We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Reasonably Priced Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #109 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, Reasonably Priced Hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Spent a couple of nights here for my partners birthday, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The hotel is located a convenient 5 minute walk from Old Street Station.

The room and hotel were clean and tidy.

The room and décor were stylish and modern, although the corridors were lit like a euro-nightclub. The room was spacious with air-con, and room for a double bed, a desk and small sofa. The en-suite featured a large shower and basic toiletries.
The room came with plenty of pillows, tea and coffee making facilities (including some herb teas and decaf), no little tubs of UHT milk either, you get your own mini fridge. There was enough clothes storage space for 2 people for a weekend, but no more. And the internet enabled TV had basic free-view and a limited number of Pay-Per-View movies.

The restaurant which had nice food, although booking a table as we checked in (on a Friday) was the only way to get a table. The restaurant is open planned into the bar which gets quite busy and noisy of an evening which made talking over dinner slightly difficult, but this will not bother some people. We stayed on the 3rd floor and could not hear the bar once in our room.

The room service was hot and just as good as the restaurant.

As the hotel is owned by Pret a Manger, a simple breakfast (yoghurt & banana) is left outside your room if you want and is good if you are in a hurry of a morning.

Room Tip: Try and book a room in one of the £1 sales if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,971
    1,347
    201
    56
    35
See reviews for
459
2,160
310
792
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (850)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Como, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is a high class hotel, you will find the excellent service you expect.
But what we didn't expect and we indeed found is a cool hotel with a lot of humour (the title of bill note is "Damage"!) and a cool and modern design.
Just one flaw: no breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polpi_viaggiatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuppertal, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

For me it's one of the best hotels in London. The best what you get for this price in my opinion. The rooms look very pretty and modern. It's very clean and the stuff is absolutly friendly. The breakfast bags are a little bit funny, but we liked it very much.
The area is very nice as well. There are many clubs, pubs an restaurants around the hotel and the tube station is very close to the hotel. So if you like sightseeing you can arrive at Big Ben, Tower Bridge or everywhere else in 15-20 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessika31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I stayed here for one night for a business trip - this was a great hotel!

Check in was smooth and efficient, the room was spacious and clean and with good facilities.

A large group of us had booked dinner in the restaurant. The food was great and the staff couldn't do enough for us!

Will definately be back... hopefully next time for pleasure rather than business!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

All around our stay was a very good experience. We didn't get our brekky bag on the last day, despite leaving our order out the night before and the bag was gone in the morning, Then again, it was a Friday night and maybe there were some drunken gremlins about!
That aside, it was good. As others have said, you definitely don't want a room facing into the hotel's centre...unless you are one of the people making the racket of course.
Overall...pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Had a nice family trip to London and were absolutely satisfied with the HOXTON Hotel. stylish, modern rooms with comfortable beds, double glass windows (no street sound), good air con, very clean and tidy shower and bath.
Whole Hotel stylish furnished and cosy illuminated. HOXTON Grill with a good range of small appetizers and grilled food for reasonable prices.
Had problems with WLAN in the fourth floor - but it was working in the entry hall. Would love to have a JBL (or sth else) for own ipod and iphone music in the room. (standard in US Design Hotels)
very friendly and professional staff!
We will come back - for sure "
Nina, Frank, Tom and Annik

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

One of my favorite hotels, if not just in London..but anywhere I have been. Great bar, rooms and location. You can't get better then this in London. Remeber to leave the Hotel and check out some of the great pubs and resteraunts the shoreditch has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felixdahousecat101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#66 of 1,069 in London
1,561 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#350 of 1,069 in London
1,019 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#135 of 1,069 in London
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#139 of 1,069 in London
383 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#306 of 1,069 in London
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#96 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing