We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best value in London!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mandalay Picton House Hotel
Ranked #258 of 572 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 January 2011

My mum and I stayed at this B&B for one night. Please find detailed info below:

Price: We paid £65 for a twin en-suite room (with breakfast). If you want something cheaper, you will have to settle for bed bugs, bad neighbourhood, bad service, communal showers and no breakfast. This is definitely an amazing value (probably the best) in London.

Location: Very conveniently located about 5-10 minutes (on foot) from Paddington underground station. The neighbourhood was very quiet and nice.

Cleanliness: Everything was very clean except for the floor (could have used a vacuum cleaner) but to be fair it does get dirty anyway if you don’t take off your shoes in the room.

Room: We stayed at room No. 5 which is the first room on the ground floor. In this room we had a TV, tea and coffee making facilities (inc. kettle, 2 mugs, 2 glasses, sugar, etc), a large drawer and wardrobe, 2 single beds (quite comfy), a telephone, hairdryer (seemed a bit outdated so used own), mirrors, washbasin, toilet, shower. 1 towel and 1 bar of soap each and toilet paper was also provided. In the wardrobe we found hangers and extra blankets.
We could have used a towel hanger and a window that opens (heating was on max, could not turn it down, could not open window either but we did not ask for help as we only stayed for one night).

Sleep quality: The room was very hot (details in above paragraph) so that kept us up, also there is an alley way right next to this room so it was a bit noisy (not too much though). Also, I swear I could hear the underground trains below us – but maybe it was just my imagination.

Service: From the first point of contact (phoning to check availability, get info on accommodation), we were welcomed as valued customers. On arrival and departure we could leave our bags, which was very handy for us.

Overall: Clean, close to station, close to city centre, cheap, average crime rate in area (like in most of London, trivia: Westminster’s the highest), value for money, excellent customer service and high ratings (which proved to be truthful). Check!

I would say this guesthouse is definitely great. After doing an extensive research (as I am a travel and tourism student) based on factors like location, price, nearest amenities and ratings on here; this place still offers the best value.

I have also read about 6 London guidebooks and I was surprised to find a bunch of high priced hotels and best of the worst selection of accommodation. Places like this should be featured instead - this is a real gem!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissLexie713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2011

This is our first time in London and we plan to stay for 8 nights during Christmas time. The price is not changed at all compared with other hotels. Gary and Dwignt, the owner of the hotel is really nice and friendly, they would help you with anything you need to know very patiently. The Location is great and great value of such price. Really enjoy it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iristang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

This was our first time in London and we were traveling with a young child of 17 months. Mandalay Picton House Hotel is a family run business and they were very friendly from the first e-mail. They arranged for a taxi to pick us up from airport and they were generous enough to let us occupy our room before scheduled time without any extra charges as they could see that we were traveling with a young child. They did everything to make our stay comfortable and pleasant. We found the hotel very cozy and safe. The rooms are small but comfortable and they are serviced everyday. During our stay we felt at home and were surprised to see the hospitality of this family in London. We appreciate their care, support and love during our stay and we hope to see them soon again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunil13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

It was not the first time for me to stay at Manadalay
Picton house hotel. I have stayed there each time I visited London either when I went alone or when I went with my mother and sister (around 11 times in 6 years-since 2005). I believe the main reason is that they made London my home. All members of mandalay family excel in delivering the hotel service to customers; making you feel at home in a friendly, caring, cozy and warm atmosphere. They do not hesitate to offer help and sincere guidance in all aspects of an exciting and enjoyable visit. They usually reserve a taxi to drive me to hotel and to the airport with a fair and punctual way. Mandalay family provide distinguished service which is really exceeding customers' expectations therefore it is a wonderful experience that yields delight. They are my family and main drive for returning back to London.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Staying Mandalay Picton House Hotel gives a whole new meaning to the word "hospitality". From the moment you walk in the door you feel very welcome and taken care of. I have travelled quite a lot, and i must say I have rearly experienced better service. At least not to the same tariff as at the Mandalay. The staff is extremely friendly and helps you with almost everything!

The rooms are quite small, but when you are in London you don't want to spend your time in a hotel room, you want to see the city!!

Thank you for a very plesant stay!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afb1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed in this hotel for six nights. Gary and Dwight, the owners of the House, were so nice and friendly.

Every night when we got back, we must be greeted by Gary with a great smile, asking us "how are you? Good today?" Feeling so warm and welcomed. He tried to help us in every way, taught us the transportation around London and to Heathow. He even helped us to send emails to another guesthouse we had booked and arranged flights check-in before our leave. It was not a big problem even they had no wi-fi or internet.

The room is standard, with big breakfast every day which can make you so full all day. The hotel itself is very near the Tube or Station and very easy to find.

The rate is reasonable and they don't ask for any credit card or deposit when booking. You will be assured to have an enjoyable and safe stay in Mandalay and we would not dare to recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kshowareyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Excellent location from Paddington Station. We arrived from Paris and made to feel at home immediately. Gary and Dwight were wonderful hosts, meeting all our needs and assisting us in any way possible. The accommodations were perfect, clean and efficient. They accommodated us especially well on our last day, allowing us to keep our luggage in the main foyer, which permitted us to tour for the rest of the day until our taxi arrived later in the evening. Gary arranged for the taxi too which took us to our hotel near the Gatwick Airport. We felt safe, welcomed, and greatly appreciated their care and concern...a special gift when travelling in a foreign country. We will tell all our Canadian friends to consider this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadianduo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Rhodes Hotel
#349 of 1,077 in London
1,459 reviews
Mitre House Hotel
#541 of 1,077 in London
645 reviews
Bloomsbury
Macdonald Hotel
Macdonald Hotel
#43 of 572 in London
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gower Hotel
#149 of 572 in London
243 reviews
Barry House
#83 of 572 in London
346 reviews
Bloomsbury
Excelsior Hotel London
Excelsior Hotel London
#377 of 572 in London
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Picton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Picton House Hotel

Address: 122 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 572 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £67 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mandalay Picton House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mandalay Picton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing