We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sumner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sumner Hotel
Ranked #139 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my family,It was perfect location,Very clean,Staff was very helpful 24 hours,Breakfast is good,Coffee &tea is 24 hours free .All major attractions are near (Marble arch, Hyde park, Oxford Street . Thanks for everything

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Mike,
I would like to thank you for posting your review as- "Nice hotel".
We are really delighted to know that we were able to provide you with our excellent services & facilities throughout your stay. We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Thank you once again for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    429
    53
    23
    7
See reviews for
251
717
92
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night in July. We took advantage of the hotel's offer to send a car for us at the airport and the fare was very reasonable. We arrived early morning from overnight flight from US and found that our room was available to us for check-in. They were in the midst of their complimentary breakfast and told us that we were welcome to eat. It was totally unexpected and just delightful. The bedroom was large and air conditioned, which was a good thing since London experienced a heat wave while we were there. The staff and management could not have been nicer to us and we would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely & marvelous feedback, your review is noted and appreciated. We are really pleased to hear that you had a Fabulous First Night in London at The Sumner.

It was a great pleasure to have you here at The Sumner. We'll look forward to welcome you again..

Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed this hotel all family in two rooms. Staffs are all so friendly and helpfull they are the best staffs i have ever seen
Breakfast was perfect they served evertday tea to our rooms The main problem about thıs hotel there are some rooms on ground floor and very lower ground floor which we stayed first day . İ was shocked ı comlaint about this to manager he changed our rooms second day then everything was perfect
Make sure that your room shoul be first or up floors
Thank you manager and all staffs who seved us very kindly and helpfull

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank emiromer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Mr Emir,
Thank you for your the effort for writing a comment on Trip advisor,
We truly appreciate your positive & honest feedback.
I am truly delighted to hear that the Hotel's central location perfectly suited your requirements.
We try our level best to make you feel comfortable during your stay.
It was a great pleasure to have you here at The Sumner. We'll look forward to welcome you again..
Warm Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We visited there for two nights last week. Below, we have collected our opinions of this hotel

Pros:
+ We arrived to London from Paris early in the morning. We requested an early check-in before our visit. When we arrived at the hotel, the hotel manager and an another staff member made effort for us getting the room. We also felt very welcomed when we arrived. We stayed at the lounge waiting for our room, which was relaxing experience. We were delighted to receive our room almost three hours before the normal check-in time.

+ The room was spacious, clean, well-lit and cosy. Also, the beds were comfortable. The shower was well-functioned and the towels were comfortable.

+ The decoration was nice and miss birdie fell in love with the windows =).

+ The location is excellent. The Oxford street and the Hyde park is just within the walking distance. The closest metro station is Marble Arch.

+ Train to Bicester village departs from the Marylebone station, which is also within the walking distance.

+ The hotel is relatively small. We felt that this gave us more privacy and increased hospitality.

+ The room had the EU and UK plugs, so no adapter was needed.

Cons:
- The breakfast is okay, but the amount of selection is somewhat concise. We noticed that all the milk products (yoghurt, milk, etc.) were kept in the room temperature without anything, which would keep them cold.

- In the morning we arrived, there was a very helpful and friendly blond waitress, who was smiling and was taking care of the people having breakfast. She even asked how would we liked to have our toast. Unfortunately, we did not see this helpful girl for the rest of our stay. The following two mornings, there were some other ladies, who were not as nearly helpful as the girl the morning before. No toast was offered to us, they never checked, if everything was fine with the people having breakfast. Most of the time they just sat on the back room chatting with each other. No service was available.

- The sound isolation could have been better within the hotel. We were able to hear the bad hangover of our neighbour.

In total, we would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone seeking a good location in London, friendly and helpful staff and a good service in a small hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAndMissBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Birdie,
Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor.
I am so pleased & delighted to read thru your detailed feedback. Really felt great to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to take advantage of our most convenient of locations minutes from the tube station and Oxford Street with all of its shops and restaurants and of course of our great & huge selection of breakfast which gives everyone their own choice to start a good & healthy day.
We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
We truly appreciate your positive feedback and we are grateful for your recommendations.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during breakfast.
We do keep yogurts & milk out from the fridge but we do change them time to time as soon as they gets less colder. But you could have ask our staff to get you the cold items from the fridge.
I am really sorry that you didn't get any toast & we missed to serve you properly.
I'll make sure to talk to my breakfast staff to ensure these mistakes won't be repeat again in future and all our guest can be served properly.
It was a great pleasure to have you here at The Sumner. We'll look forward to welcome you again..
Many Thanks once again for a lovely detailed feedback.

Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very nice boutique hotel, great location. The staff were all very friendly, and the service was excellent! The hotel is only a short, 5 minute walk from Marble Arch station and Hyde Park, and is great base for exploring London.

Room Tip: We were in the basement room, which was big but a little noisy from people entering the hotel above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Lee,
I would like to thank you for posting your review as- "Nice, quiet hotel".
We are really delighted & proud to know that we were able to provide you with our excellent services & facilities throughout your stay. We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Because of our location, everything's so close & walkable around here which is convenient for everyone.
Thank you once again for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

For London a big room, nice bathroom and charming lobby. I paid 190£ which was quite good and their chauffeur service to the airport was cheap and reliable too.
Hyde park is 4 minutes to walk and even the hotel has no restaurant a lot of bars and restaurants are near by

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Puccini-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for posting your feedback on the TripAdvisor - Central location and nice room.
We always try our best to provide you the best customer service & make you feel comfortable through out stay.
Of course, here we have plenty & variety of restaurants & pubs nearby around the hotel & food as well is really delicious in most of the places.

I hope to see you soon again in future.

Many Thanks,
Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This converted townhouse looked and felt a lot more like a residence than a hotel, in a good way. The lobby was a welcoming room in the front of the first floor that had overstuffed chairs and a computer where you could print out things to pick up at registration further back on the same floor. The staff handled all our requests adequately but seemed a bit reserved. Perhaps Americans just expect everyone to be overly friendly?

The location near Marble Arch is near several tube stops and hop-on bus lines, plus all the Oxford Street shopping. I wouldn't call it "centrally located" but there are plenty of things to do nearby and you can walk to most attractions if you don't mind a bit of a hike.

The included "full English breakfast" was great and included plenty of variety both hot and cold. Different things were available on different days, one day was sausage and another had bacon. About the only improvement I could suggest would be to get better breads, but I suppose I've been spoiled by French croissants.

Room Tip: Our party had 3 rooms. Room 200 was in the basement near the breakfast area and was very large, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Dave,
Thanks for your comments posted on Trip Advisor.
I am truly delighted to hear that the Hotel's central location perfectly suited your requirements.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take an advantage of our breakfast which offers a wide range & fresh selection of everything. We appreciate your suggestion with regards to add some French croissants but we are already serving French croissants & different variety of breads on a daily basis.
Our hotel facilities, comfortable rooms and services are indeed some of the many advantages of staying at our hotel.

I certainly hope that it will not be long until your next visit to The Sumner Hotel.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#94 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#68 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#303 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#101 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
The Darlington Hyde Park
#199 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Property: The Sumner Hotel
Address: 54 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in London
#94 Romantic Hotel in London
#115 Luxury Hotel in London
#117 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sumner Hotel. The Sumner has the intimate charm of an elegant hotel. Located in the heart of London within strolling distance of Oxford Street shopping, the bright lights of West End, and the tranquility of Hyde Park. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London and features award winning management. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. About The Sumner: The Sumner is a townhouse hotel located in the heart of London, and features the same award winning management as its sister hotel, Five Sumner Place. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. Tradition is combined with modern comfort, and all rooms are designer decorated and luxuriously appointed. They all feature air conditioning, widescreen LCD, LED/3D TVs, free Broadband, as well as all traditional amenities. For those guests wishing to indulge in something extra special, we provide in addition to our standard rooms a number of larger Deluxe rooms that have been custom designed with Italian Ligne Rosset furniture. The hotels centrepiece is an intimate and elegant sitting room with an original fireplace and timber flooring, the perfect place to enjoy a drink before or after any excursion into the centre London, which literally lies on the hotels doorstep. Located less than five minutes walk from Marble Arch Tube station and Oxford Street, a five minute taxi ride from Paddington station from which the Heathrow Express service runs, and five minutes walk from the tranquility of Hyde Park the hotel is positioned so as to provide you with the choicest mix of excitement, convenience and comfort. The Sumner is at the centre of all that is great about London, and our knowledgeable staff will be able to advise you on all the best places to go and the best things to see. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London. Part of an 1830s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards, preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics and combining contemporary luxurious design with warm friendly and attentive service. Sumner Hotel Location: How to find us: By tube: The nearest London Underground station is Marble Arch. From the station turn right on Oxford Street and go first right into Great Cumberland Place. Then turn third left into Upper Berkeley Street and continue for approx 100 m - we are at number 54 on the left. By car: Marble Arch is conveniently situated close to the A5, A40(M), A41 and A4(M) and can easily be reached from the Heathrow, Stansted and Luton airports. The Sumner Hotel is 9.0 Miles away from the London City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing