We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very modern and nice, but still affordable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #113 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“very modern and nice, but still affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed here for a few nights when visiting London. It's just a few blocks from a tube station, so it's easy to get around London and still not pay and arm and a leg for accommodations!

The theme at this hotel seems to be colors. There are colors everywhere: colored lights in the hallways, in the elevators, in the rooms. I found the hallways to be a bit dark, which might end up looking somewhat dated in a few years, but it's good for now. The rooms themselves are very comfortable - nothing particularly fancy, but everything clean and new. These are little signs everywhere, which are all quite funny but also informative, so it's a good touch. You can get a free ,quick breakfast delivered each morning (juice, yogurt, banana) which is perfect for those on a budget (as are the rates here!)

The hotel is close to a lot of great restaurants like Jamie Oliver's fifteen, St. John (amazing bacon sandwich!) and Great Eastern Dining room. The nieghborhood seems to be gentrifying from being a bit dodgy in the past, but we felt safe walking around at night.

One strange thing for me was that we arrived back at the hotel after dinner one evening to find a bouncer at the door and lots of thumping music coming from inside - apparently this is a happening place on the weekend, but we just told them we were staying at the hotel and didn't have any problem getting in.

Kudos to the front desk staff who helped us race to the airport at the last minute (I will not disclose how much we paid for a cab!!) after learning that our flight had been rescheduled to earlier than expected.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefohnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,840
    1,301
    187
    55
    34
See reviews for
430
2,086
302
745
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

This hotel was exceptional from the free breakfast, free wifi and free calls he to the US. They are a short walk from the metro and awesome shopping. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DreaDawn1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

I booked The Hoxton for my husband's 30th birthday weekend at the start of Decmeber as I wanted somewhere a little quirky of a good standard in an interesting and fairly central location that wouldn't break the bank. The Hoxton ticked all boxes. I booked 3 moths in advance and paid £198 2nights (Saturday and Sunday) and was thrilled with what we got for our money.

We arrived at the hotel around 10am to drop off our bags as we were too early to check in and found the reception staff very friendly and helpful - they happily stored our bags and offered us maps and tips for activities and shopping in the local area (there was a pop up mall in Shoreditch for the week).

When we came back to check in later that evening we were again dealt with very efficiently and in a welcoming and friendly manner. When I booked the hotle I mentioned it was my husband's birthday and when we gfot o the room there was a not wishing him a happy birthday and some helium balloons - just small touches but they really made it special. Our room was on the 5th floor and we had a good view out rather than at other buildings which was nice.

The room was small as I would expect for a London hotel but very well laid out with a good amount of room at the foot of the bed. The desk had a draw with hairdryer, bottle opener and other bits and pieces in - all laid out in individually designed slots. The frdige was big enough to stand up a full bottle of wine which was great as we took a bottle and some beers with us - the room also had wine glasses which may seem like a small detail but I hate drinking wine from a tumbler so found this a nice touch as you are welcomed to bring your own wine and beer to keep in the fridge (there is no mini bar full of expensive treat alghouth you can buy some things from reception.)

We had a drink and pudding in the bar on Saturday night after we'd been out to one of the vietnamese restaurants in Shoreditch (there are hundreds! And quite a few are Bring Your Own alcohol too which was good.) The bare was really busy on a Saturday night but much quieter on the Sunday. The bar area has to fire places - one at either side, plus arm chairs, sofas and chaise longues making it a really nice place sit for a drink at any time of the day.

We had breakfast in the grill one morning which was fairly expensive for what it was but nice nonetheless with free refills on the tea and coffee.

We asked for the duck down pillows to be changed to non-allergenic ones as they irritated my husband's asthmar and they were changed without issue.

The only small negative we encountered aside from food price in the grill was that on our last day the cleaning staff knocked on our door twice - at 8am and 9am to clean our room. Check out is 12 noon so really we didn't expect to be disturbed at all. We fed this comment baclk though and I believe this was a simple mistake.

We will definitely go back to The Hoxton as we feel we have found a real gem, and an affordable one at that.

Room Tip: The bar is quite boisterous on the weekend nights so you may want a room further away / higher up al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jschocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hoxton. Essentially, it is everything it says on the tin:comfortable, modern and clean. Also, very competitive rates and helpful staff. Everything you will need for a fly in visit to London.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Castlelulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Stayed 2 nights, during busy Xmas period, fast check in and out, even though we arrived early, very friendly staff, good quality room, and decent food at reasonable price in very nice surroundings, unlike most London hotels in our experience. Spent a day wandering round Brick Lane, Sptialfields and Borough Market, but lots more to see, so we hope to do it again, but only if we can stay at the Hox.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dabsinthewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Love this hotel - swift check in, clean tidy room with excellent facilities equals a very good stay! Would stay here yet again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sequinsandstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Stayed at the Hoxton for 1 night on the 22nd December. Overall a very good stay, quick check in, room was surprisingly spacious for London and very clean. Also liked the extra touches such as quality coffee and shampoo.

Now onto the problems...not that there were many but stopped the stay from being perfect, the main one being unable to order room service. We were unable to use the restaurant as we were travelling with our 3 year old daughter and the restaurant was packed with (understandably) rather merry customers. (had we been travelling as a couple I'm sure it would have been enjoyable).

We tried a number of times to order room service but the phone just kept ringing. After a few tries I called reception and they simply laughed and said yes they were very busy so keep trying, not very helpful! By this time is was too late and we made do with the snacks we had left from the day.

Our second small problem was that we were in a room with had adjoining doors to the room next door. We were able to hear talking and the tv from next door until late which was very irritating.

Overall, a good stay but by no means perfect

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#69 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#326 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#297 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#106 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#98 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing