We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and welcoming.”
Review of The Sumner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sumner Hotel
Ranked #168 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2009

This hotel is comfortable and stylish, and the staff are friendly and helpful The location is convenient. Marble Arch tube stop for us is a five minute walk, not the 10-15 minutes mentioned in another review. The breakfast is fine, although real fruit juice, rather than flavored water, would have been appreciated. The hotel is clean and well maintained, and we would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdauerbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

998 - 1,004 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2009

I'd have given The Sumner a five star rating had it not been for the fact that they bungled our booking and put us in a first floor room when we'd specifically asked to be at the top of the hotel to avoid street noise. They were, however, good enough to move us on our second day, though it was an inconvenience.
The king size rooms are a very good size for London though the bathrooms are very small - but clean and adequate.
The hotel is small, beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. Staff are professional, efficient and helpful. Breakfast was a bit limited and the hotel would do well to look at this, as well as perhaps considering supply tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms.
The place is a bit of a rabbit warren so be sure to get directions from reception as to which lift to use. Also be prepared to carry your luggage up and down a few stairs.
The Sumner's location is extremely central - about a 5 minute walk to Marble Arch tube station.
Perhaps the most critical factor is the price of the Sumner - truly excellent value for a hotel of this quality in central London.
We'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Very nice and helpful staff. The room was not too small for a small hotel and it had a king side bed. Good breakfast and the internet was available in the lobby. It was about 10-15 minute walk to Marble Arch tube stop. I would recommend this hotel if your are in London. We also got a discount by mentioning Rick Steves' book.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

The staff were so incredibly helpful!! They advised us daily on travel routes and other info. They were incredibly polite and patient as well. The location is very good, a few blocks away from the tube. Fantastic sandwich shop a couple of blocks away. The room was spotless ( although quite small). The bed was the most comfortable bed I've stayed in. It was hard to get up in the morning to go out and tour!!! The hotel itself was clean, neat and quiet. The breakfast was hearty and wonderful. If I went back I would stay here again and I would recommend it to others as well. Congratulations on a job well done!!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rambog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

We completed a transatlantic cruise and ended up in London. We chose the Sumner Hotel based on other reviews. When we checked in early on a Sunday morning, Mark at the desk said our room as not ready and recommended a nice pastry shop for coffee and sweets. Returning about an hour later, our luggage was already in the room. The room was bright and cheerful and so immaculate! For London, this room was fabulous! Breakfasts were outstanding.... they opened the breakfast room for us early because we had to catch a tour bus at 7 am. There is a small pub down the street (said to have been a stopping point for criminals before executions). In addition, there are 3 or 4 Middle Eastern restaurants as well as a wonderful Indian restaurant all located within a 3 block radius. Hyde Park is down the street and the hotel for tour pickups was nearby. Easy to find currency exchanges within the area. While departing, again the hotel was so kind in finding us a reputable way of getting to Heathrow. Mark, if you read this.... thanks for all your help. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelJewels45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We booked the Sumner Hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel is a small boutique hotel located near the Marble Arch. The room was very clean, standard-sized for London, and had all of the amenities including free internet. An excellent market is down the street and the Marble Arch tube is nearby. This hotel is in a residential area, and we felt very safe walking in the evening. The Masons Arms pub, next door, had excellent food that was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lobos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

This is a great, boutique, hotel. After a long flight from Australia, we arrived at the hotel at about 7.00am and we were made to feel very welcome, even at that early hour. We were given access to their cosy lounge (& internet) without a problem and they allowed us to leave our bags at reception whilst we freshened up, checked emails etc and then went around the corner to Oxford street to find breakfast. By the time we got back from breakfast and a quick walk around the area, ie about 10.00am, our room was actually ready - which was a great advantage. it is clearly not a big/commercial hotel, with bars restraurants etc - which actually adds to its charm, but it is placed in one of the best parts of London, so finding good bars & restaurants is not a problem. Room was excellent, breakfast too - highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozblase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#183 of 1,076 in London
231 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#34 of 1,076 in London
536 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#305 of 1,076 in London
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#432 of 1,076 in London
682 reviews
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#172 of 1,076 in London
2,001 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#87 of 1,076 in London
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Address: 54 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in London
#94 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Business Hotel in London
#135 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £150 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sumner Hotel. The Sumner has the intimate charm of an elegant hotel. Located in the heart of London within strolling distance of Oxford Street shopping, the bright lights of West End, and the tranquility of Hyde Park. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London and features award winning management. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. About The Sumner: The Sumner is a townhouse hotel located in the heart of London, and features the same award winning management as its sister hotel, Five Sumner Place. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. Tradition is combined with modern comfort, and all rooms are designer decorated and luxuriously appointed. They all feature air conditioning, widescreen LCD, LED/3D TVs, free Broadband, as well as all traditional amenities. For those guests wishing to indulge in something extra special, we provide in addition to our standard rooms a number of larger Deluxe rooms that have been custom designed with Italian Ligne Rosset furniture. The hotels centrepiece is an intimate and elegant sitting room with an original fireplace and timber flooring, the perfect place to enjoy a drink before or after any excursion into the centre London, which literally lies on the hotels doorstep. Located less than five minutes walk from Marble Arch Tube station and Oxford Street, a five minute taxi ride from Paddington station from which the Heathrow Express service runs, and five minutes walk from the tranquility of Hyde Park the hotel is positioned so as to provide you with the choicest mix of excitement, convenience and comfort. The Sumner is at the centre of all that is great about London, and our knowledgeable staff will be able to advise you on all the best places to go and the best things to see. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London. Part of an 1830s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards, preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics and combining contemporary luxurious design with warm friendly and attentive service. Sumner Hotel Location: How to find us: By tube: The nearest London Underground station is Marble Arch. From the station turn right on Oxford Street and go first right into Great Cumberland Place. Then turn third left into Upper Berkeley Street and continue for approx 100 m - we are at number 54 on the left. By car: Marble Arch is conveniently situated close to the A5, A40(M), A41 and A4(M) and can easily be reached from the Heathrow, Stansted and Luton airports. The Sumner Hotel is 9.0 Miles away from the London City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing