We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different and excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #102 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Having read some reviews that hinted that noise could be a problem, I asked for a quiet room. Was offered one on the first floor, away from the courtyard where people tend to gather, and also away from the Friday night DJ's offerings. Couldn't have been better. Nary a sound. Great design and style, great comfort, amazing vibe, and friendly, efficient staff. An early evening drink in the central courtyard, with trees, greenery, was the perfect way to relax after a long journey. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Musician67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,656)
There are newer reviews for The Hoxton, Shoreditch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,420 - 3,426 of 4,656 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed 2 nights, Fri and Sat. The receptionist couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful . We mentioned we preferred quiet and she found us a room on 4th floor that was away from the lively ground floor meeting place. The whole ambience is fairly young and funky but at no time were we made to feel ancient ( we are both nearly 60). The ground floor is a great place for meeting friends and again the staff were so enthusiastic and personable --they all seemed sincere-no false 'have a nice day' cliches thankfully!
Room clean , minimal but bed and duvets and cushions etc of excellent quality. Really appreciated the proper milk in the fridge and the complimentary breakfast pack. Will stay again--shame they can't get the weekday prices down to the weekend prices.

Room Tip: 4th floor seems good
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_woolcock11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

stayed here 2wks, i enjoyed the service and the room, if i have to picky, just the limited tv channel, no gym&swimming pool, very close to 5 star, but you paying just 150pounds in London, a lot more than you get elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReggieLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Had a pleasant stay there, the hotel is really well located, cafe/restaurant are excellent and staff is superb. Rooms could've been a bit bigger but I guess that's London. Would recommend it and definitely going back there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexander_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

While the rooms are a bit small, the rooms themselves and the bathrooms are new - a rarity in this price range in London. If you book early or manage to snag one of the 1 pound per night deals, you can get reasonable rates.

The hotel is conveniently located - a 5 minute walk from the Old Street stop on the Northern Line, which puts it within 15 minutes of most Central London locations. It's also within walking distance of the City, Brick Lane, Spitalfields, and other up-and-coming areas of the East End.

The Hoxton Grill is a fun hang-out. It's packed on weekend nights, but is also a good low-key hangout on weekdays. The food is decent, although some of the "American" dishes on the menu might seem a bit lackluster to Americans. The service is middling. By the end of my one-week stay, I knew which waitstaff were great and which ones you would have to chase down to get service. Some of the front desk staff were "too cool" to help, but most were friendly.

I'll definitely stay at the Hoxton again on future trips to London.

Room Tip: look for sales and book early
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EPH17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

This is a real home from home, i say everytime im in UkK.
This is why London is so diffrent to anywere elsr . Great service , Beds from Heaven...
I wanna live here

Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
Thank lily1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Only stayed one night at The Hoxton, but wow what a night! I cannot fault it. The service, food, vibe, location, friendly staff, the little bits and bobs that go a long way! You must stay there if you are looking for an amazing hotel in London. Am booking my next trip right now!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rallysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#64 of 1,072 in London
1,611 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#367 of 1,072 in London
1,040 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#131 of 1,072 in London
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#140 of 1,072 in London
410 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#295 of 1,072 in London
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#92 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £123 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing