We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lively, cosy, hype and reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #104 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“lively, cosy, hype and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Dynamic neighbourhood with really cool bars and shops in the area.
Shoreditch, Liverpool st and brick lane vibe within walking distance.
Good service.
Very lively bar and grill in lobby.
Free iMac access at groundfloor.
Quiet room.
Cool design.
Basic but decent breakfast bag available.
Poor coffee in the room :-) (only downside)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realcookyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, lovely to hear you enjoyed the rooms and the bar and grill. You might be pleased to hear that we are currently in the process of getting some new and much improved coffee in the rooms...

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,930
    1,331
    196
    55
    34
See reviews for
449
2,133
307
774
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Another great break in the east end of London. Hoxton is a fabulous hotel. The breakfast delivered to the peg outside your room is a great idea. Great location and so close to the tube. You must make sure to check out Spitalfield market.

Room Tip: The room on the far side above the fourth floor have a view of the Shard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Why thank you, we don't mind been called fabulous every now and then ;-) Great to hear you enjoyed the breakfast bags and made use of the local area too! Do come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

An instant favourite! Very lively, chic lobby which can be enjoyed night and day. The rooms were a perfect design including fast wifi, and a free breakfast. Unlike many, if not most, of the other hotels I've stayed in the Hoxton understands its customer. Many things are provided free of charge, at no point do they try to con you. The mini fridge, for example, has only complementary water and milk, and no ridiculously priced alcohol! The Hotel is incredibly soundproof and the great dj's downstairs aren't audible whatsoever. Finally, its location is brilliant, very close to Old Street station which has simple connections to the main lines unlike Shoreditch's main station. It's surrounded by some fantastic coffee/breakfast shops in Hoxton and Shoreditch high street isn't far away. Now my favourite area in London, Shoreditch has some of the best places to eat. Highly recommend Pizza East!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Well we think you are excellent too. Thank you for sharing the love, great to hear you made use of the lobby, enjoyed the room design and free brekkie bag too.

We agree Pizza East is the bomb. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I have been staying at the Hoxton hotel for the past few years when in London and the staff are always very friendly and helpful. There is always a good vibe in the restaurant and bar downstairs as well.

However, the rooms are very small and getting a bit tired. Our suitcases dominated the spare space in the room, which has very little closet/drawer space

The breakfast in a bag that they provide has also lost its novelty. For the price you pay I think a cooked breakfast should be an option.

On our last trip we paid nearly 200GBP per night to stay there, which we thought was overpriced. If you can get in for below 150GBP per night then it's a more reasonable option.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to feedback. You'll be happy to hear that we are currently undergoing a full refurb with all rooms set to be revamped by the end of February. With regards to the price, our room rates start at £59 but they do go up the closer you get to your date of stay and also depending on how busy we are. If possible we'd recommend booking as early as you can.

Great to hear our the service was spot on. Hope to see you again so that you can test out the new rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We are ex-Londoners who now live abroad and we stayed overnight at the Hoxton Hotel on a visit back to the UK. We chose it because it was reasonably priced (for London) and close to where most of our friends live so they could come and visit us. We were a couple plus an infant and the staff were really helpful and friendly. Our request for a crib for our daughter was no problem and there was always a high chair available for her at the restaurant. The room was small but comfortable and we all slept well. The food at the restaurant is good and reasonably priced as were the drinks at the bar. We even managed to reserve a space in the bar for our friends to visit us and drink in the evening. All in all it was a great experience and the staff were lovely. The downstairs bar is definitely lively in the evening, at least at the weekends, so be sure this is the sort of place you want to come to! We loved it and would definitely repeat n a return visit.

Room Tip: Higher floors are further away from the downstairs bar and quieter in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fantata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Well we think you are excellent too! Thank you for taking the time to write about us - great to hear you enjoyed the experience and got to sample the food too. We hope you tried the burger - if not it's a must next time.

We hope to see you on your next return to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Well located in a great neighborhood and a good alternative to west end hotels for people who have been there, done that in London. Walking distance to Old Street, Moorgate and Liverpool Street, though you wouldnt want to drag luggage from any of them. Good restaurant, friendly service, efficient housekeeping, comfortable beds, nice amenities. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 409 with a charming view southward to the Shard. Ask for a room on a higher floor wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write some lovely things about us - great to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel including the comfortable beds. Do come around again soon - we'll definitely have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My partner and I enjoyed a 3-night break 24-27th Dec and it was terrific, including a wonderful Christmas Day lunch. We had interconnecting rooms, with a family member and friend sharing an adjacent twin room. Thank you to all your hardworking staff who made it such a memorable, enjoyable and "chilled" Shoreditch Christmas for us all. You have a wonderfully well-organised, friendly and professional team. The whole vibe is great! We're planning to do the same again this year!

Room Tip: Some rooms face the City skyline and the Shard - a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We are blushing right now...Thank you for the very kind words, we're really happy that you chose to spend your Christmas with us and enjoyed lunch! Be sure to come back again for more vibes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#66 of 1,067 in London
1,497 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#126 of 1,067 in London
402 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#339 of 1,067 in London
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#129 of 1,067 in London
327 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#314 of 1,067 in London
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#92 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing