We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in the middle of trendy Hoxton” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #114 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An oasis in the middle of trendy Hoxton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Great value, fantastic atmosphere and friendly and very efficient service made our recent new year stay at the Hoxton a real delight. A buzzy, welcoming reception area downstairs houses an open plan bar and the Hoxton Grill. Its open fires and huge comfy sofas are enticing, but this is Hoxton and really you need to get out and explore this exciting area of the city.

Rooms are quiet and comfortable with everything you need to hand. Memory foam beds and feather quilts make for a great nights sleep.

Food in the Hoxton Grill is great with brunch served until mid-day for those mornings you need to sleep a bit later after a night out in Hoxton's great selection of bars (The Princess, right next door, is a good place to start). if you don't fancy venturing downstairs you can pre-order a free light breakfast (yoghurt, fruit, juice) served in a brown paper bag outside the bedroom door every morning.

Best of all is the hotel's relaxed attitude and genuine desire to please. The mini-bar is stocked, not with the usual array of over-priced drinks and snacks, but free bottled water and fresh milk. You can stock it up yourself with totally fairly priced stuff from the shop at reception. there's also free papers, big bars of soap (keep the box to take it home!), and free wi-fi and left-luggage.

Book early for great deals on rooms. They even have a sale with rooms at £1 occasionally!

Room Tip: We had a room in the 'well' in the middle of the building which didn't have a view but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,841
    1,301
    187
    55
    34
See reviews for
430
2,087
302
745
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I've stayed there a few times now, and I'd sum it up as simple, cool and edgy. It's only a few minutes' walk away from Old Street tube station. The surroundings are not glamourous, but it's genuine Shoreditch with easy access to The City.
The reception area is simple yet stylish. The stuff is super friendly and quite informal, talking to you like they knew you. The dress code is pretty casual, too. Although many of the guests are of the business variety, you won't feel out of place no matter who you are.
The decor is really cool, 1960's art style with a postmodern edge. Some of their signs are quite sarcastic as other travellers have said. I'd recommend you check out the ironing room on the 6th floor - the wallpaper alone is worth it.
I stayed in a top floor room, and waking up with an amazing urban view from your window was pretty cool. Followed by breakfast in bed - they deliver a healthy Pret-a-Manger breakfast to your door! Perfect after a night in town. The freshly ground coffee selection in the room's also nice.
Nothing bad to say about the rooms, everything's really conveniently placed. Shame you can't open the window and wonder out to the terrace, but that's understandable in central London.
Will definitely be looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estonian_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

The hotel is keeping a cheerful attitude and friendly service. The hotel is conveniently located north of the City, but is not too filled with bankers... Staff are incredibly friendly. A model for other businesses...

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first floor as the restaurant (on the ground floor) sometimes gets noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pochi.pochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

This was my second stay at the Hoxton after a couple of years absence, and I'm happy to say the hotel has maintained their level of service and upkeep.

Our twin room was on the 6th floor facing the courtyard. Even though the lobby and restaurant was buzzing every night of our stay, we heard absolute silence in our room. The beds were very comfortable with good quality bedding and pillows. The bathroom was very clean with a great rain shower and fluffy towels. The little extras included in the room were much appreciated: milk and mineral water in the fridge, a selection of teabags along with the kettle, and the breakfast bag with a Pret yoghurt pot, freshly squeezed OJ, and a banana.

At the right price, the Hoxton will continue to be my choice of hotel in London!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard to avoid noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripleflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We like the Hoxton. The room rates are reasonable and its the only hotel we know in this price bracket that includes a free healthy breakfast, fresh milk, bottled water, free wifi & phone calls, proper mugs, glasses and wine glasses, pears soap, left luggage service & a corkscrew! The young staff were all welcoming and helpful, without exception. Ok, the rooms are a little small, but larger than many we have stayed in. The views from the windows are not inspiring but this is the East End, not Torquay! There are a number of negative comments on tripadvisor about the location. You only need to check a map to see that this is not an ideal location if the main purpose of your visit is to go to the theatres, shops and night clubs of the West End. The Hoxton is out the centre, the area is a little run down...but there are some great, friendly little shops, cafes and restaurants nearby with a lot more character than in the West End. There is some amazing street art too, and you are just a short walk from the city and Leadenhall Market. The hotel itself has a very good bar and restuarant. I have to say that we have not wandered round the area late at night but felt perfectly safe in the day time and early evening. It isn't that hard to get to either - two stops on the tube from Kings Cross, 15 minutes walk from Liverpool Street, or, in our case, the number 243 bus direct from Waterloo to Shoreditch Fire Station, less than 5 mins walk away. There were some minor issues - the heating in our room was somewhat erratic, ditto the control on the shower, the walls were a little scuffed - but these did not detract from the overall quality of our stay. We have stayed in a number of hotels in central London over the years, the others being in the West End and have to say, that desite (or because of?) its location, the Hoxton is our favourite.

Room Tip: The outside rooms don't have good views but are quieter than the inside rooms over looking the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights, from 28 - 30 Dec. not a big hotel. the hotel has a pleasant restaurant at the entrance, but the lifts and the lobby leading to rooms were dark. Internet was free along with breakfast (which included only a banana, yoghurt & orange juice) + milk in refrigerator. The location is okayish - close to City but a bit shady area. Overall, it's a value for money - not the best quality, but freebies at cheaper price and close to City.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Great stay. Surprisingly busy over festive period. Very friendly staff. Excellent atmosphere. Hoping to visit again next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#73 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#70 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#326 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#297 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#99 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing