We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the epitome of a boutique hotel”
Review of The Sumner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sumner Hotel
Ranked #147 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the epitome of a boutique hotel”
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We stayed at The Sumner last month for six nights. We had asked for a quiet room andwere allocated a small room facing the rear of the property. Despite its small size, we felt comfortable - decor was simple and stylish. Most importantly for me, it was spotlessly clean. The bathroom fittings were of good quality and again, immaculate.
Reception staff were very relaxed and very keen to please. One member of staff spent quite some time assisting us when we were unable to connect our wireless computer to the internet, for which we were very grateful.
There was a very good range of breakfast food and drink and I am surprised that anyone would find it inadequate as there were juices, cereals, fruits, yoghurts, perfectly cooked scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, pastries, breads, toast and more, all topped off with helpful, happy staff.
The owner/owners/manager of the hotel should be very proud of what they have achieved. I think they must be very good people to work for as tthe staff ensured that the overall experience at the hotel could not be faulted.
Location wise, it was close to restaurants, shopping and major central London attractions.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    434
    55
    23
    7
See reviews for
251
723
92
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

My husband and our 13 year old son recently stayed at The Sumner for a week and have not stopped raving about it. We had a good size room with THE most comfortable hotel bed we have ever slept in. The staff were great, the location was great, the hotel was quiet, and they also serve the freshest breakfast (no overcooked eggs here).

The hotel feels like you are in someone's home as the staff were very discreet, and it is very tastefully furnished. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank goslats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, CA (Bay Area)
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

For our delayed honeymoon, we chose Africa as our destination of choice. But on the way, we flew through London, and we decided to spend 4 days there en route. Sumner Hotel was our choice forwhere to stay, and I have to say, we chose well.

The stay started off a bit rocky. We arrived a bit early, and they do not allow early check-in. With so few rooms, they are always full, so they had to turn over the rooms. We arrived, and after sitting in Hyde Park (right across the street basically), we went back to wait in the waiting area.

There were two other parties waiting as well. Everyone was tired (probably all on the same all-night flight), and the Sumner staff kept assuring us "5 more minutes". To be honest, that was annoying. It was not 5 more minutes - it was like 45 more minutes - and we were tired. But to be fair, they needed to clean the rooms, and they did their best to be accommodating. We were just grumpy.

The rooms themsleves are tastefully decorated, though they are small as is the case in all of London. The bed was comfy, the bathroom was clean and functional, and the window offered at least a partial view over some rooftops.

The breakfast was pretty good, and their beakfast area was actually quite nifty. Considering it was a complimentary breakfast, we were actually quite pleased. A little bacon, some eggs, and random fruits and juices made every day start off a little better.

The service there was actually quite remarkable. We needed help setting up the touristy things, and they were very helpful in arranging transports and getting tickets and whatnot. I needed to head to my company's work office in London, and they arranged for a private car for me. It was all quite good.

The best part was the location. About 5 minutes from the tube, it was easy to get around. And there were plenty of things to do in the immediate area, and we found a couple of nice places to eat within walking distance.

The Sumner is good value, very quaint, and worth the stay. It is more functional then stylish, but for what we needed, I think we chose about as well as we could have.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BurgerMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I booked the Sumner for my husband and I for two nights following a month of traveling around the UK,well it proved to be an oasis. Everything said on this site was true,great rooms,helpful staff,lovely buffet breakfast,perfect location,relaxing lounge area and QUIET!
We will definitely return! Soon I hope!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelleySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Although labeled as a hotel, this posh flat is more like a bed and breakfast. Very clean with ample room and an excellent shower, this hotel makes for a great stay. Other notable advantages include an outstanding staff, LCD TV's, and a five minute walk to the tube-Marble Arch. I would defintiely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GruffyGround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, QC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Frankly this is the nicest hotel we've been in Europe so far and even in North America (excluding some luxury resorts in the Caribbean e.g. Sandals). Courteous almost over polite staff, and knowledgeable.
We had Room 201 (a deluxe room) and every thing was perfect from mattress to bathroom to looks. Conveniently located close to Marble Arch (including its tube station), close to shops on Oxford, Hyde Park, etc.
Very good breakfast in a small basement room.
We were there only for one night and it was perfect for us. Would return any time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yymca6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We just came back from a very nice weekend in London. We have been in London a lot over the years but for the first time we enjoyed the hotel :-) The room where great, clean and airy. The staf was nice and helpfull and of cours the location is perfect. This will be our choice the next time too.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skipper009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#51 of 1,067 in London
496 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#74 of 1,067 in London
1,559 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#253 of 1,067 in London
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#297 of 1,067 in London
666 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#59 of 1,067 in London
3,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Property: The Sumner Hotel
Address: 54 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in London
#71 Family Hotel in London
#94 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sumner Hotel. The Sumner has the intimate charm of an elegant hotel. Located in the heart of London within strolling distance of Oxford Street shopping, the bright lights of West End, and the tranquility of Hyde Park. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London and features award winning management. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. About The Sumner: The Sumner is a townhouse hotel located in the heart of London, and features the same award winning management as its sister hotel, Five Sumner Place. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. Tradition is combined with modern comfort, and all rooms are designer decorated and luxuriously appointed. They all feature air conditioning, widescreen LCD, LED/3D TVs, free Broadband, as well as all traditional amenities. For those guests wishing to indulge in something extra special, we provide in addition to our standard rooms a number of larger Deluxe rooms that have been custom designed with Italian Ligne Rosset furniture. The hotels centrepiece is an intimate and elegant sitting room with an original fireplace and timber flooring, the perfect place to enjoy a drink before or after any excursion into the centre London, which literally lies on the hotels doorstep. Located less than five minutes walk from Marble Arch Tube station and Oxford Street, a five minute taxi ride from Paddington station from which the Heathrow Express service runs, and five minutes walk from the tranquility of Hyde Park the hotel is positioned so as to provide you with the choicest mix of excitement, convenience and comfort. The Sumner is at the centre of all that is great about London, and our knowledgeable staff will be able to advise you on all the best places to go and the best things to see. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London. Part of an 1830s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards, preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics and combining contemporary luxurious design with warm friendly and attentive service. Sumner Hotel Location: How to find us: By tube: The nearest London Underground station is Marble Arch. From the station turn right on Oxford Street and go first right into Great Cumberland Place. Then turn third left into Upper Berkeley Street and continue for approx 100 m - we are at number 54 on the left. By car: Marble Arch is conveniently situated close to the A5, A40(M), A41 and A4(M) and can easily be reached from the Heathrow, Stansted and Luton airports. The Sumner Hotel is 9.0 Miles away from the London City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing