with a friend for 5 nights. Did a lot of research and chose this hotel because of the reviews about the property, location and value. Really pleased to find that it was all true!

The staff was so welcoming, friendly and always ready to assist in any way they could. They helped make this a wonderful stay. Definitely take advantage of their complimentary breakfast and afternoon tea - such a value with the price of the room.

The property is well-appointed and well-located. The room was very clean and a comfortable size especially by Euro standards; the high ceilings really make a difference - it felt roomy and spacious. We didn't experience any problems with noise as some others had indicated. The bathroom was spotless and modern. The showers are on the small side but appropriate for the property. Our bathroom fan died the second day we were there and while the staff was apologetic, it did take two reminders to get it fixed (or this would have been a 5-star review).

The location is perfect! Everything we wanted to see was either a short walk away or reachable by bus/cab two blocks away.

This will be my "go to" place in London moving forward. The value of the location and hotel property would be enough to make this worth a return trip, but the staff definitely solidify it for me. Kudos and thank you for taking customer experience seriously!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1SnarkyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for rewarded our hotel as “Excellent Hotel and Great Value in London” on Tripadvisor.
London is such a remarkable city, and I totally agree with you that the location of our hotel is in a perfect area, closer to all the tourist destination.
Your feedback demonstrates that our team is a great assets & of all the positive points you mentioned, the most important one is the appraisal of all the staff which have you pointed out here..
I'll make sure to share your reviews with all my staff, they will be pleased to read thru your feedback.
Thank you for staying at The Sumner again & I hope to see you & welcome you sometime soon in future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I spent Eastern at The Sumner Hotel and we were so happy to have chocen it. Management and staff in general did everything they could to assure we were confortable and even were very good at giving us tips to help us with our excursions arround the city. They were really kind to reccomend local restaurants and all of their reccomendations were great. Breakfast was so nice and staff at the kitchen really kind to provide extra care. Our room had a nice size, quiet and had a modern shower.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abinin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words as “Excellent Service and location”. Glad to hear that you were really satisfied during your stay with us.
We do believe that only Exceptional service can make a big difference to maintain a good relationship with all the guest.
Our hotel facilities, comfortable rooms and services are indeed some of the many advantages of staying at our hotel. We truly appreciate your positive feedback and we are grateful for your recommendations.

We are looking forward to having an opportunity to welcome you on your next stay in London.
Many Thanks,

Rohit Gogia,
The Sumner Hotel
London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My friend and I stayed here for the night whilst we attended the Wimbledon championships. The staff were very welcoming on our arrival and we were able to store our luggage as we were very early and obviously not able to check in. We did not check In until later that evening and this was easy and again the evening staff were very friendly. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Loved the mini bar and although we only had a coke we thought the prices were reasonable. The location was excellent and close to some nice bars where we were able to have an evening out. Breakfast was very good, no bacon, although everything else you could have wanted and all tasted lovely. Again very friendly service in the morning.
I would definately recommend this hotel. Often I go to hotels and find them pretentious with unhappy staff, but everyone was so lovely at this hotel and it really felt like a home from home thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robakkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words as “Excellent hotel and great service”. Hope you had a good time at the Wimbledon.
We truly appreciate your positive feedback and we are grateful for your lovely thoughts about our team work & services.
We hope to welcome you at The Sumner on your next trip to London.


Many Thanks,

Rohit Gogia,
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very convenient and lovely location, friendly and helpful staff, small but adequate room with modern shower and AC! Delicious breakfasts with plenty of choices. We very much enjoyed our stay in June and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review - “A pleasant London experience”.
We are so pleased to know that you had a great time with us.
Hope to see you again in future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#33 of 1,077 in London
541 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#237 of 1,077 in London
235 reviews
Pimlico
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#107 of 1,077 in London
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#437 of 1,077 in London
686 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#309 of 1,077 in London
693 reviews
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#165 of 1,077 in London
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Address: 54 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in London
#94 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Business Hotel in London
#169 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £137 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sumner Hotel. The Sumner has the intimate charm of an elegant hotel. Located in the heart of London within strolling distance of Oxford Street shopping, the bright lights of West End, and the tranquility of Hyde Park. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London and features award winning management. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. About The Sumner: The Sumner is a townhouse hotel located in the heart of London, and features the same award winning management as its sister hotel, Five Sumner Place. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. Tradition is combined with modern comfort, and all rooms are designer decorated and luxuriously appointed. They all feature air conditioning, widescreen LCD, LED/3D TVs, free Broadband, as well as all traditional amenities. For those guests wishing to indulge in something extra special, we provide in addition to our standard rooms a number of larger Deluxe rooms that have been custom designed with Italian Ligne Rosset furniture. The hotels centrepiece is an intimate and elegant sitting room with an original fireplace and timber flooring, the perfect place to enjoy a drink before or after any excursion into the centre London, which literally lies on the hotels doorstep. Located less than five minutes walk from Marble Arch Tube station and Oxford Street, a five minute taxi ride from Paddington station from which the Heathrow Express service runs, and five minutes walk from the tranquility of Hyde Park the hotel is positioned so as to provide you with the choicest mix of excitement, convenience and comfort. The Sumner is at the centre of all that is great about London, and our knowledgeable staff will be able to advise you on all the best places to go and the best things to see. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London. Part of an 1830s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards, preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics and combining contemporary luxurious design with warm friendly and attentive service. Sumner Hotel Location: How to find us: By tube: The nearest London Underground station is Marble Arch. From the station turn right on Oxford Street and go first right into Great Cumberland Place. Then turn third left into Upper Berkeley Street and continue for approx 100 m - we are at number 54 on the left. By car: Marble Arch is conveniently situated close to the A5, A40(M), A41 and A4(M) and can easily be reached from the Heathrow, Stansted and Luton airports. The Sumner Hotel is 9.0 Miles away from the London City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing