We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eulogies All Round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #113 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
761 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
“Eulogies All Round”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I cannot praise this fabulous hotel enough. We have just returned from the most enjoyable stay. The Hoxton surpassed all expectations. It's a good looking, trendy place to stay but what most impressed was the hotel's customer focused ethos. Staff throughout were capable, friendly and beyond helpful. They seemed happy to be there. The wonderful lady on reception who trooped off to find a suitable screwdriver for my excitable son's latest remote controlled contraption was adorable and just so willing to help. Reception were also very helpful in printing off tickets and such like. An item I left in the room was returned promptly in the post without charge or fuss. Pre-arrival e-mails were all answered promptly and kindly. Restaurant staff too were genuinely welcoming, fun, friendly and accommodating despite being rushed off their feet. I've reviewed the restaurant separately but I will just add here that it is full of party atmosphere and the food really good. A complimentary breakfast of yoghurt, juice and fruit is provided but you can also take breakfast in the restaurant where casual comfort options like bacon and egg sandwiches are served at reasonable prices. Bedrooms are simple but well formed with comfortable beds, well placed sockets, hot beverage facilities (including fresh milk - not those hateful jiggers), and well designed, stylish, immaculate bathrooms. I requested quiet rooms and we didn't hear a peep from within the hotel and barely any street noise either from our 4th and 5th floor rooms. There aren't any truly beautiful views to be had from this location but the outlook from both rooms was pleasant, I could see the top of The Shard from mine. The hotel represents incredible value for money, I have paid many times these nightly rates and received much less impressive service and focus on customer enjoyment. Pleasure for pound it is probably the best place I have stayed. Well done Hoxton.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words, we're really pleased that we were able to make your child happy and our staff impressed you too - they are all superstars in our eyes.

Great to hear you enjoyed the food in the grill and liked the rooms too. The best place you have stayed? Well we are blushing! Do come back again SOON ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,864
    1,312
    190
    55
    34
See reviews for
435
2,101
303
756
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

its always good, friendly,comfortable and perfectly situated. This has become our number one choice of place to stay in London because it is great value for money for a stylish (not over trendy) hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 381Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Why thank you, great to hear that our guests are liking the refit and thank you for taking the time to write to us! Always love been peoples number one choice of places to stay in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Perfect stay in a very interesting area! Shoreditch, Brick Lane - you name it! The hotel is very nice and the lobby a very vibrant place in the evening. Staff very helpfull! This was our 4th visit and it was as nice as ever. "New" rooms - nice touch with the old books, records and magazines. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jno2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write some kind words about us and for coming back again and again! Great to hear that you like the new rooms and had fun exploring the hood. We do hope you come around a 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th time too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stay at the hotel once a year for our annual Cristmas shopping weekend, and just love this hotel. Nice rooms and very comfortable beds. Love the lounge area with the fireplace. The bar and restaurant is a hotspot, but still laid back and very handy if you don`t feel like trying out the some of the great bars and restaurants in the trendy naborhood. In addition it`s great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Well the hotel just loves you too! Thank you for the kind words, always great to hear we have a fan who enjoys the hotel and the 'hood. See you next year then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

A lovely stay in London, brought to perfection by the Hoxton staff!
Located near the Tubestation Old Street and close to Liverpool Street Station makes coming and going easy.
The beds were dreamy!
The banana on the dorr for breafast dosn´t impress, but the choices offerded att the Hoxton grill does move it up.
Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlaArnholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Why thank you, we always love to hear praise for our amazing team. Cheers to you too and do come back around again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

It's not so much as a room for the night but an experience. Honestly, we are a young 55/63 year old couple and the Hoxton to us is current, customer and service orientated. The rooms are modern and clean and do not disappoint at all but it's the whole package that makes the place. The package is being sandwiched between Islington and Shoreditch. It's a great part of London with quirky bars and restaurants - and unlike many other hotels, you can include the Hox Grill in that too. If you want a great weekend or night away, please try this.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BowieS_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Well thank you for taking the time to write about us. It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and are sharing the love. Do come back again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Hoxton Hotel is always where I prefer to stay on a trip to London. I used to live in Shoreditch so obviously like the area, and the Hoxton is stylish, comfortable and reasonably priced. We stayed this time in a 'concept room' with parquet flooring, wood and grey soft furnishings, which we really liked. The rooms are small but fitted out well, the only downside being that there was no space to put an open suitcase, except on the floor. I did like the USB power sockets - very useful. I always appreciate the free water and milk in the fridge in the room. I also like the breakfast bag, although I have to say I preferred the yoghurt when it was from Pret. One thing I don't really like is the 'Hox speak' which I find a bit pretentious and annoying. There are also a lot of posing hipster types in the restaurant and bar. However, overall I do think the hotel is one of the most laid back, value for money and well equipped hotels in London and I'll definitely continue to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareOnTheShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Stylish, comfortable and reasonably priced? Why thank you! We do aim to please. Great to hear that you'll come back again, we do hope it's soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#71 of 1,088 in London
1,398 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#90 of 1,088 in London
302 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#322 of 1,088 in London
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#303 of 1,088 in London
516 reviews
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#41 of 1,088 in London
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#97 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing