We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy AND friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #104 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Trendy AND friendly”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Quite a difference from the business hotels - no ripoffs, great location, good atmosphere and the staff is ever so friendly!

Room Tip: For quietness, avoid first floor rooms if possible - sometimes the restaurant downstairs is a bit to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pochi.pochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,930
    1,331
    196
    55
    34
See reviews for
449
2,133
307
774
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We spent the Diamond Jubilee Bank Holiday at this hotel, and could not fault it.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were comfortable and quite, they have a great Bar and Grill, it's location is great for Central London and all at great prices.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JordansSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Hoxton Hotel is one of those hotels you wished every other place could be like. Great experience from the moment we arrive to the moment we left. The location is terrific (even though the Old Street tube line isn't all that convenient) with so much to do in the local area. All the little things done right in the room, with the service and the recommendations. Second time here and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I don't think the website does the hotel justice, as I was more impressed than I was expecting to be. The standard rooms are a reasonable size, with quality bed linen and has a decent bathroom. I liked the guide to Shoreditch they left in the room and think more hotels should do this. I thought it was a great idea that you could stock your own mini-bar from reception, without being charged the usual prices. During the day it's a lively hangout to work, read, catch up with friends over coffee. During the evening there's a cool (but not trying too hard) crowd and they serve excellent cocktails which are worth going for alone. Staff and friendly, welcoming and helpful. You would expect to pay more than they charge, but I don't think that's a reason for them to put the prices up ; ) Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DNB571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Don't be put off by the location - this is a great hotel and well worth its Tripadvisor rating as one of the best in London
We stayed for 3 nights during Her Majesty the Queen's Diamond Jubilee celebrations and were really impressed by the hotel, it's staff and the surroundings.
Access from Stansted - Take the Stansted Express to Liverpool Street and then catch the 135 Bus from Bishopsgate, outside Liverpool Street station which drops you right at the door of the Hoxton.
Rooms - spacious and funky rooms with quality fittings and a nice bathroom with a Rainshower. Good quality cosmetics and Pears soap are supplied.
Really comfy bed, and nice view from the back of the hotel toward the Gherkin and the Shard. Lyons Coffee ''Bags'' were a great feature - works like a tea bag but makes coffee which takes like it has been freshly ground. Stock up on snacks from reception at just 50p for a Mars Bar/Snickers etc and keep these in your fridge.
Great idea of the Hotel to leave a proper 250ml bottle of milk for your tea/coffee - much better than those nasty little fiddly long life milk sachets which tend to burst all over you.
Free UK, Europe, USA & Canada calls to landlines - which although we didn't use, is a nice touch.
Getting into central London - Take the 55 Bus toward Oxford Circus, which leaves from a stop on Old Street about 200 yards to the left of the Front Door. Journey only takes about 20 minutes and buses run ever 6-8 minutes throughout the day. Return leg can be picked up outside side door of John Lewis on Oxford Street. Really handy for the West End, Regent Street.
Alternatively take 243 Bus, towards Waterloo, leaving from the same stop on Old Street and get off at Aldwych - really handy for Covent Garden and Theatre land.
With an Oyster card, the journeys are only £1.35 each way and capped at a daily maximum rate of £4.20 no matter how many journeys you make. Forget about the Tube - the bus is far easier.
Eating out - Hoxton Grill was really busy due to the Jubilee celebrations so we dined at The Yard, a Pizza restaurant about 100 yards from the Hotel's front door (about half way to the Old Street Bus Stop actually). Excellent food, and the Amaretto Cheesecake was superb.
Staff were all really friendly and helpful, and we have no hesitation in recommending the Hoxton to anyone planning a trip to London.
As an added bonus, we even got the see The Queen close up during her Carriage procession. All-in-all, a very memorable weekend - despite the awful weather

Room Tip: All room are very similar, so just depends whether you want a room at the back, which we had - or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulstair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

favorite hotel in london, still.....close to the tube, great area restaurants (like the breakast club), shopping, art galleries. it's a bit off the beaten path for typical tourist, but wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonvespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

While we were in London we spent a few nights at the Hoxton Hotel. It's a bit of a distance to the City Centre but the London Underground was not far and got us everywhere we wanted to go.

The hotel room was gorgeous, the decor was lovely, the bed was very comfortable and the ensuite was really nice.

We were given complimentary breakfast and coffee in the mornings delivered to our room (yoghurt, muesli, fruit and juice).

The receptionists were very lovely and were happy to store our luggage for us until later in the day so we didn't have to lug it around on the Underground before we set off back on the train.

The one down side is the prices of alcohol downstairs in the lobby/restaurant/bar area. I think we paid 13 pound for two single vodka and coke which was a bit more than I would have liked!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonyaMHowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#66 of 1,067 in London
1,497 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#126 of 1,067 in London
402 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#339 of 1,067 in London
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#129 of 1,067 in London
327 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#314 of 1,067 in London
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#92 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing