We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcome, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandalay Picton House Hotel
Ranked #265 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

The welcome couldn't have been friendlier, the owners are genuinely interested in their guests and can't do enough to help.

Our triple room was small, but quite adequate and clean. For the location and the welcome you'll not find better value in central London.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank yorkshirepudding70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Mandalay Picton House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

As in previous reviews, i agree the location is excellent. With easy access to the train station and several great restaurants. The owners are kind folks and were very helpful. However, with several chains now coming into the Sussex Gardens area, it would benefit them to improve the conditions of their rooms. I can handle a small room; what i cant handle are horrible sheets, pillows that are almost competely flat, bedspread that had to be at least 10 years old, mattresses that were clearly 10 years old. Paint the room, put in some new lighting, and replace warn carpet. It would only cost you about 1000 a room to update your place. Your a success in your own right; why not reinvest in your property, or, folks will just go to the Best Western and Days Inn next door.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Lori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslolondon, Owner at Mandalay Picton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

It is the privilege of a customer to write a review and give their opinion . If a customer is not happy with anything the customer should inform the management to let them explain and fix the matter like changing a towel, set of linen , pillow or even a room if available. The customer can even check out and ask for refund . But telling the management how to run their business and comparing with highly priced branded hotels is not a review or an opinion . It is a personal challenge to the ability of the management. It is also wrong to tell how old is the carpet, mattress or bed cover as it is not true. We change and maintain our rooms on a regular interval. The customer does not have the right to tell how much it will cost as the customer is not an expert in running a hotel. Trip advisor should put guidelines for writing reviews as the management have to follow the guidelines in replying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a very nice family-driven hotel with a great location. Small and cozy with nice and clean rooms. The owners used to live in Norway, so they speak Norwegian. Try out their Burmesian restaurant (Mandalay restaurant) with the best samosas in the world!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariannearnemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My friend and I stayed in a twin room for three nights. The room was incredibly small, but we were only there to sleep- so we didn't mind at all. Dwight and his family were SO friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was small but very nice. If I ever return to London, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Vicks30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

excellent to say the least .... comfortable, clean and cozy, the owners and staff or family .... fantastic with several services that you will not find anywhere: microwave, column refrigerant (ie cold water free) and much more wi fi free and also the price conpetitif .... I think one of the best in London! alex and family italian

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Mandalay Picton B&B, London
When I started researching accommodation in London, our requirements started with - it must be within walking distance of a transport hub and walking distance to the central London icons. Equally important, we wanted a budget price, quiet and reasonably appointed room and of course, cleanliness. Well the Mandalay Picton B&B was absolutely perfect. A 15 min train trip from Heathrow airport brings you to Paddington Station and then it's an easy five-minute walk to the Mandalay Picton. It is located in Sussex Gardens, a tree-lined boulevard with a parallel service road that puts the accommodation further away from any traffic. The breakfasts included in the price are very good. Just around the corner is a selection of great cafes and restaurants. It is 7 min walk to Hyde Park. But if you don't like or can't walk too far, then Paddington Station is also an underground tube station, which is only two or three stops from most of the icons. Outside the station is a local bus stop. Also, 12 min walk down the road at Marble Arch is a ticket office/bus stop for the Hop on Hop Off double-decker buses that do a circuit of the London icons. We stayed almost a week and we were sorry to leave. The hosts Dwight, his family and staff are wonderfully happy and helpful hosts. We really enjoyed our chats with Dwight. He and his brother Gary own and operate a great Burmese restaurant. If you like reasonably priced, delicious and gently spicy food, it is well worth the 15 min walk. It is very popular so you need to book. You can do that at the B&B. When I come back to London, I will definitely stay at the Mandalay Picton.

Stewart & Debbie from Australia

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stewart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

the owner is very friendly and chatty and gives you a warm welcome, although the other woman at reception was extremely cold and did not reply to questions, which made me a bit uncomfortable.

the room is just awful: really small, smelly and outdated, no duvet, just a blanket which had clearly not been washed in a while, with suspicious stains on it. bed was too uncomfortable to sleep. noise is quite bad as the walls are very thin and there's no lift, so people were pacing up and down the stairs all night.

bathroom: impossible to use. tiny, cracked toilet seat and dirty shower mat with black stains.

breakfast: cold toast, undrinkable coffee, and a hot buffet which looks greasy and unappealing to say the least.

I was with 2 friends so we got it very cheap and enjoyed the great location and helpfulness of the owner. however I would not go back as there are plenty of other B&Bs on that street and I'm happy to pay an extra £20 for a decent room.

only go if you're desperate for a room!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Caring Hotel
#541 of 1,072 in London
786 reviews
Classic Hyde Park Hotel
#196 of 563 in London
109 reviews
Bloomsbury
Macdonald Hotel
Macdonald Hotel
#44 of 563 in London
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#43 of 563 in London
601 reviews
Nayland Hotel
#335 of 563 in London
495 reviews
South Kensington
Merlyn Court Hotel
Merlyn Court Hotel
#140 of 563 in London
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Picton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Picton House Hotel

Address: 122 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £66 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mandalay Picton House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mandalay Picton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing