We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, we'll certainly be back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #99 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had been to the Hoxton in 2007 and thought it was time we returned. We certainly were not disappointed. The Hoxton is a very cool and hip place to stay. Shoreditch is an interesting area - a bit rough around the edges but loads to do and see. The decor of the Hoxton is simple and clean and the service is excellent. In my opinion they have pretty much everyhting right which is praise indeed. And the price is very reasonable. Difficult to beat...

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank simon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,338 - 3,344 of 4,783 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

For those looking for a modern boutique-style hotel at good prices, you can't go wrong with The Hoxton. It's perfectly located right by Old Street tube station and all the nightlife of Shoreditch and Hoxton.

The rooms are on the small side, but we were 2 people with a fair bit of luggage and it was absolutely fine. I was worried it would be dark in the rooms but it was very bright and airy.

They've done away with all the useless nonsense you get in most hotels - there's an electric kettle!! Plus free tea, coffee and milk- though if you want really good coffee try The Shoreditch Grind right by Old St station. the free morning breakfast is good and the in-room info on taxis etc is very very useful. it's all well thought out and perfect for a city stay.

We stayed for 5 nights for 500 pounds in August, which you really can't beat for the quality of the hotel and the location.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Red667Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyGriffin, Operations Manager at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Hi Red667Nyc,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you loved the Hoxton and that you found Shorditch Grind! We love it too - great muffins! We will be sure to include it in the second edition of the Hox Guide (the Hoxton's guide to must sees in Hoxton and Shoreditch!).

Hoping to see you back soon,

Timothy and the Hox Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I found the Hoxton Hotel after doing several days worth of research for a hotel for a group of 10 of us to stay in London, thank you Trip Advisor!

If you're a young couple or traveling with a group of friends, look no further and book this hotel straight away! The hotel is a great value! The rooms are simple but sexy, the bathrooms and showers are impeccable, and the bars, indoor courtyard and restaurant are trendy with large couches and large leather chairs, fireplaces and brick.

Breakfast is delivered to your room 'lunch bag style', you select your preferences which include orange juice, yogurt and a banana, and then hang the brown bag outside of your door before 3 am to be filled the next morning.

The Hoxton Hotel is located in the neighborhood called 'Shoreditch', which I would easily compare to The Meatpacking District of New York. Old warehouses have been transformed into loft style apartments and hotels. The surrounding area is plentiful of hip bars and restaurants. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the nearest tube Station - Old Street - which is on the Northern Line and only 3 stops from the Euro Star. You can take a taxi to the center of London for 8-10£.

If this hotel is booked, try the Shoreditch House this was my next best choice.

Other Suggestions:
Drinks before dinner : The rooftop bar of Aqua
For a night out, drinking and dancing - Maddox or Jalouse

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S-Jtraveltheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Comfort at every level: staff, food, linens, noise level. Absolutely loved our time there. One quibble, though—there is hardly any storage space in the room. Tiny wardrobe, minimal drawer space. So, live out of your suitcase and enjoy the great vibe.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dweller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Comfy beds, good location and brilliant price. What else can you ask for from London hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkcat2317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Nothing to fault, this place is fantastic... Free international calls? Yes please. Pret Breakfast delivered to your door? YES Please! Amazing place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WadMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I have just returned from a 3 day visit to London and had stayed at the Hoxton Hotel. Simply said this hotel is first rate in design, cool factor, food, location and customer service. Located in the gentrified area of Hoxton & Spitalfields the area is off the beaten path but includes great restaurants, lounges and pubs. The rooms are a bit small (this is London after all) but very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting London that desires a smaller and unique hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zvonimir c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#369 of 1,077 in London
1,094 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#71 of 1,077 in London
1,696 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#132 of 1,077 in London
627 reviews
Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
#586 of 1,077 in London
75 reviews
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#169 of 1,077 in London
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#91 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £105 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing