We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic room but with a very nice lobby area & great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #111 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Basic room but with a very nice lobby area & great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I got a very good deal for Sunday/Monday night and stayed here with a friend on a w-end trip. The room was good, maybe a bit basic/anonymous and chain hotel like but it was spotless and had good & comfy beds. The nicest thing about this hotel is the lobby/bar/restaurant area which was nice to hang out in, have a coffee & read the papers. We didin't eat in the restaurant that a lot of people recommended since it had very few vegetarian/vegan options. The staff was very friendly & great service at the bar too. For the same rate I would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisse81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments, great to hear that you would come back. Sorry if you thought our rooms were a bit basic, we like to think they have everything you need and nothing that you don't. Good to hear you digged the lobby! Hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,836
    1,299
    186
    55
    34
See reviews for
428
2,082
302
745
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We simply loved this hotel. We stayed for one night to celebrate our anniversary, and we were upgraded to a concept room for no extra charge. The room was amazing, and the bed was huge!

The décor is quite quirky and cool and the bar in the lobby is always buzzing in the evening.

The staff were extremely attentive and friendly, and made every effort to make sure that we were enjoying our stay.

Location was great - in-between Old St & Liverpool St stations, so a range of underground lines only 5-10 mins walk away. Spitalfields Market is a 5 minute walk.

This hotel is all about the detail and the extra touches; one of my favourite things was the cool black & white photo booth in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Hoxton Hotel deserves its great reviews on TripAdvisor. This is the best Hotel in terms of Value for Money I have EVER been to. The service just friendly enough to make you feel comfortable. This hotel is about details, it is about a caption on the door that will make you laugh, it is about the USB ports so you can charge your phone regardless of your home country. It is about the small breakfast you can order to your doorstep every morning, it is about the quality of all the small things.
I think the designers are an amazing bunch of people who actually know what it is like to stay in a Hotel, they made everything just right!
I will be staying there again (and again, and again).

oh... and the location is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piotr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
HIGH five! Thank you for the kind words, great to hear that you loved the hotel and found the rooms just right - that's exactly what we were going for. Hope to have you in the house again and again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welbury, united kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for one night in two rooms with children aged 5,11 and 12. Great boutique style hotel. Rooms well thought through and well equipped. Room looked out on to buy main road but absolutely no noise in room. Staff very friendly and helpful - were happy to accomodate requests that in other establishments might have been a problem (probably a chargeable!). Yes at peak times this is not a budget option but definitely worth the extra. Drank in the bar but didn't eat (see review of the Jones Family Project across the road) however food looked great and again staff polite and attentive. Location good - tube about 5 mins walk and only two stops from Kings Cross and St Pancras.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Kisco, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hoxton is located in one of the more up and coming areas of London. Reminds me a bit of Brooklyn in New York. Arrived at 11am on a Sunday, and was in my room by noon. A very nice job by the staff to accommodated a weary traveler. The room was on the small side, but had everything you could ask for. It was clean, had a desk and a nice sized flat screen, a mini fridge and a safe. There was a free breakfast bag each morning, consisting of a banana, yogurt and juice. The bar/restaurant in the lobby was very nice. Ate there one evening, and the Blue Cheese Burger was awesome. The hotel also provided late checkout at £5 per hour. A nice added bonus since I had a later flight on the day I left.

The location was about a 3 minute walk from my office, so perfect.

Two sticking points...A/C was not all that powerful, and no fitness center.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elroy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We booked this hotel for two nights on our London leg of our European honeymoon. We picked it mostly from a recommendation from a friend, and its relatively budget price for London hotels. Overall, we loved the decor of this hotel and it's location. We were really happy with our stay! A few things to note:

Pros: Convenient to the Northern Line of the Tube (Old Street Station), free wifi, free breakfast of yogurt and banana and OJ, quirky rooms with multiple electric outlets (US, UK and Europe plugs!), comfy beds, electric kettle with coffee and tea in room, fun and up and coming area with some great bars and a sweet coffee shop across the street (Dirty Coffee), awesome lounge and bar area downstairs, interesting and unique vintage decor that gave the hotel a fun London vibe.

Cons: Small rooms, but for London, I think they were adequate. My biggest annoyance was that the hotel staff (while very friendly and as helpful as they could be) didn't seem to know the usual things about the local area that you expect hotel staff to know. We asked them a few times about how to get to local attractions, airport, etc. and they just were not as helpful as hotel staff usually are. They seemed to all be from different places and gave us different answers to the same questions. Not a huge thing if you know the area, but was a little frustrating for us. This is really the only reason we give this hotel a 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
HAPPY HONEYMOON! Great to hear that you chose to stay with us and loved the decor and location. Sorry to hear our staff, we'll be sure to feed your comments back. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Notable positives: Cleanliness, bathroom with great shower and lots of counter space, comfortable bed and great linens, fast Wi-Fi, daily breakfast delivered to your door (orange juice, yogurt/granola and banana), good access to Tube (Old Street Station), lots of electrical outlets

Notable negatives: minimal storage, smallish room but well laid out, too much noise on lower floors, low lighting in the bathroom,

We would definitely stay here again.

Our background: We are Americans (retired) who pursue an active lifestyle, appreciate functional and clean lodging with easy-in and easy-out access. We avoid grand hotels and approach chains with care.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor for sure. We were on the 5th floor. Lower floors are exposed to the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trogons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review, great to hear that you'd definitely stay again - we'd love to have you back! Hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#325 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#298 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#96 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing