We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, delightful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandalay Picton House Hotel
Ranked #272 of 565 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This small hotel is very reasonable, clean, and located within a few minutes' walk of several tube stations, Paddington station, Hyde Park, and Oxford Street for shoppers. But, what really made our stay was the wonderful helpfulness and friendliness of the owners. Gary, his son, and his brother Dwight went out of their way to be helpful with sight-seeing and travel arrangements and we shared many interesting conversations with them.

We also loved eating at their Mandalay restaurant which has delicious Burmese food and is clearly a local favorite. Highly recommended!

During different parts of our stay we had two different rooms. The one at the front was more airy, but very small and traffic was noisy. The one at the back was larger and quiet. Both rooms had their "quirks," but were clean with comfortable beds and met our needs just fine.

Bottom line: We would definitely stay here again if we returned to London--with a big thank you to our hosts for all they did to make us feel like friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meandering5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2010

Gary and Dwight the brothers who run Picton House are a great team. They really care. They are wonderful hosts and go out of their way to help guests. The hotel is affordable, clean and well worth it

I will always stay here when I am in London from now on.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Great service, very friendly staff, good central location, value for money. Certainly a returning customer, only thing i would change, i would prefer a room on a floor.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prosciutto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Let’s start it by underling that in UK and especially in London you’ll never get a decent accommodation at the same price as on the Continent. So we were rather relieved after finding this B&B. It is located in an area with a lot of small hotels, but it’s price is by far the best. And it is very central! We had an en suite room(9), with windows at the back of the building. Hence, it was very quiet. The room was clean, the bathroom , the same; we were provided with tea and coffee. Just one problem: the dimension. The room was indeed small, two adults cannot move inside in the same time. But as a matter of fact, we came in order to visit, not to stay inside, isn’t it?! But mind if you are a little bit oversized….you’ll have to climb steep stairs and to stay in a very small place. Breakfast is ok and the food, enough. About our staying, I have only one complaint: we left very early and we would like to receive some food the evening before. As a matter of fact, we paid for breakfast and didn’t get it…maybe the owner forgot, maybe it would have been a difficult task. I still think that 2-3 slices of cheese and some salami would have been a help for us(since we paid for food). Fortunately, Tesco was very close…
Overall, I`ll be back, London is an amazing place and I’ll return to Mandalay soon!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corinaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

The Ally family makes this hotel one of the best places to stay in London. My experience this time was no different then my visit 2 years ago and is the reason my friend and I returned. The personal care this entire family takes to make sure you have an enjoyable stay in London makes you feel like you are staying with good friends. The beds are quite comfortable and compared to other hotels I have stayed in in London the rooms (this visit and last) are a nice size. My friend and I have plans to return to London in September of 2012 and will definately stay at the Mandalay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed 4 nights at Picton. You feel very welcome here. However the family room that we got was not great. The double bed was very small - too small for two people. And the beds are quite hard. The bathroom was in bad shape. Good location close to Paddington and Hyde Park and very friendly hosts makes up for a lot of that. And a good price. However we will probably choose another place next time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauridane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Our room (no. 6) was away from the street and quiet. The room was small but the lay-out good - like a ship's cabin. The ensuite toilet/shower was tiny, but OK for folks under 0.1 ton. Good quality beds. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nils1room
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Caring Hotel
#546 of 1,075 in London
794 reviews
The Omega Hotel
#665 of 1,075 in London
141 reviews
Rhodes Hotel
#333 of 1,075 in London
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#429 of 1,075 in London
1,065 reviews
Classic Hyde Park Hotel
#202 of 565 in London
110 reviews
Gower Hotel
#160 of 565 in London
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Picton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Picton House Hotel

Address: 122 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 565 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £67 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mandalay Picton House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mandalay Picton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing