We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hoxton: an excellent hotel in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #95 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We loved the very helpful staff especially Filipe who helped us when we were in quite a bind (Our reservations elsewhere were abruptly cancelled without notice in the last minute by AGODA!!!)
We also loved ,to eat in the restaurant. We found the breakfast paperbag quite good -- healthy food choices!
We were quite happy the days we stayed at the HOXTOИ !!!
We'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter. Top floors even better. Ask for Filipe at the reception for help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Well we will defo have you back! Thank you for taking the time to share the love. Hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,369 - 1,375 of 4,826 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I regularly have dinner at the Hoxton Bar and Grill and we love the food and the vibe in there, so we decided to see if the Hotel was as good as they say and booked over the bank holiday weekend in early May. We upgraded to one of the concept rooms (A slice of Hoxton) and we were not disappointed. The room may have been small (what do you expect in London) but the decor was really cool, and with soft fluffy towels, crisp bed linen and a box of original Pears soap in the bathroom - it felt both luxurious and quirky.. The staff are all effortlessly cool but still professional and can't do enough for you. I would highly recommend this hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the Concept rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissyFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Great to hear that you dig the rooms as well at The Grill. Glad to hear you liked the concept room too - no upgrade needed, all our rooms are the same prices and they are now all fully refurbed so all looking spick and span.

Hope to have you in the house again soon. Thanks for spreading the joy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Loved everything about The Hoxton - from the 2 roaring fires that greeted us in the reception area (Yes they were necessary on a very cold Sunday in early May) to the smiley receptionist who was happy to let us check in early. Initial impressions indicated that we'd made the right choice when booking The Hoxton. Quirky hallways, books dotted everywhere. Room was fab. Beautiful parquet floor, built in furniture that meant you had everything you needed cleverly slotted into quite a small space. Loved the Pears soap in the bathroom - with instructions to return it to its box and take it home. Useful info about things to do in the area complete with a handy map. Will certainly be going again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elljay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

WOOOOOWWZZZZZZA. Thank you for the kind words, great to hear that you like the new look rooms and the parquet flooriing too. We'd certainly love to have you again too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is the second time I've stayed at the Hoxton and I still really love it. Having lived in London for a time, and always preferred the East to the West, staying at the Hoxton is less like staying in a hotel and more like how I felt when I had an apartment there. For example, you get a real bar of soap, not some crummy mini-sized thing, but a big old chunky bar of Pears. Plus the hair-dryer is a full-sized number with concentrator attachment, not some foldable thing that you have to press the button on continuously to get it to give you at most a warm breeze. Proper milk in the fridge, and a no nonsense breakfast bag hung on the outside of your door (juice, yoghurt and banana), which means you don't need to see another human being in order to get fed in the morning. The bar area has improved I think since last time I was there (last time it was a bit too noisy and over-packed), and on a couple of nights I managed to get a seat by the open fire in amongst the hip but relatively calm Londoners. Not somewhere I'd recommend bringing the kids, but a home away from home for those visiting alone or in a couple. The only negative thing I can say about the place is that they need to get some better toilet paper! Not something you'd expect to have to say about a place where so much thought has gone into making things homely, but the sandpaper-esque quality of the toilet paper was so bad I had to go out and buy a new roll!

Room Tip: I was in a new concept room that was being trialled, so the fit-out was pretty new and interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASelinaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share the love, great to know that we are your home away from home! We have actually just updated our choice of loo roll so hopefully it's a bit softer on the behind. Hope to see you for a third, four and fifth time too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We did a one night stay here prior to taking the eurostar on to France. Good location for this purpose and a lot going on in Shoreditch. We had balloons in the room for our 10th wedding anniversary, which was a nice touch. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Barney38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, We did a one night stay here prior to taking the eurostar on to France. Good location for this purpose and a lot going o at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you! Thank you! Happy to hear you liked the hotel and we hope to have you hear on your 15th and 20th anniversary too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed at the Hoxton hotel from Thursday evening til Sunday, from the minute the hotel was booked the staff could not have done any more to make our stay great, From directions to help with booking a suprise for my friends birthday, the put balloons in the room free of charge and changed our room to make sure we had adjoining rooms when the other girls arrived the next day. We ate and drank in the hotel and the food was second to none. service impeccable, i only have one tiny complaint - theres nowhere to put your clothes apart from a small hanging space - no drawers for any pjs etc etc, even some drawers under bed would be handy - All in all 10/10 thanks for making our stay amazing :-)

Room Tip: Twin rooms smaller than doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djanemcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

10 out of 10? You should probably know that we are all HIGH FIVING right now! Thank you for taking the time to review, great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the restaurant. Hope to have you in the house again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Hoxton hotel was modern, conveniently situated with very helpful staff. The breakfast provided was adequate although I don't eat yogurt or Bananas. My wife does so she did well. The only problem was there was not room for two suitcases. A very busy and interesting part of the town to be in with lots of public transport close.

Room Tip: Rooms are all double glazed so there was no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webbldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hox and spread the love. Hope to have you in the house again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#387 of 1,076 in London
1,116 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#66 of 1,076 in London
1,745 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#121 of 1,076 in London
694 reviews
Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
#557 of 1,076 in London
84 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#302 of 1,076 in London
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#88 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £105 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing