We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't fault this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #105 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“I can't fault this hotel”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I always use this hotel for London trips and stopovers. It's close to Old Street station which is 2 stops on Northern line and ideal for St Pancras if I've booked an early Eurostar. I love the fresh milk in the fridge, complementary water, good size mugs, coffee bags and fluffy towels. The bathroom with raindrop shower is great and the bed is always comfy. I was travelling alone and I had room service which was more comfortable for me than eating dinner in the busy Hoxton grill. I am always made to feel welcome here and I love the breakfast coming to my room in a little brown bag. I cannot fault this hotel so I really hope it stays the same. One thing: It used to be possible to use the gym/pool in nearby Curtain Street for a small fee, but I can't see any reference to this now.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicearmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share the love! We're very happy to hear that you liked all of our little touches. We do indeed still have a gym you can use for a small payment. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,928
    1,330
    196
    55
    34
See reviews for
448
2,132
307
773
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My wife found this hotel when I had to work nearby earlier in the year. I am so glad she did. We've been there a couple of times now and will definitely be back. The rooms are smaller than we are used to but good for London. We love the feel of the hotel and the staff are always helpful. The Old Street tube station is a couple of minutes walk away which makes getting out and seeing the sites nice and easy. The bar area downstairs is always lively and it gets very busy of an evening. It's a great place to unwind after spending hours walking around the city.
If you're looking for a clean, modern place to stay with some unique character then this is the place. Book nice and early and you can't beat it for price either.

Room Tip: Higher rooms at the back avoid the noise from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for the feedback, we're pretty happy to be called FUNKY! Good to hear you made the most of the bar and liked the location too. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at the Hoxton for one night in December. We were thoroughly impressed with everything - the vibrant bar/ restaurant was reasonably priced and had a great atmosphere; the room was contemporary with the comfiest bed we've ever slept in; the staff friendly and helpful and the location convenient for East London and the city. We would recommend the Hoxton to anyone looking for something a bit different in the heart or London- hoping to stay again soon...
A minimal breakfast is included, so eat in the restaurant or the nearby 'breakfast club' for a more substantial breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for a non street facing room to guarantee a quiet nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write some kind words about us. Great to hear that you liked the location as well as the hotel. Comfiest bed you have ever slept in? *BLUSHING* We hope to see you again soon and thank you for spreading the LOVE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This Hotel doesn't meet the normal London expectation in regards to old fashioned, worn out beds etc. It's a totally modern hotel with good comfy beds, nice bathroom and a great lobby / lounge / restaurant area - which seems to be the place to be these days - was busy on every night we stayed there! Location is also good - only a few mins walk from the next tube station. Staff at the reception is really friendly and very helpful! Only slight downside was, the female staff at the restaurant - who seemed in a bad mood and forgetful, but the food was excellent :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spacealien08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share the love, we're really sorry about the reception staff they are normally so efficient. Great to hear that you enjoyed the decor, location and food. We hope you tried the burger! If not you'll just have to come again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatherleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

we stayed here at the weekend for our nephews wedding. The reviews did help me choose, and they were not wrong. Checked in on Friday night at about 10.30pm and the joint was jumping! The bar and grill were packed, so I asked for a quit room ! Filipe (great chap) sent us up to the 6th floor, but the bass was still booming up there! Back to Filipe and he sent us to a room om the other side of the hotel on the 3rd floor, perfect.The only things wrong in the room was the long flush on the loo didn't work! and why oh why do they not have HD channels on the TV? Also we tried watching BBC4 and it was nearly impossible! I have better reception in Devon!
Nice breakfast in the morning, fast efficient service from the friendly waitress. Delicious food , great coffee!
If we have to stay in Shoreditch again....it will be at The Hox!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for the feedback, great to hear praise for the fabulous Filipe - sorry about the toilet situation and TV channels - we shall definitely look into the problem. Great to hear that you'd come back and enjoyed the food. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Hoxton has everything a hotel should have; Free Breakfast, Free Wifi (that *actually* works), a place to iron clothes and a clean/quiet room with a big bed. Where this hotel excels is its sassiness, from "Stupid Sign #5" to the rock/paper/scissors pillows you could spend easily an hour amused at the little jokes planted throughout the room.

The only downside to this hotel is that the lobby/bar are always packed. With good reason, the drinks are good and the food is tasty....you just have to wait in long lines to get some.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor, the noise from the bar/restaurant can be bothersome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chutaiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thanks for the kind words, great to that hear we have another fan out there. Sorry about the queues, the good news is we have opened a second bar to deal with all you thirsty people...

Do come around again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

An excellent place to stay particularly if you appreciate good design. Very well run with attention to detail. Close to the underground with a bus stop outside - Boris bike stand nearby as well.
Very busy bar downstairs at night with good music. Excellent breakfast. Nice staff.

Room Tip: Ask for south facing rooms to see the Shard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapstickA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to spread the love. Great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and location. Next time you should try our Hox bikes, they are free for guests to use. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#70 of 1,067 in London
1,493 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#129 of 1,067 in London
397 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#336 of 1,067 in London
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#128 of 1,067 in London
325 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#312 of 1,067 in London
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#93 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing