We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #109 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Once again great”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I come to the Hoxton at least three times a year and love it. This time we got to experience the refurbishment and concept room. Both meet with approval, as always the cocktails are good, and full marks for humoring my inner vegan lebowski and making me a soy White Russian. I guess this leads to my suggestion-why not a soy yoghurt for the breakfast bag? You can get yummy ones, and how about one vegan options on the menu? It's very meat heavy for the area and I do like the grill.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and the new curtains in the concepts really keep the light out. A ask for a conc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank profbev70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Great to hear that you liked our new rooms, thank you for sharing the love! We hope to see you again soon for another soy White Russian....and you might also like to know we've had a menu revamp with some new veggie, healthy dishes too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,892
    1,321
    192
    55
    34
See reviews for
443
2,116
304
760
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Really enjoyed the Hoxton - We stayed in a recently updated room in which, although fairly small, great care had been taken to ensure you have everything you need for a night or two in fashionable Shoreditch. It was fairly expensive but less so than other hotels we checked in the area - but then it was London Fashion Week and we had booked late. Free 'lite' breakfast was a bonus too and the bar area downstairs has a great feel - popular with seemingly creative types. Although bar drinks & restaurant food weren't particularly cheap, I didn't think it was expensive for this very popular hotel either.
Be careful where you park your car - we were delighted to find we could park our car for free overnight on the street behind the hotel but not so delighted next morning to find the rear windscreen had been smashed in. One receptionist was surprised but another said we should have parked in the NCP and I would next time.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main road may be noisy - ours looked onto a central well with what I took to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sibellius2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to feedback, we're happy that you would recommend us and sorry about the noise, we do try our best to make sure all guests sleep soundly. Hope to see you in the house again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Hoxton is a very nice place to stay and is worth every penny, especially if you managed to get a good price. The reception staff is nice and friendly, new rooms are bright and the bed is comfortable enough. Free light breakfast - banana, OJ and a cup of yogurt - is a nice touch and the lobby area is very nice and has great atmosphere.

The location is not very central and far from the high-street shopping areas, but the tube station is around the corner and the whole Shoreditch area is very lively at night with lots of bars and restaurants, and also the trendy Spitalfields is only a 15 minutes walk.

There are some traps too, so be careful. If you are traveling alone and come for a couple of nights only, you will be very comfortable, but if you are here with your spouse or partner, and wish to stay longer, be prepared that there's no space for your stuff - there are only a few hangers and no drawers to put your t-shirts or sweaters. There's a big comfortable armchair in the room, but we weren't planning to chill out in the room and a small chest of drawers would've been more helpful.

Another problem maybe with the noise. The place get really lively at nights, especially on the weekends and lower floors get real uncomfortable. We stayed at the 4th floor and it was ok, but a colleague who got a room at the first floor couldn't sleep until 2 am.

Overall the place is indeed highly recommended, but do consider the minor problems.

Room Tip: The higher you stay is the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_M_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here the first weekend in February with a group of 14 friends. We booked it 7 months in advance and got a great value price.
We got there early in the morning and understandably the rooms were not ready but we were told that they would be ready in 90 minutes so went off for breakfast. When we returned near two hours later the rooms were not ready so we spent another two hours waiting because we kept been told that it would be soon.

Other than that the rooms were great, not overly big, bathroom clean, good size with very good shower.
Breakfast in the Bag a nice touch, an option other hotels should offer for those who don't want the Fry-Up.

WiFi was adequate, reasonably fast for a hotel.

The lobby bar was busy during the day, notice alot of business meetings and job interviews going on!


Shoreditch seems to be an area riding a wave of rejuvenation with many hip restaurants & bars and the Hoxton seems to be near the epicenter and has a constant flow of hip young professionals passing through its lobby.

At night the bar was very busy with a great buzz.

A little out from the city center but a quick taxi ride in.

Over all would check this hotel out again and if we get the same value would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWPF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Well we're happy that you had a good stay! Sorry about the wait for rooms, glad you made use of the lobby and the local area. Hope to see you in the hood again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This hotel had excellent service, excellent amenities, and a modern and LARGE room for Central London. Loved the light breakfast delivered to the room in the morning, loved the products, loved the in-room coffee, loved the complimentary water bottles and fresh milk. Bed was very comfortable, view was lovely, and the lobby/restaurant vibe was happening. It is so self-consciously hip that it's somewhat hilarious, but is 100% okay in my book because in the end, it's a great place to be.

Only complaint is that the room I stayed in had a connecting door to the room next door, so it was very easy to hear chattering from the guests in the adjoining room through the door. They also seemed to be doing construction or maintenance work in the mornings, so there was some noise.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here before and found the rooms quite small and dark. However, they are updating the rooms and the new one I stayed in this time was much better with brighter decor and good lighting. The hotel still scores on nice touches like the little area guide in the room, the included water and breakfast bag and a good digital radio in the room. Had breakfast in the grill restaurant which was excellent and good value. The lobby bar is a great place to sit and was very busy in the evening. Overall recommended.

Room Tip: go for one of the updated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank je22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you. We're BLUSHING! Great to hear that you liked the revamped rooms and enjoyed the breakfast bag and full shebang in the Grill too! Do come back again soon, we'd love to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Loved this place!!! The staff was friendly and very attentive. The Hoxton has a bed and breakfast feel with a dash of home.

They left nothing out, there is even a church key and real wine glasses in the room, you can grab a bottle of wine from down stairs or have it delivered to your room.

In the evening place a brown sac on a hook out side your door with the question filled in, in the am before you head out you have a yogurt pot, fruit and juice to start your day. A perfect breakfast as far as Im concerned. If the sac breakfast isn't your cup o' tea, head down to the restaurant and enjoy a great breakfast and hot cup of coffee, the variety of seating is wonderful, depending on your mood, sit at the bar, the sofa or in the atrium. A multitude of newspapers and magazine are there for your reading pleasure in the morning or just people watch out the large windows.

The rooms were a good size to European standards. Bed was comfy and no matter what time of day you left, when you return your room was set, just like on a cruise ship. The bathroom felt quite large and the rain fall shower head was nice after a long day in London. The towels were fluffy and large. they even have loads of books in the rooms, making you feel like you are at home or in a B&B, a cleaver touch.

In the evening the Hoxton is a happing place. The street it is on is also very busy. Loads of people enjoying cocktails, music and socialization in front of a beautiful fire place in some wonderful seating areas.
The most amazing thing to us (we have worked in many restaurants and bars) was that in the morning the lobby, restaurant and common toilets were spotless. How do they do that? ....the staff is nothing short of amazing!!!

there is the tube very close by and loads of other restaurants and right across the street from the Hoxton is a market with everything from food, wine to toilettes.

we will visit again!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!

Room Tip: top floor you hear less of the late night fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oilyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Well we loved having you hear too! Thank you for taking the time to share the love. Great to hear you liked your free nosh in the morning, the lobby downstairs and had a read of the books. Hope to see you in the house again, real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#71 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#108 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#331 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#304 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#42 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#96 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing