We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, For London a place like this should cost 3 times as much.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #111 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, For London a place like this should cost 3 times as much.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

One of my favorite hotels, if not just in London..but anywhere I have been. Great bar, rooms and location. You can't get better then this in London. Remeber to leave the Hotel and check out some of the great pubs and resteraunts the shoreditch has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felixdahousecat101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,836
    1,299
    186
    55
    34
See reviews for
428
2,082
302
745
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

I love this hotel!! Been to the Hoxton Grill and bar a number of times and it has always been great, then ended up getting a room in the £1 sale so was chuffed to bits! This hotel is great, it is probably a little over priced if you book last min (£199 p/n I believe), but it is in a wicked location and is just a stones throw away from Shoreditch High Street, Hoxton Square and many great bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is kind of like an uber trendy, upmarket Travelodge, with loads of cool little quirks like a pret a manger breakfast hung on you door in the morning and some old school pears soap in the bathroom! The decor everywhere is great and the hotel still has a very relaxed vibe even though it's too cool for it's own good!! Staff are exceptionally helpful and they have a great little shop at reception selling everything from toothbrushes to mars bars! (I did actually forget my toothbrush!)
I would recommend staying here to everyone and will definitely be booking again.
If you do visit the hotel bar...try the Rose Water and Lycee cocktail...it's amazing!!! Also, if you're in the area visit Calloh Callay and sample one of their cocktails served in a gramophone...it's random, but fantastic!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Okay- so if you are repulsed by old shlockey english hotels- Hoxton Hotel is a modern and to be perfectly honestly oddly low priced option. The rooms aren't massive by any means but in Europe that's the standard. So when I arrived I found a well thought out and appointed room with a nice view of the financial district. Now the one thing about Hoxton is it's very hip and just on the edge of the transportation route so using the bus or red line at the Liverpool Street station is maybe 10 minutes walk and gives you everything you need to see all the traditional parts of London./ Now the staff was friendly and helpful, the internet is free and even phone calls to the us were free as long as you call a cell phone! I run a business by my phone so it was a real life saver over international rates. The restaurant and bar is valued by the young local set and is still a great place for a cocktail before setting out into the Hoxton nighlife which is great. We walked to Jamie Oliver's 15 had drinks in Hoxton Square stumbled through shoreditch and Brick Lane which is famous for amazing Indian food. We pretty nuch had the run of the place and it was amazing- I highly recommend the Hoxton and it's trendy neighborhood. This is not a traditional family hotel so keep that in mind. I liked it so much I wrote this review and I never usually take the time to do so.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbulger1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma, italia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

This was our third stay at the Hoxton, and have already booked a future visit. The rooms are not enormous, but have everything you need, are modern and comfortable, and the bed and bathroom are great. The staff are super friendly and extremely professional, the breakfast bag is great (particularly if you want to sleep through the morning), and the grill/restaurant is superb. The area, also, is fantastic - interesting and eclectic mix of shops and restaurants, away from the tourist throngs.

Only one minor quibble... each time I have stayed I have called reception to ask for the cost per minute of making a call to Brazil, each time the person has said they would have to check and call back, but the call never came!!

The hotel is amazing value for London.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbamail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Arrived early Saturday afternoon and check in was trouble free. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. A valuable little item is their Hox guide (free) which is a fold out map detailing the surrounding area covering points of interest, shops and pubs etc. The guide folds down to credit card size so easily slips into your pocket. Plenty of attractions on the guide that has something for everyone. We particularly liked the pubs. Had dinner at the Hoxton Grill which was a great way to end the day. All in all a great 24 hr getaway, staff were helpful and very friendly, some nice free services such as internet and newspapers, not to mention free overseas calls to selected countries. We'll be staying there again even though we live in London.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMcL131009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Really disappointed. This was my fourth stay at The Hoxton Hotel since 2008. Seems to have gone down a few levels in customer service?

1. The first room had a wet blanket on the bed. Got a new room.

2. The second room's air conditioner sometimes worked, sometimes didn't.

3. The morning wake-up calls were a little glitchy. When I notified reception, I was told that it was my fault for not following directions. Totally disagree. All I was doing was answering the phone. If I wanted to snooze more, I was asked to press a button. I didn't want to snooze, so no button was pressed. Evidently, this means that the phone will ring every minute thereafter? This happened three days in a row.

4. There was a blood stain, or a stain that looked like dried blood, on the comforter/blanket.

5. The food room service was good, but there was a shard of glass in the spinach.

6. The promo card for car service states that the cost to Heathrow airport is 55 or 59GBP, however when you call the phone number a. you get charged for the call (even though the hotel was promoting free calls) and the new price is quoted as 65 or 69GBP or so. The excuse was that the promo card was five years old. This was told from the person on the phone and from reception, as well. As if, it's not their fault if the price is higher now than what is stated on the card. But they're not going to change the card. That's illegal in the U.S. Guess it's okay to scam customers in the UK?

7. There was more, but can't recall right now.

On the plus side:
1. The bar was good. The bartenders were attentive.
2. Some of the front desk people were nice.
3. The overall response on my feedback was positive. They were kind and asked me to return in the future. Not sure if I will risk it. The discomforts made it difficult for a restful sleep.

You have been warned !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyGriffin, Operations Manger at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Hi Linda,

I am so glad we were able to correspond via email and to have the opportunity to invite you back to the Hoxton next time you are in London. We want to ensure that every experience at the Hox is as positive as the last, and thank you for giving us the chance to make your next stay really special.

I am delighted you have enjoyed Maurizio's service on your last and other visits, and both he and I are very much looking forward to welcoming you back, we hope, very soon.

With best wishes,

Timothy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We had a nice stay at the Hoxton. It's a hip hotel, in an up and coming neighbourhood, providing many amenities on a complimentary basis, for which in most 4 star properties you pay for. The rooms might be a bit small, but have everything that is needed and are very clean. The staff at reception were efficient, and the hotel has a vibrant atmosphere in its common area, something lacking in most properties.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greece4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#325 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#298 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#96 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing