We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusually quiet because of the Olympics”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #107 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unusually quiet because of the Olympics”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed at the Hoxton right at the end of July as I had been offered rooms at a good price. The hotel as usual was excellent but suprisingly quiet , especially on the Monday when the reception/bar/restaurant area which is normally buzzing was almost empty. I ate down there both nights and the food was excellent as usual. Rooms were immaculate, I still don't like the corridors which always remind me of a hotel where building work is on going but overall this is one of the best places I have stayed in London.

Room Tip: All the rooms I ave stayed in are good though some overlook the central open air bit of the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TykeDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,901
    1,325
    192
    55
    34
See reviews for
444
2,119
305
766
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (837)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Mu husband and I stayed at the Hoxton Hotel on Sunday night and were so impressed with the well designed bedroom.The room was quite funky and so well thought out. Beautiful curtains that pulled across easily, funky cushions on the bed,great coffee satchets instead of the usual instant granules in a packet that one struggles to open. We loved the decor depicting London Bridge on the wall. Electric points where they were needed and my husband loved the rain forest shower in the bathroom.We shall definetly return. I must not forget the very pleasant and helpful staff on reception. All in all a great stay. Wendy Taylor

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2012

A great hotel for the money.

Good location under a 5 min walk to old street tube station.

The best thing about the hotel is the bar and restaurant, it has a really good atmosphere.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable and well finished. Great shower!!

Would defo stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H4nni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilkley
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Couldn't recommend it highly enough. Arrived early but lovely receptionist checked us in. Funky hallways, nice rooms, free WiFi. Nice breakfast bag, meals good value, fridge for personal use. Really nice friendly staff, they actually came across as genuinely pleased to help you, and there is a sense of humour about the place that is very welcoming.

Hoxton is a buzzing area full of trendy places to eat, shop and hang out. The hotel's own guide to local places of interest and for shopping, eating, and drinking is great.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piddocke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Great overall hotel, lots of unique concepts that makes this place stand out such as: free small breakfast to jump start your day, free water in the minibar, free milk in minibar for your cup of tea, 1 hour of free calls per day and finally clever signs and quirky displays everywhere to make you laugh and show their genuine efforts to make the hotel a pleasant place to stay. Great lounge and restaurant, even if the nightly crowd is full of east london hipsters that us visitors could only hope to be as cool as. Nice location if you want to check out East London, so much to do and see in the vicinity. Only 10 minute walk from Liverpool Street station so great if you are coming in on the Stansted Express like us.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanG_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We started a 3-week trip off in London at the Hoxton. It was a great base and the Old Street station was a quick walk away. The first day we were so jet lagged, we just wandered around the area and tried out a few pubs. Lots of options (as expected in London, I guess!).

We ate in the bar/restaurant and had a great meal and good service. Room was small, but perfect for two and well-designed. Loved the yogurt pot and other breakfast goodies (also started a love affair with Pret a Manger and their yogurt pots after visiting the Hoxton). Also appreciated the free wi-fi, being able to call back to the US for FREE and being able to use a computer when needed.

Watching the Olympics is making me want to visit London, and the Hoxton, all over again. Next time I hope to get one of the £1 rooms!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Fantastic business stay! I admit I didn't have high expectations...but I was definitely impressed. Rooms are well laid out given the size. Wifi worked without issue. The breakfast bag was a great treat since I'm usually out the door before I can order. The lobby was perfect; large tables to spread out some and talk with colleagues, smaller nooks for me to get out of my room but still have a place to work. Overall a very urban comfy feel. I appreciated the honest reviews from the staff of interesting spots to visit. I also have to note that I was in town the week leading up to the Olympics and while an event was loading in I did not at feel inconvenienced. We are looking forward to our next stay in October.

Room Tip: I'm a New Yorker so too quiet I can't sleep...I prefer a room facing Great Eastern. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v'nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#74 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#114 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#328 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#300 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#40 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#95 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing