We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!! No regrets as the location for fantastic and the staff was friendly......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandalay Picton House Hotel
Ranked #238 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent!! No regrets as the location for fantastic and the staff was friendly......”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Location is superb with bus station and tube station all within walking distance same goes for restaurants and tesco express was nearby as well....definitely no regrets. Towels were changed everyday and rooms were cleaned everyday as well. This was one of our main concern for a budget hotel but Mandalay Picton House Hotel was well kept and it was clean!Bravo!!:) Rooms were small especially the toilet which was cute where u can save time and do your business take bath and wash your face at one go..... hahaa......dat was why i said 'cute' :) Overall a good stay with no regrets to it :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica9382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    78
    27
    19
    10
See reviews for
63
59
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

London is a big crazy city with a million or more beds in wide price ranges, but the Mandalay Picton House is one in a million when it comes to warm welcome and genuine personality. There are few 'creature comforts' beyond clean towels and a bar of soap, the staircase is narrow and you won't want to bring your boss there for a drink after your high-profile business meeting...there is no bar... but Gary will greet you like a returning cousin on your first visit, has cold bottled water in a cooler, will give you a fan on a warm, still afternoon. He will take calls from your friends and deliver the message the moment you walk in. Dwight will recommend the best Indian restaurant, the best afternoon walking tour, and other family members will prepare a breakfast of delicious fresh eggs with crisp toast and give you a cheery "Good Morning" in a variety of languages, including Norwegian and Burmese. Do not mistake professional politeness for their genuine good will...this, along with a clean and comfortable bed, an excellent shower...in such close proximity to Paddinton Station...makes the Mandalay Picton stand at the top of those million beds.

Room Tip: Having only visited once, we recommend #5 unless you really need a wide-open window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed for a week in this bed & breakfast and our overall experience was good;
Gary is very friendly and greet us very nice as we walked in the hotel and knew already our names and our expected time of arrival.
The location is perfect, walking distance for the metro station and various restaurants and pubs near by.
For the price paid, you get what you pay; the rooms are quite small, specially the bathroom but you get fresh towels every morning and a OK breakfast.

I would recommend this hotel for future travelers on a budget as London is quite expensive.

Tip: Try their restaurant that they own a few blocks away. Delicious Food at a really cheap price!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pochi0021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This B&B is extremely well priced for its location, about 5 minutes walk away from Paddington station. It is clean but basic. Towels are changed everyday, but only soap is provided in terms of amenities.The room and bathroom are typical of London hotels: small and compact. A big sized person would have difficulty managing in the shower as it is really quite tiny even for an average sized person. Even the bed is rather small (and the mattress a little softer than I would like), but owners Dwight and Gary go out of their way to try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Requests for a hair dryer, extra pillows, or even an extra bed were readily met with a smile and an easy going "No problem!" Breakfast is decent, keep in mind that the family is Muslim, so I don't think the cold cuts are pork based. Based on price alone, I would come back to stay (we stayed a total of 9 nights). What makes it even more of a certainty is the warmth and friendliness of Dwight and Gary.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S1m0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed three nights at the Mandalay Picton House Hotel from 14-16 September 2011, after reading the positive reviews on the Trip Advisor website. Hotels are not an important part of our travel ethos, so long as they are relatively clean and we have an en suite. Travel is about being active, not lounging around a resort hotel, so we tend toward value and location rather than luxury. In this way, the Mandalay Picton Hotel fits the bill. The rooms are small, but we found the bathroom comical in its teeny tininess. You could sit on the toilet and take a shower - all at the same time! Breakfast was interesting, especially if you like cut-up hot dogs with your morning meal (optional, of course!). However, the staff are really friendly and helpful. In fact, we had some difficulty finding the hotel, and a hotel staff member rescued us from our geographical confusion by personally leading us to our destination. It's only for the customer service that I score it 4/5, without that crucial element it would barely score a 3/5.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The hotel staff are very friendly, they welcomed us with open arms. Have chit chat with them asking about our stay and trip. The hotel was cleaned everyday. Have a good times staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeeraHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This hotel was recommended to us by some friends in Norway. The area is nice and quiet and with Edgware Road close by, you get to see parts of London one would not have seen staying at more central hotels.

The staff is very friendly, and the prices are not too bad. I did not like the room at all. Fabric filled with dust and the strangest lavatory ever. It's like a spaceship cubicle in the wall. Hard to describe really, and might as an oddity be worth a stay in itself. Never seen this before. But very small and poorly ventilated. As soon as it gets wet in there your room will smell like a wet dog.

Breakfast was interesting. Not what I was expecting, but very tasty nonetheless.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldWide-EBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Belvedere
#652 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Athena Hotel
#666 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
#733 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Kadimah Hotel
Kadimah Hotel
#201 of 556 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#48 of 556 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Earls Court
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#125 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Picton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Picton House Hotel

Property: Mandalay Picton House Hotel
Address: 122 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mandalay Picton House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Mandalay Picton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing