We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantasic Building, Traditional English Style” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines St Mark's-Islington London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Citadines St Mark's-Islington London
Ranked #573 of 1,089 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantasic Building, Traditional English Style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed at St Marks for a week in May and was so pleasantly surprised by the place. It has a 24 hr reception with really helpful staff. The apartment was massive, it had lovely high ceilings and really big windows so was beautifully light. It also had a full kitchen with washer dryer and a separate living room with satellite TV.

The location was great, a short stroll from Angel tube and also Shoreditch with all its fantastic restaurants and nightlife.

I am definitely a convert to this apartment block rather than my normal hotel!! I will be back for sure next time I am in London on business.

Room Tip: Ask for the front part of the builing if you want high celings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther70s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    111
    54
    26
    7
See reviews for
136
43
5
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed at the St. Marks for about 2 months from early January to early March 2014. The location is great (about 10 walking min to Angel tube station and supermarkets; short walk to Islington High Street; safe area; bus station in front), the staff was attentive (the 1 or 2 things that didn't work were fixed promptly) and always friendly (willing to advise on things to see and to do), the apartment (1-bedroom) was comfortable and spacious (this is very subjective, of course, but I liked mine). In short: I would stay there again and would also advise friends and family to stay at the St. Marks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalmuti71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
378 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We would stay here again. Very nice place. We had a 2 bedroom unit which had one King sized bedrrom and a single/twin bedroom. The livingroom/dining room combination was spacious and was pleasant to come back to after a day of site seeing. The furniture was somewhat utilitarian but served its purpose, maybe another upholstered chair or loveseat unit would have been nicer. The living room could use an area carpet. Also included was a full kitchen with plates/glassware for four. My only real complaint would be the bathrooms. What is it with the British that they cannot build and appoint a proper shower? We have stayed in various British hotels and the shower facilities have all been terrible. This one was no different.

Finally, the St.Marks is about 1/3 of a mile from the Angel tube station (on the Northern Line). So while you're not in. City Center proper, it is no more than 30 minutes to Tower Hill or Covent Garden. Perfect, particularly given the substantial savings. Further, there are plenty of ood restaurants in the Islington area plus a full grocery store one block from the tube station.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wineaux FromAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a 2 bed executive apartment on 4th April with my Mum, Aunt, Sister and Sisters friend to celebrate my sisters 30th birthday. I cannot recommend these apartments highly enough. The apartment was lovely and big and extremely clean, just like a home from home. The price we paid was half that of a hotel in this area and well worth every penny! Prior to arriving I contacted the apartments and asked if they could put some balloons in the room as a surprise for my sister who was 30. Alba (I think that's her name) on reception organised this prior to arrival and I was astonished when we walked into the room to see not only balloons but a bottle of wine a box of chocolates and a novelty cake made out of towels and flowers, such a lovely touch and needless to say my sister was over the moon when she walked into this. A huge thank you to Alba, the cleaners and the manager for organising all of this, I am over the moon with all you did for us and it's made a very memorable trip for all of us. These apartments are in a great location 5 mins walk from Angel tube station with lots of eateries around. It took us less than 30mins to get to Piccadilly Circus which was the purpose of our trip to watch Les Mis, which was also amazing!!! I would highly recommend these apartments and am very grateful to all of the staff for everything they did, their hospitality was amazing. Myself and my family will definitely be staying here again on our next group trip to London.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Boyle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have recently stayed at the Citadine, St Marks apartments on two occasions in March this year. I stayed on the 11th -12th march in a 1 bedroomed apartment which was both spacious and well equiped with all the comforts of home. My second visit was from the 16th till the 22nd march which was in a two bedroomed apartment which was even better, comprising 2 spacious bedrooms 1 with ensuite, fully equiped kitchen, dining room/lounge. The receptionist was both pleasant and polite and she was extremely helpful. The St Marks apartments are a short walk either way to the "Angel or Old street tube station." Also an excellent bus service with links to the main areas of London and surrounding areas. Many bars and restaurants locally too.
I would like to give thanks to both the manager and the lovely receptionist for her warm smile and assistence. Special thanks to the manager for allowing us to stay in our apartment until our train departure time due to me having under gone an operation at the nearby Moorfields hospital. Thankyou for making our stay a memorable one and would love to stay agaiin at some point in the near future. Kind regards Paul W.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroomed apartments are both spacious and ideal for families, home from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

stayed for 2 lovely nights great destination, the staff was very friendly and helpful definitly would recommend staying again, great apartment facilitys, big comfortable bed really enjoyed the stay and close to really great placea such as brick lane, camden market, clubs, clubs restuarants and other good places to shop and unwind.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leelondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here with work for one night.

Apartments are pretty good if a little tired but cleanliness is good.

saw on other review about noisy floors.. yes, they are, i was on top floor so hope they couldnt hear underneath.

one key point - reception staff was really really nice.. she had a very strong accent so was a little difficult to understand but we had a good joke about it, but overall she made me very welcome.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virtualoriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#448 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#187 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Thistle City Barbican
#580 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines St Mark's-Islington London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines St Mark's-Islington London

Property: Citadines St Mark's-Islington London
Address: St. Mark's Apartments 300 City Road, London EC1V 2PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#333 Business Hotel in London
#343 Family Hotel in London
#345 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines St Mark's-Islington London 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Citadines St Mark's-Islington London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks, London Hotel London
St Marks Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing