We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT! Definitely returning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #94 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Having come back from a 2 week trip in Africa, and a 9 hour flight, I just wanted a comfortable night somewhere nice. Hoxton fitted it perfectly.

At a FAR cheaper price than comparable quality hotels (i.e Radisson Edwardian etc), Hoxton offers a fantastic value room. The sales make it better, if you are quick!

HUGE comfortable bed, free wifi, free Pret-A-Mange breakfast and a hot hot shower with plenty of towels. I looked for things to criticise in my stay, and the only thing I could find was that the aircon could have gone a little lower than 19C.. But that's picking threads!

The decor is spot on, quality furnishings and the on-the-go breakfast is a nice little touch.

Would, and already have, recommended this hotel to others!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTraveller1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,319 - 3,325 of 4,686 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

This was certainly a surprise for me and my wife. We were not expecting to have a colorful hotel, with great service, nice rooms and at a price half of what we would normally pay in London. I had busiess in the City and a free weekend afterwards. This was definitely the place to stay. No gimmicks just a really good hotel for young and old.
Their restaurant was a cut above many others in the neighborhood and with fair prices.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights at the Hoxton and we just loved it! The room was comfortable and the free breakfast delivery (without being disturbed) was a great way to start each day. The bar/restaurant was a great place to come home to each night when a lot of London closed fairly early. The food and drinks were great and very reasonably priced! We also had super easy access to the Tube and anything else we needed. If we go back to London, we'll absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erinsny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Had a great stay here after visiting London for a festival. Rooms are excellent, modern and styled nicely. Shower was particularly good and if you leave your Pret bag from the room outside they leave a nice mini breakfast to get you started for the day.

Food was nice down in the Grill and the bar is quite happening at weekend. Beers were good price but wines and spirits were a little dear though this may just be London prices.

At busy times it can take a bit to get served at the bar, mainly bacause the barmen take there time serving the drinks properly. Perhaps a little too long but waiters and staff are around to take drink orders away from the bar for a small service charge which we found was quicker and worth it. I'm sure weekday and Sunday the service is very good.

Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyCraigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I must say it was a very nice hotel to stay in - staff attitude was A1 with everything. We bought smell cheese in Borough Market - we asked could we eat it there, they said of course and went to get us plates! Rooms are very hip and groovy - huge shower heads. Rooms bit small and my one criticism - nowhere really to put your luggage.

Restaurant is great - prices good for set lunch and at night the foyer becomes a very happening bar with a DJ - put not in a loud way.

And free wifi that really works

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My partner and I stayed in the Hoxton Hotel for our anniversary, and I really enjoyed our stay.
Checkin was easy and quick with no shortage of staff on the desk. After hearing that I had stayed there before, we were asked whether there was anything that we needed our memory refreshed on, and provided with suggestions for the local area.
The rooms are a reasonable size, with the most comfortable bed that I've slept in for a long time. Nice toiletries, and the Pears soap to take home was a nice touch!
The "breakfast in a bag" was fine(although only one was delivered rather than the two we had indicated on the bag) Not that it mattered too much - being a lazy Sunday we also opted for brunch in the Hoxton Grill below, which was absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goinginsane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyGriffin, Operations Manager at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Hi goinginsane,

Thank you for taking the time to write - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our beds comfortable. We get them from Hypnos ('the most comfortable beds in the world'), as does the Queen - so they must be good!

Hope to see you back again soon,

Timothy and the Hox Team

P.S. Glad you got to enjoy the great brunch in the Hoxton Grill - but we promise next time to give you two of the free Pret breakfast bags!

Timothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here on a recent visit to London for Lovebox music festival and some shopping! It has a brilliant location for anyone into vintage, just a short walk from brick lane and Spitalfields Market. The staff and service is second to none 1st class! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Initial_dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#64 of 1,075 in London
1,641 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#380 of 1,075 in London
1,055 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#147 of 1,075 in London
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#156 of 1,075 in London
427 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#304 of 1,075 in London
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#87 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £126 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing