We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandalay Picton House Hotel
Ranked #265 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The hotel staff are very friendly, they welcomed us with open arms. Have chit chat with them asking about our stay and trip. The hotel was cleaned everyday. Have a good times staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeeraHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Mandalay Picton House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

This hotel was recommended to us by some friends in Norway. The area is nice and quiet and with Edgware Road close by, you get to see parts of London one would not have seen staying at more central hotels.

The staff is very friendly, and the prices are not too bad. I did not like the room at all. Fabric filled with dust and the strangest lavatory ever. It's like a spaceship cubicle in the wall. Hard to describe really, and might as an oddity be worth a stay in itself. Never seen this before. But very small and poorly ventilated. As soon as it gets wet in there your room will smell like a wet dog.

Breakfast was interesting. Not what I was expecting, but very tasty nonetheless.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldWide-EBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

A small family run hotel in Paddington. Two minute walk from Paddington Station. Bus stop around the corner. Rooms are small as with all old victorian buildings which have been converted to accomodate ensuite facilites. Yes rooms are small, as is the bathroom but this is what you get in this style of housing. Owners/family are very very friendly and very very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for then. Breakfast was basic but enough. Eggs, Toast, Jam, Juice, Bananas, Cereal etc;. Nothing flash but enough to start your day. Yes there are steps as I said, these are old victorian buildings which have very limited building/renovation regulations to allow for any changes and are very strict. Don't stay here if you don't like small rooms or stairs. Stay here if you are out all day and only want a place to rest your head and feet after a tiring day sightseeing and able to have your OWN bathroom/shower facilities. You won't have too much room to turn around but it was fun. Coffee/Tea making facilities in room + hanging space + draws and a small table in between the two beds (twin room). Giving it a 5 star because of the location to station/metro/bus and owners hospitality. (4 star for space/size). Coffee shop around the corner and pubs/cafes/restaurants within 5 mins walk. Also value/price for london was extremely reasonable I found anyway. Yes it is on the outer skirts of central london but the double decker buses took about 20 minutes to trafalgar square. choose this hotel also because of the heathrow-paddington express train service. (15 mins) i wanted to get from the airport to my accommodation as soon as possible, as we arrived early morning. in a street with many accommodation options but found this to be the cheapest at the time. Glad we did as again the hospitality was excellent. Old yes, but this is London and a lovely old Victorian Terrace House. Don't complain about the size of the room/shower or the steps as I have already warned you! Oh. and the breakfast room is down stairs from reception.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozveildancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Family of 4, stayed for 4 nights. The most friendly and hostile staff we have met. They welcomed us with a smile and were very helpful to find information about places to see, timetables for evening song, booked transportation etc. The room were better than expected at this low price, clean and tidy. They also run a great budget restaurant a little walk away, which we absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petterdax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The positive side is the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners/staff, who were lovely and full of good intentions, which made up for the lack in other areas. When I arrived my case was carried up the stairs to the third floor for me and the remote control for the tv which didn't work was quickly replaced - although the replacement didn't work as it should have but was ok. There was a very limited choice of tv stations and reception wasn't great. I had chosen a third floor room over a basement one when booking but wondered after climbing from the breakfast room in the basement to my room each morning whether I had made the right decision! But good for fitness!

I was in a back room, which had constant drone day and night from the extractors from the kitchens below. There were a few niggles in the room which could be so easily sorted and would make it so much better, but for the price one shouldn't expect a mansion! There was a buffet breakfast with an interesting selection, but the Nice biscuits seemed a bit out of place! An extra cereal to choose from would have been better. It was nice that the owner chatted to guests over breakfast. Gives the personal touch.

The en suite was very small - I could have washed while sitting on the loo! But it was adequate. There was nowhere to put a towel, so had to leave that on the bed while washing etc. There was a small bar of soap provided but that was all. That presumably had been used by the previous occupant as it was unwrapped and was stuck to the sink!

I would stay here again because of the friendliness of the owners/staff and the location is great - easy access to both Paddington station and Hyde Park.

Room Tip: Third floor for the fit only!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anndante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This cozy little B&B is right in the heart of London, just a 5-6 minutes walk from one of the biggest train and tube stations-Paddington Station. What this means is that you are close to most of the attractions in London with minimum line changes and low travelling time. Also, the Heathrow Express runs through Paddington (I think it starts there) making it really convenient.

And all this is before you get there! I loooved being greeted by name as soon as we walked in by the ever enthusiastic Gary (with whom I'd corresponded during booking). It was such a refreshing change from the usual impersonal check-in experience at a hotel. It was our first time at a B&B and we were definitely charmed. The sheer effort and care than has been put into every aspect of this place by the brother duo of Gary and Dwight shows and was much appreciated by us. The rooms aren't too big, but then this is London. And at this price and location, there really isn't anything to complain.

We're definitely staying here whenever we are in London again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outandaboutpriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Good location, just a couple of minutes from paddington tube station. the area is quiet for being in such a central location.
rooms a bit dated,but clean and comfy. bathroom is good. Did not really like the breakfast, but there are lots of places in the area to choose from. small tv and only a few working channels. Our beds was made every morning. we could not hear our nabours wich we really liked!
i would stay here again! All the staff we met were lovely!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reiserora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Caring Hotel
#537 of 1,072 in London
786 reviews
Classic Hyde Park Hotel
#195 of 563 in London
109 reviews
Bloomsbury
Macdonald Hotel
Macdonald Hotel
#47 of 563 in London
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#46 of 563 in London
601 reviews
Nayland Hotel
#335 of 563 in London
495 reviews
South Kensington
Merlyn Court Hotel
Merlyn Court Hotel
#143 of 563 in London
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Picton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Picton House Hotel

Address: 122 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £66 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mandalay Picton House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mandalay Picton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing